Tesoro Vaquero

Price: $550
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.38
Based on 76 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars3.79
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.25
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Tesoro Vaquero

Compare to ▼
Makro Racer $650
Nokta FORS CoRe $699
Fisher F-19 $800
Whites Sierra Super Trac $700
Whites MX5 $600
Nokta Velox One $629

Re:major problem

October 20, 2015
The vaquero does NOT have nor do they advertise it as having a "no motion" all metal mode. It's AM mode, including pinpoint, are fast retune all metal modes.
You have to buy the Outlaw or older Bandido to get that.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
130

Slimpickens - really

October 14, 2015
Vaquaro is the best machine in is price range period - had them all Whites Garrets Minelabs all the top line (over $1000) still have my Vaquaro and the rest are gone - if you give it one or two stars for durability and ease of use you really know what your talking about - go by an Etrac see if your finds are slim - talk about smoke - you can buy four Vs for the same price.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 12 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
2229

The honest truth

September 29, 2015
I bought this machine cause everyone said it is deep well here is what you can expect and I have tried 2 of them. If you ground balance it right you will get in a air test with the threshold at 3 oclock and the sens at 10 a dime will hit at 7 inches a quarter at 8 inches. Super tune it you will hit a dime at 8 inches a quarter at 9 inches this machine is a over hyped sorry loser, why do I say that? I had a tesoro cibola cost less and would air test better, you can't run the vaquero in super tune mode its too hot it chatters and you can run the cibola in super tune mode most of the time.

In my test garden the vaquero hit a 8 inch buried quarter and dime but so did the cibola unless I got 2 bad new ones. Here is my opinion, buy the cibola and save 100 bucks its a better machine also to let you know about tesoro they are good machines but if you want the lifetime warranty you have to be the first owner, send in the warranty card THEY WILL NOT WARRANTY a second hand ebay buy so all the guys that blow smoke that they will have been smoking to much, my brother bought a used one they sent it back.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 1 star
Ease of Use 3 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
2924

Major problem

May 24, 2015
Yes, its well made. Yes, I love Tesoro products. But this thing is a waste of time for Gold hunting. How can a (so called) no motion ALL mode metal detector stop responding to a piece of metal in no motion? . Good question, and it SHOULD NOT, but this one does. No way this should happen. I was very upset. Beware!

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 7 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
128

Great machine

April 23, 2015
Hands down fastest recovery time in its price range. Recovery time is how fast the unit will "recover" after reading a bad target when it is close to a good target. Those signals have to be processed by fancy ID machines and their recovery time suffers and bad targets "mask" good ones. You can lay a nail right on top of a dime and the V will read it every time.

So will a fisher CZ/3D, and the the Excal. They are also 3 times the price. The V will find targets so small it could be considered a micro jewelry machine. In MI ground it is very deep. My shovel has a ruler on it. I regularly dig dimes up to 8-9 inches, nickles up to 10, and quarters up to 12. Old quarters up to 13 on the beach.
Rings fall all through the range depending on size and composition. Will find small fine gold anklets at 3 inches. I also dig more nickles than any of my friends or co workers. That's because of their ID and disc circuitry.

I locate underground utilities for a living and know one or two things about a wide range of detectors. Here are some facts, all ID machines suffer in recovery time because of their circuitry to some degree. Tesoros don't. All the ID machines that I have tested in the shop will misread a good target as iron when it gets to the limits of their capabilities. Its to far from the coil to conduct enough signal to identify it properly. Tesoros don't, they just beep softer when its further away.

All machines, ID and analog lose depth with every increase in disc. Some more than others. If I run the the V up to tabs so I am essentially just coin shooting, I will lose 4 inches. Any tech from whites, fisher, minelab, or tesoro will verify these things. If you balance a V properly, turn the threshold all the way up, run the sensitivity as high as you can without being unstable, and disc just above iron you will have a machine that will perform as well or better than any brand twice its price.

