Tesoro Vaquero

Price: $550
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.38
Based on 76 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars3.79
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.25
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Tesoro Vaquero

Compare to ▼
Makro Racer $650
Nokta FORS CoRe $699
Fisher F-19 $800
Whites Sierra Super Trac $700
Whites MX5 $600
Nokta Velox One $629

Best all around machine!

August 24, 2010
I did a review a few years ago. I had not had this machine very long and wanted to piggyback off that review. At the time I had not found any gold with the V but about a week went by and I found a 14k ring. I have hunted with the big boys many times and have found the same amount of stuff or even more. Just because you pay $1000.00 dollars for a detector don't mean that it is better.

If you want programs and bells then the vaquero is not for you. I have dug several rings(two class rings), buttons, hundreds of coins(some very deep) with this machine. Many people will use the vaquero before the tejon. For the money, performance and life time warranty this is a 5 star machine!!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

390

Doug from NJ

July 26, 2010
I bougt a vaquero two years ago on ebay. Since that time I have sold my fisher 1266, garrett gti 1000 and garrett sea hunter mark 2, and use the vaquero constantly. Just like all the other reviews say, light, great depth and hits good on gold.
So far I set the ground balance once and have been all over new jersey including the dry sand of the beach with great results. Great detector, thanks.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

270

High performance, simple to use.

March 20, 2010
I've owned a Tesoro Vaquero for a year. In that year I've found an assortment of coins including Indian Head pennies, a V Nickel, Barber dime, Standing Liberty Quarter, Walking Liberty Half, Mercury Dimes, Buffalo Nickels, and Wheat Pennies. I also dug up over $100 in modern coins and a nice assortment of jewelry. I don't think that's bad for a rookie.

The strong points of the Vaquero are:

* The Vaquero is one of the lightest high performing detectors available (about 2.2 lbs.) This means that it doesn't break your arm after swinging it for hours at a time.

* The Vaquero is easy to operate. Levels of complicated menus aren't needed to set the machine up and makes for an easy turn on and go machine. As you gain more experience, you can see the benefits of thinking for the machine opposed to having the machine think for you.

* After passing over a junk target, the Tesoro has an outstanding quick recovery time. This means that the junk will not mask the detection of desirable targets. Norfolk Wolf of Regton Detectors has a series of field tests on YouTube of several name brand detectors. You can see an example of the recovery time when Norfolk does a field test of the Trident II (the European version of the Vaquero). He places a piece of iron and a cut half British coin on a plank and swings the coil over both targets. The Vaquero recovers when the targets are within a couple inches of each other. Other, premium detectors can take up to a foot or more to recover. I'm talking about Minelabs and Whites detectors here with all of the bells and whistles. The more complicated detectors require more processing time to evaluate the targets. This could lead to lost targets that the Vaquero would pick up. Get on YouTube and see for yourself. This is where the simplicity of the Vaquero enhances its performance.

* The Vaquero has great depth in detecting targets.

* The Vaquero likes nickels. Even though the Nickels overlap the pull tabs in their conductivity, the Tesoro seems to pick the nickels out. Maybe it has something to do with the frequency of the machine (about 14 kHz). I also heard that the higher frequencies are better for prospecting gold.

* Pinpointing is easy. Just "X" the coil over the target and center on the loudest beep. I rather do pinpointing in discriminate mode than using the pinpoint button. The pinpoint button switches the Vaquero into all metal mode and pinpointing is determined by the loudness of the hum. When super-tuned, the Vaquero pinpoints better in discriminate mode.

* Manual Ground balancing on the Vaquero gives a little more depth in normal conditions. In mineralized soil, ground balancing is a necessity.

* The Vaquero uses a single 9 volt battery. The battery life seems to be decent but it's nicer to carry a single 9 volt as a backup opposed to carrying a pocket full of AA batteries.

* All Tesoro's have a lifetime warrantee and their service is second to none.

How I set up the Vaquero to detect:

Make sure the connector between the control box and the coil is screwed in tight (yea, I learned from experience that it makes a difference). Turn on the machine and set sensitivity at minimum and the threshold down to a barely audible hum. Pump the coil up and down to adjust the ground balance until you have the same tone and loudness raising the coil as you do lowering it. Turn the discriminate level knob clockwise until it clicks. I prefer to set the level just below the nickel setting. Now turn the threshold all the way up and the sensitivity up into the red area. If you get some chatter. you may have to back it off a little. You are now in super tune mode.

When swinging the coil, overlap the swings for better coverage. Swinging slowly is not critical because of the fast recovery time but I believe that slowing you swing does help some. When getting a beep, turn up the discriminate level until the beep goes from a solid beep to a clipped one. This should give you an idea as to what the target is. The loudness of the beep should give you an idea how deep the target is. The best targets will not sound as loud (depth) and have a solid beep when the discriminate level is turned all the way up (indicating copper or silver). The Vaquero is capable of finding deep targets in this mode. I have picked up coin sized targets at about 8 inches. Beyond that, the targets tend to be large trash targets (iron or cans). These targets have been found up to 12 inches deep. So if it goes deeper than 7-8 inches, I tend to leave it.

