Bounty Hunter Tracker IV

Price: $160
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.48
Based on 62 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!4.73
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!4.82
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Tracker IV

Compare to ▼
Fisher F11 $159
Minelab GO-FIND 40 $230
Fisher F22 $230
Minelab GO-FIND 20 $180
Bounty Hunter Lone Star Pro $199
Teknetics EuroTek $160

Bounty Hunter IV

April 02, 2013
I am new to metal detecting though I've become quite interested. I received a Bounty Hunter IV as a gift. I found a rifle/pistol slug at roughly 17" deep in the ground with it. No treasure obviously, but wow! Really? This thing is cool. I'm all about looking now!

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
1712

Great machine

September 06, 2012
After reading these reviews I followed the advise to hobby lobby and my 40 percent off coupon. I purchased the machine for about $68 cheaper then most used ones.

I took it home read the instruction and figured out all the settings. I first took it in my yard found a watch, a few wheat pennies, a tinker toys corvette, but a lot of roofing nails. I dug them too because one roofing nail sounded like a brass jewerly box hinge I found so I figure its worth the surprise to dig those too.

I waited a week as it was raining a lot to do this in my front yard more pennies and metal objects most of the rusted beyond condition but still fun to find. I laughed when I dug a 1 foot deep hole to find a tricycle wheel.. . yes an 8" diameter wheel. I couldn't believe how far down it was and how accurately this detector led me to only digging around it.

This machine is probably my favorite investment and new hobby. I am enjoying the hunt. The only draw back is I got too search happy and found that in Illinois most parks and all of the county forest preserves and I mean ALL are off limits. Don't bring your equipment there or they will take it and fine you for a class 3 misdemeanor.

Sad I found some great search sites I can't md at and hate that a few inconsiderate people who will probably ruin the forest anyway stopped the finds of something great. I can't wait to call some reality companys and property owners and take my chances with permission on some private property and see what I find next.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

300

Can't go wrong

September 01, 2012
I'm brand new to the hobby.
I bought a Tesoro Tejon and a Tracker IV at the same time (I figured if my son or friends wanted to come with when I detect, I'd have a loaner for them).
The Tejon arrived 2 days before the Tracker, so I have some search time in and I've found all sorts of junk in my yard.
The Tracker arrived today. I set it up, did an air test and I get pretty much 5" on all coins (quarters about 6").
I knew that is pretty typical, from reading other reviews.
After the air test (and setting the Disc to overlook some of the junk I now know is all over my yard) I took it outside to see if I could find anything.

I ended up finding a very nice copper brooch, down at around the 6" mark.
Pretty darn good for such an inexpensive detector.
It's super simple to use, feels slightly flimsy, but solid enough (I have the shaft extended to max and it's slightly wobbly but not something I couldn't live with).
Overall, Bounty Hunter gets an A+ from me. Inexpensive, easy to use and a great beginner machine.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

212

Awesome detector

July 21, 2012
I took mine to a lake and searched in the water for old stuff. I also brought my Garrett Pin Pointer. Most of you know that they aren't water proof, so I just put in a bag. I found my first wheat penny, a 1948, and my first Canadian penny, a 1991. A BUNCH of clad, but money is money. Very successful hunt. I started MD-ing in November of 2010, and the metal detector has never failed me.. . low price for a great detector.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

209

Clad Coin Magnet

June 30, 2012
This detector is really great at finding typical modern coins, also called clad. If there are any within 5" below the coil it will find it. So it is great for use at local parks and schools.

My deepest coin finds are 4" to just short of 5" in my area, southern Indiana. Under the best conditions it is said to get a maximum depth of 6", and that is the advertised maximum depth.

I prefer to use the optional 4" Gold Nugget coil to help find coins in trashy areas like my local parks and schools. It really makes a difference at finding coins in ground areas that have lots of foil/pull tabs/and other trash.

Using the 4" coil I loose typically a inch in depth, however, it makes it up for it by finding more coins (as it can find coins in trash) and better pinpointing than the standard 8" coil.

