Bounty Hunter Tracker IV

Price: $160
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.48
Based on 62 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!4.73
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!4.82
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Tracker IV

Compare to ▼
Fisher F11 $159
Minelab GO-FIND 40 $230
Fisher F22 $230
Minelab GO-FIND 20 $180
Bounty Hunter Lone Star Pro $199
Teknetics EuroTek $160

Tracker 4 or pioneer for me okay.

August 25, 2008
The tracker iv is an okay metal detector, I have been in this hobby for 2 years and have only got around 4.00 in clad and about 3 wheat penny's. I have found 1 gold child ring and 1 silver bracelet. I have gotten numerous strange items one being an old miners shovel found near a creak bed it was all rusty when I pulled it out we went to a local museum and saw the same one so it is probably a hundred years old or older. Very Simple to use, why mine is not as good as other's is because mine is A.K.A. the pioneer model witch I got at big five on a sale they sell junk any way.

Overall Rating 3 stars

1946

More than a toy...

August 17, 2008
I've been using the Tracker IV now for 7 months and have been amazed by what I've found so far. Best finds include an 1890 IH penny, 1842 large cent, and a 3 ring civil war bullet. 14 silver coins, silver jewelry, and numerous wheat pennies have been found as well. This detector can be swung for hours. You'll tire from digging before you will swinging! Easy to pinpoint with if you swing the coil over the target several times and mentally mark the spot of ground where you hear the tone. I dig mostly high repeatable tones, thus the lack of gold finds. Seems to find nickels better with discrimination turned down around 10 o'clock on the dial. Pulltabs also start ringing in clear at that setting though.

Depth has not been an issue with me. It is advertised as being able to find coin sized objects at 8". I've managed 6-7" with most older finds at 4-5". As with any detector, moist ground will give you alot more depth than hard packed dry soil. The few drawbacks to this detector that I've found include..no depth indicator ( meter is useless..imho), lack of target id., and falsing when bumped against tall grass or saplings.

Overall Rating 4 stars

711

The first 18hrs swinging..

June 20, 2008
After the first 18hrs swinging the Tracker IV there are some definite things to share on this machine. Being my first 'real' detector its certainly proven itself and getting closer to paying for itself every time its been taken out.
Recently we have had heavy beach erosion which has taken about 2 meters of overburden away exposing sand untouched for some time, the Tracker has been run with nearly 100% sensitivity and notching run very low to remove the ferrous items only has resulted in many holes being dug and never without reason.
Running in 'all metal' mode on a weak target then switching to 'tone' mode has made the target dissapear but taking a couple of inches off the surface brings back the target in 'tone' mode. What really annoys is when there is a low signal (7 and above) means the hole will have to be a foot deep!
Crossing from dry to wet sand will give a short signal. I am sure turning the sensitivity down would remove that but once your used to it, your aware of it and it doesn't bother you much.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

369

Not Impressed

June 06, 2008
Received my IV and was very excited to put it to use. We scheduled a trip to the beach and I intended to take the IV and test it's abilities.
Much to my dismay the unit does not function properly at all.

As soon as I installed the batteries and turned the unit on, the detection tone began sounding. The tone continues to sound regardless of any sensitivity or other adjustments made.

However, turn the unit completely horizontal and the tone stops. Pass metal objects near the coil in a horizontal position and it works fine. Return the unit to the vertical search position and it's constant tone.

Since I haven't yet figured out a way to have the beach scroll vertically past the search coil, and this is the only way the unit wants to work, I guess it's back to the store for this one.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1747

Great beginners detector and beyond

March 01, 2008
Really happy with this detector. It's very light and easy to use. Took only a few minutes to assemble and read the manual. Went straight out in my backyard under clothes line and found $4in coin. Find coins every time I go out and are easily finding enough small change to keep myself in batteries. Have also found a pre-decimal coin, a ring and plenty of interesting stuff.The headphones are great, most people ignore you when you are wearing them which is great. Would recommend this detector to any beginner or experienced hunter.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1492

Tracker iv

December 21, 2006
would be perfect for the price if its possible to swap the meter system with a depth reader. :)
Pro: There is still tone discrimination in ALL METAL mode, some trash(e.g used sparkling fireworks and paper clips) can still be differentiated from coins by the different tones produced.

Con: It is stated in the manual that the tracker iv will detect in extreme ground conditions with no loss of sensitivity. For me, is false cos when ONLY the search coil is submerged into the sea water, or when only the base of search coil touches the salt water, the detector starts emitting erratic signals. I have to reduce the sensitivity to 3 o'clock, sometimes 12 o'clock if deeper into the water.

http://singaporemetaldetectorists.blogspot.com/

Overall Rating 4 stars

415

Great budget detector

October 29, 2006
This is my first detector. I looked at the great reviews it's had and decided this was the one to buy. I've been very impressed. It's very light,easy to use. With experience coins can be pinpoined accurately with the 8 inch head. The descrimination needs to be turned down to 12 o'clock for small silver coins and some bronze pennies. The only reason i've not given 5 stars is the depth is a bit restricted. i.e bronze pennies 5.5 inches,fathings & sixpences 5 inches.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

764

What you get is ...

August 24, 2006

... a very modest priced metal detector with features normally found only on more expensive machines.

I have detected for years with various machines and in my honest opinion this little gem is a winner,you wont be disappointed!

Swing away for hours and enjoy the bounty without the arm ache!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

653

Matal detecters

August 12, 2006
Just a wunderful mashine, but it kinda sunds like morse code. Don't be suprised to dig coins up to 2 to 3 inches, cause it is deep, almust as deep as a munlab explorer. also you can by one at radioshack

Overall Rating 3 stars

1358

First time with Tracker 4

May 20, 2006
Hi,
i just got a tracker 4 from ebay and have used it for first couple of hours on nearby beach, it ran
smooth with no false signals with sensitivity near full, got one signal and dug easy 2 foot down and still didnt get to it,kept walking along beach,using all metal and tone and found tone ignored rubbish as its suppose too!, there was black sand streaks but didnt bother tracker 4 at all!, and found a 1 inch square hollow gold object with some sort of pattern on it,
to sum up very pleased with ease of operation, and the auto ground balance,and its discrimination
intend to get a 10 inch coil and try a few parks and even out bush for nugget hunting,

Overall Rating 5 stars!

493

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Tracker IV

Submit your tip for Bounty Hunter Tracker IV