Tesoro Vaquero

Price: $550
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.38
Based on 76 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars3.79
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.25
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Tesoro Vaquero

Compare to ▼
Makro Racer $650
Nokta FORS CoRe $699
Fisher F-19 $800
Whites Sierra Super Trac $700
Whites MX5 $600
Nokta Velox One $629

This site is usefull

January 19, 2012
I bought a Tesoro Vaquero about a month ago.

Before I give it the review, I just want to respond to the previous posting.

Sure you can't believe everything on this site and what you said is somewhat true. But if you did have a machine that had some serious design problems, the reviews would show it.

Before I bought my Vaquero, I read the reviews on this site and Amazon. I formed some questions and called the manufacturer and two major resellers.

I concluded this was the best machine for me.

I metal detected heavily in the 1980's.
The machines I have owned were
Bounty Hunter Red Barron
Bounty Hunter Outlaw 290
Whites 6000 Di Pro (heavy)
Tesoro Conquistador uMAX(good but not deep in mineralized soils)

I found it works well with the 5.75 inch widescan coil. I also bought the S.E.F 15X12 inch widescan butterfly coil. I wish the vendors would give different coil options.

The 5.75 inch widescan coil goes as deep at the stock 8X9 concentric coil, but filters out the trash well.

The 15X12 Butterfly S.E.F. Widescan coil goes about 20" on a quarter doing an air test.

I chose the Vaquero over the Tejon becuase of the reviews and talking with the vendors and the manufacturer. It also left me more room to purchase more Coils.

If you had a $600 budget, I would buy the Vaquero and a S.E.F coil before would by a Tejon. I'm not knocking the Tejon, but you would have better setup for relic hunting in mineralized soil.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

344

Vaquero Performance

December 25, 2011
I've used many major brands and have hunted Civil War relics for over 30 years. Last good relic just found using the Vaquero was a CS Egg Plate 16" in a "hunted out" yard on old Shiloh-Corinth road. I asked the property owner, who was a relic hunter, if he ever found any lead bullets in his yard. He said, "no." Five minutes later, I was digging .69 cal. 3 ring minies 15 feet from where he was picking up tree branches in the yard.
Great machine, the Vaquero.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

174

What a Detector!

November 23, 2011
First of all, I have owned many metal detectors in my lifetime- Whites 6000 DI series 3, Tesoro Silver Sabre, Garrett American AM-2, Garrett AT3 Beach hunter, Tesoro Royal Sabre, Bounty Hunter Big Bud Pro, Whites 4900D and I still own and love them for the hobby I love. I have owned a few others also I will not name as they were a waste of my time and money. The Tesoro Vaquero is the best Metal Detector I have ever had! No doubt about it. For 2.2 lbs and one 9 volt battery, you cannot beat it. When you super tune this Jewel and learn to use it right, you might not need another detector for a long time.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

232

The best

July 30, 2011
I have just purchased a tesoro vaquero from the States. Having never owned a detector before I was not sure how to operate it. Well it is so easy to operate & super light I swung it nearly all day. Instruction book is great easy to understand. My first day might not seem like much but a 1911 Australian penny, is such a buzz I am hooked on this machine.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

234

GREAT DETECTOR

July 13, 2011
If you want one of the best coin and relic detectors out there today this is your detector.

No confusing meters to mess with, just a simple to use deep hitting detector that will amaze you at how sensitive it is to tiny objects. This detector will find items you missed with your other detectors. There is nothing in its price range that even comes close to the performance of the Vaquero.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

253

Vaquero Rocks

June 07, 2011
I just picked up a Tesoro Vaquero and after 3 or 4 times out with the detector all I can say is it rocks. It detects very deep. The discrimination circuit works very well. I own a Whites DFX (which I love) but this machine is a great backup detector to my DFX. I can see where it surpasses the DFX in certain aspects, depth and sensitivity to small gold. My DFX won't even whisper on a small piece of gold where the Vaquero goes bonkers.

I still need to get used to pinpointing with the Vaquero because it does behave differently than my DFX. One thing for certain, the DFX is heavy and an hour or two of swinging it starts to take its toll. The Vaquero is a featherweight and can be swung for many hours with no fatigue.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

292

Fast light deep ,

February 18, 2011
Had this detector for one month well impressed, easy ground balance works well on all my Roman sites. One tip, try running over a target next to iron with headphones on listen for response then do the same without headphones, you might find you will need to change headphones.

This little machine works the soil like a little terrier sniffing out targets missed by so called top end machines included my own explore 11. All in all for UK hunting tesoro have come up with a real winner, fast recovery, great depth, super discrim, best of all price.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

272

Reveiw for tesoro Vaquairo

December 10, 2010
I am from Williamsburg, VA. I have been relic hunting for about 20 years. I purchased a tesoro "bandido" in 1991 which turned out to be a very wise decision.
I amassed quite a collection, it was easy to operate and light as a feather. In 2005 I finally retired it. I got a vaquaro which has turned out to be just as good, I am very pleased with its ability as an awesome relic machine.

My main intrest is civil war relics, which these tesoro machines have made happen......Buy the way, when I purchased my vaquaro in 2005 I handed my bandido down to my younger brother. To this day the old bandido still brings him much success in the field.

Overall Rating 4 stars

184

Amazing metal detector!

November 03, 2010
OK so my first day out with my new Vaquero was a bit of a surprise. First I spent some time at home passing coins in front of the coil and rotating the discrimination and identifying where they fell. I found ground balancing a breeze, and the almost staccato like tone when swept over a target was perfect. I have to say with every beep of the Vaquero,

I found my confidence growing in what was worth digging. This little gem was right on target, and I found I knew what to dig and what not to dig very quickly after digging a few coins. I was also able to identify each coin before I dug, simply by rotating the discrimination up, until the beep stopped.
Before I dug, I compared a few targets with my Etrac and to be honest, I found I preferred the Vaquero. Don't get me wrong, the Etrac is an amazing MD, and I love it, but based on ease of use and confidence in target ID, the Vaquero gets my vote.

It became almost too easy finding coins and with each beep, and a turn of the discrimination knob. It seems, the more complicated the MD, the more difficult in what you have below the coil. I get the feeling this little gem will be with me on all my future hunts, yea, it puts a lot of fun in metal detecting!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

391

First year detecting

November 03, 2010
Bought this mainly because of the reviews read here. Plus I wanted a simple no frills detector. rather pay $350 (used) for fast recovery speed than fancy display. Pinpointing is dead on!!! I don't use a pin pointer. depth is good, deepest coin a 1876 seated dime 7in. down.

Have found coins with foil or a nail in the same hole if you want to find older coins IH wheaties large cents they show up differently on the disc closer to the 2 o'clock position they start to fade at the 3 o' clock but if its repeatable but faint its good, must be the corrosion on them?? Just slow down run the disc a little before 5cents if there is too much target noise and no disc where there are fewer targets then scroll up to i.d. and decide to dig or not.
Ground balancing is easy. Battery life is ok stick with Duracell alkaline.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

221

Submit your review for Tesoro Vaquero

Submit your tip for Tesoro Vaquero