Tesoro has lifetime guarantee and the one time I needed my tiger shark replaced it was smooth fast and painless. My fishers, and my whites are excellent machines and I use them for the things they excel at, but as an everyday no nonsense deep detector with super fast recovery the V cant be beat. I do it for a living and I do it for a hobby I speak the truth.

As soon as time allows I will be doing a utube video to prove every claim I just made. I wish you all the best no matter what you prefer to hunt with.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 12 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
285

Value for the money

March 05, 2015
Have used Vaquero for over a year now it is a very good detector for the price it sells at. I give 4 stars in durability it is rugged and light and the material quality is good just 4 star because the coil cable socket on the control house is a bit too close to the shaft making it hard to attach and the poles are a bit wobbly but other than that good quality materials durable design. Easy to use but you have to read a lot to learn it well and get threshold right otherwise pinpointig will be off target a bit.
And have to regularly check knobs to not accidentally change settings so 4stars here satisfaction 5 stars because although it is not as deep as advertised its sound and recovery is crisp and sharp, little sensitive on deep iron which it does not manage to disc out but for relics its great. Went detecting with a friend who has a 2000+$ minelab ctx3030 with gps color screen, etc and I caught a target called him over he barely could get a signal vaquero loud and clear was 15cm deep silver coin..

Its not the best detector in the world but for 450bucks its worth every cent and more. If you want a solid detector for relics coins and easy use its the best for the money and will still compete with the high end machines.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 6 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
253

Looking for another analog machine

January 10, 2015
After reading the reviews on this machine I am torn on buying one, I was in the market for a great analog machine but now after reading the reviews, I think I am going to stick to my original plan and try to locate another cz5 like I had before. I was a great machine but went digital quite a new learning curve but they work, just in there own way. Other than the cz loving deep iron it is a beast on depth, just got to get used to finding some really nice deep nails again, Thanks for the honest reviews fellow detector guys and gals.

One more note, my last digital machine is a gamma 6000 impressive, I like different machines so I try a lot but always come here first to see the jack and smack about them from the folks that know.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
525

Goes deep? when?

December 17, 2014
I bought the Vaquero because of hearing everyone speak of how deep it will go. Yet I never once found anyone who would say exactly how deep is deep. Well I could not find anything more than 5-6" with it. I even sent it to Tesoro to check it out because I thought there had to be something wrong, they said it was working fine. If you want to know what deep really is buy a Minelab Safari like I did. I love the Safari so much I wont ever let it go. Was very disappointed with the Vaquero.

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 3 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
3338

Vaquero is great

November 15, 2014
I did a lot of reading prior to getting my Vaquero and I decided that for the money it was probably the best thing on the market. Well I don't know if it is the best for the money or not but I love to follow people with the high $$$ machines with the screens that tell them what is in the ground. They pass don't dig I get a signal and I do dig. I have found a lot of things on the beaches where I hunt and people tell me not to bother because four or five guys have already been over the beach in the past two days.

I bought a 10X12 SEF coil and almost wish I hadn't because I am spending a lot of time digging items that are 12 - 14 inches deep. This past weekend I went to the beach with the stock coil and dug a 1"1/2 metal washer at 16 inches. I don't see any reason to spend the big $$$ on anything else. Love my machine except the minerals on the west coast beach does cause problems some times. Will be getting a PI machine for that problem. If you want a good machine and don't want to spend a lot of $$$ give the Vaquero a try but please stay off the beaches that I hunt. If you buy one of the competitors machines come on down I will be glad to pick up what you leave behind.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
226

Tesoro/vasquez iffy

October 13, 2014
Why would anyone spend over $400 on a metal detector without a screen. This is the computer age and Tesoro once again is falling behind in technology. You can spend $400 on a MD with a screen and its better than a Tesoro because all you have to do is switch the multi tone off and tape your monitor and presto: its the same as a Tesoro! If you look around- there are not many videos on youtube except for one or 2 spokespeople and on tesoros website there are no videos of their products. Hmmmmmm

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 5 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 2 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
2150

Submit your review for Tesoro Vaquero

Submit your tip for Tesoro Vaquero