My best finds with it in the month I've owned the Tracker IV is 1 wheat penny, a old silver ring, about $5 in change, and many relics - one that was 10" down (the bigger something is the deeper it can find it).

I'd suggest setting the sensitivity to the maximum without chatter and the Disc/Notch (discrimination) to just over half at 1 o'clock. This will give you the best results while elimination some trash.

Even at those settings pull tabs will be found, and I recommend you dig those. So far I have found 153 pull tabs, but because I dug those I also found the silver ring. The ring sounded just like a pull tab, as does most jewelry.

I purchased my Tracker IV at a local Hobby Lobby using the 40 percent coupon found at their website - total price was about $65. I'd recommend you do the same and get a much better price and get it the same day.

Due to the 5" max depth and most old coins are found in the 6" to 9" area I just upgraded to the Discovery 3300, however, I will keep my Tracker IV as a backup detector and so friends/family can use it as well.

It is well worth the money to get into the hobby and decided if metal detecting is for you. If you find it is you will be happily finding many things for a long time to come.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

385

Bounty hunter

April 18, 2012
Its OK , does what it says on the box , all machines have differences but I think for the price the bounty hunter tracker IV is going to be without question very good value for money.
Hey people, you don't have to search too deep to find goodies. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . I've found most items to be quite close to the surface, this machine goes down about 6 inches and I wouldn't really like to digg beyond that anyway otherwise it becomes a dragg + very time consuming as well.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

698

Beginner

March 17, 2012
Purchased and read the manual yesterday, headed out to the beach today to try it out. Tried to start detecting with no discrimination, and you wouldn't believe the number of hits. Granted these were all junk, so I learned pretty quick how to play with the sensitivity and discrimination. After a little practice, I still found some old pop tops, and pieces of copper wire, but I was really excited to find a nice size chunk of silver. Not too sure what it is, or where it could have come from, but I'll bet it goes about 1/4 of an ounce (looks decorative, however it is very worn).

Am I happy with this model after my 1st day? Sure . . . , and I can't wait to get out again next weekend.

Most reviews that I have read say that this is a good detector for those getting their feet wet. I would have to agree.

Overall Rating 4 stars

652

Minimal but effective

January 31, 2012
Found musket balls first time out, gold ring, but my best so far is a 1600s Charles 2nd two pence coin. I'm happy good on the beaches, good first detector but wanted upgrade pretty quickly.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

448

Treasure hunter

December 23, 2011
I own a Tracker IV. I found the user manual easy to read/understand and the tips within very helpful.
This unit is very lite weight and have spent hours using the unit without exhausting my arm.
Headphones or earbuds help you determine the subtleties of the tones. The multiple setting toggle switch helps to cross examine a tone and determine trash from treasure.
There is a learning curve in distinguishing tones but the it is easy to get the hang of.
Discriminating helps find tons of penny, dimes, and quarters.
The manual clearly tells you if you set the machine to find Gold and nickel you WILL find tons of soda tabs, and it is true!
Using headphones preserves battery life (I'm still on my first set).
note mine did not include a 1/4 inch headphone jack adapter (find one at Radioshack)
Water proof search coil!
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS FOR A BEGINNER OR ENTHUSIAST
Many forums and sites with tips to lend advise for beginners!
I have found enough treasure the first 2 days of owning my Tracker IV to recover the cost of the unit, AND THEN SOME!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1091

Beginners dectector

December 01, 2011
Great for finding recently lost change around playgrounds. If you are wanting something to go deep and find older coins, skip this unit. I did a test after wondering why I was finding only modern coins at an old site and at best I was finding quarters at 4-5" max. It does work and finds things once you get use to it but mostly around parks and playgrounds where recently lost items are. If you are wanting more out of a detector, I would suggest spending more.

Overall Rating 3 stars

4510

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Tracker IV

Submit your tip for Bounty Hunter Tracker IV