I've heard that the Vaquero is a fine relic hunter as well as a gold prospecting machine. I would recommend this machine to anyone looking for one of the best simple to use, all round detectors available.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

766

JUST PLAIN SHOCKED!

February 07, 2010
I hunted civil war relics for 20 years I've used all the Whites machines accept the v3.i used the fisher 1266x and the f70 even a Minelab extera 70. I hunted a field for years which was a confederate camp just before Gettysburg. All last year I went out about once a week and found nothing! Hunted out I said to myself.

Then a vaquero came up on ebay so I purchased it. Since this place was close to home I decided to give it a try. I read the book on how to super tune it. Going over the ground I would get these faint but strong unbroken signals which I got none with the other detectors, I almost left them go thinking it was deep iron. But decided to dig. At elbow deep I saw something green. As I cleaned it off I was shocked a confederate block I button at around 16 inches! Shocked I dug everyone of those sounds and ended the day with 5 gardners 3 enfields a block I and 2 flat buttons! What a machine!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

533

This is my first and the last detector.

September 27, 2009
Why?
Because it is very simple to operate, in the field you don't need a very diffcult displays and electronics like in passenger Jumbo Jet.
The only disantwages is a very loud speaker witch no volume knob, so you must have used a headphones .I bought my Tesoro in USA where I have a family, but I use it in Poland where we have a lots of relics including Germans WW 2
Best Regards and sorry for my language but I hope everybody understud me.
Thanks Peter

Overall Rating 5 stars!

435

This is for sure the do anything machine

July 15, 2009
I'm very pleased with this machine very light weight, have found that sweet spot on finding nickels before I dig, took a while to get use to that manual ground balance but love it now. Very deep, will find bb sized stuff in dry sand at 11" in dry sand using all metal mode, have found lots of coins using the 5.75" coil and will go real deep using the DD 12 x 10 coil, I like this machine better than the Tejon I had, once you learn this machine there is no problem keeping up with thousand dollar machines.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

425

Treasure cowboy

April 11, 2009
I just fell in love with this detector and I own a garrett GTAX 550, garrett ace 250, and a whites dfx but the vaquero destroyed them all ;) I went back to my old detecting spots like the park and beach hear in avila beach,CA and got results. I found a mens superbowl(raiders) ring at 15" inches deep with a clear noise. To make the story short I did returned the ring and I got a reward of 200 dollars for it because I believe I did the right decision. Besides the ring had the name of the original owner. This detector is so good it will want to make you scream YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEHAW!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

4910

Does it all!

April 04, 2009
Coins, relic's and I bet Gold hunting next however, that is to be seen yet as I have not tried it in the Gold fields. I love the small box with lots of power and the simple controls knobs (I hate touch pads and Lcd that you cannot see very well and do not last long). This detector does it all so far. Heading for the Gold fields next. We will see.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

197

Beep and Dig Cowboy

April 01, 2009
The Vaquero is one of the best beep and dig machines around. My buddy has the Tejon and he is impressed that I can stay with him on the hunt!
The more you use it the more you learn, ground balance must be set properly, if you move the sensitivety knob reset the ground! When all is set up, run it hot by winding the threshold all the way up, pin point facility will be unusable at this level but hey exing your target is no problem. I use the big DD coil 10"x12" for ploughed and the standard web for the more trashy sites. Good all round performance with the big coil if a little twitchy on discrim a small price to pay for the superior ground coverage. All in all my favourite all rounder and is as good as anything else out there, many good finds and many good times ahead!! Let the good times roll.


Machines Owned
Cscope 400
Cscope 650 D
Cscope minidisc
Cscope 990C
scope 1220
Silver Sabre plus
Golden sabre 2
1266 Pro
1270 Anniversary
Eurosabre
Vaquero

Overall Rating 5 stars!

347

Very Light

March 18, 2009
Well I like Tosoro Metal Detectors and I have 3 now!
Sting Ray, Tiger Shark, Vaquero, anyway, I wanted something light, I had a Fisher CZ 7 Pro, it was okay but your arm sure would tire out! Vaquero is sort of like my Sting ray, it gives a good beep when there is something solid in the ground. I Set it up so I can detect any kind of rings, sure you find pull tabs and other metal objects but when you dig up that Gold ring you will be happy!
Only thing I don't care for is the pin point, it wants to fade not soild on pin point but you will learn with it as you go! Happy Hunting!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

144

Submit your review for Tesoro Vaquero

Submit your tip for Tesoro Vaquero