Bounty Hunter Tracker IV

Price: $160
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.48
Based on 62 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!4.73
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!4.82
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Tracker IV

Compare to ▼
Fisher F11 $159
Minelab GO-FIND 40 $230
Fisher F22 $230
Minelab GO-FIND 20 $180
Bounty Hunter Lone Star Pro $199
Teknetics EuroTek $160

Found a two ounce gold nugget

July 21, 2011
Couldn't believe it amazing a two ounce gold nugget out in the sierras by tahoe I tested the beep on other nugets I found while dredging unbelievable for the value

Overall Rating 5 stars!

3414

Satisfed for were I live!!!

May 31, 2011
I am only 14 but metal detecting is my new favorite hobby! my mom bout me this for Christmas a few years back I never used it until we went to the beach for vacation I didn't find anything there and put it away for several months. the other day I took this out to the neighborhood park and found 3 quarters 1 wheat penny and some Australian coins!!!

I love this machine and is worth the price! I highly suggest this to any newcomers to the hobby

Overall Rating 4 stars

437

Lost my wedding ring - found it in 20 minutes

May 30, 2011
I realized my wedding ring was missing yesterday. It comes off easily so I have a tendency to take it off whenever I am doing anything where it might fall off - but I could not find it in any of my usual places that I put it. I was absolutely sick with the thought that it was lost. The only thing I had done all day where it could possibly have come off without me noticing was pulling the hose around to add some water to the pull. I had crawled around on my hands and knees for 2 hours looking through all the grass to find it with no luck.

I went out and bought a Tracker IV - came home - put it together - ran through the tests in the book with coins and went out to look for it. I have never used a metal detector before in my life. At first I had a few hits - but not where I thought I could have lost it. Then I tried the discriminator settings. I tested it with a couple other rings to see that they made the lower tone beep (more of a brrrp sound). Went back out - found one spot with that tone. My wife bent down, dug around for about 20 seconds and said "Here it is!". I could not be more happier.

I have no idea how this product stacks up against other metal detectors - but I can say this: If you lost something important (and it is metal) go out and get yourself one of these. I found my ring and now I have a new hobby!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

541

Great beginner detector

May 04, 2011
This is my first detector, and I love how quickly its ease of use got me into the field. The auto ground balance takes the guess work out of accounting for ground mineralization, and the instruction manual does a great job of explaining the machine.

I was a little leery of its pinpointing ability after reading some reviews on other sites, but if you slow down your swings and use the "cross" method after getting a beep, the Tracker iv really does quite well putting you right on top of the target. I bought mine from Meijer.com for $97 and find it to be well worth the investment.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

292

Copper hunter

April 13, 2011
This is a very good value, if you are not too dumb or lazy to use it.
The sensitivity and discrimination work very well, be sure to try it on something similar to what you hope to find so you know what beeps it will make. I have found hundreds of pounds of copper on mine rock piles with mine. Just ignore that little needle that jumps back and forth.

Overall Rating 4 stars

184

Treasure

February 20, 2011
I have found three pennies (1963,1967,1975), a BUSCH bottle cap, a 1941-P nickel, a bullet, two shell casings, a washer, a nut, a YALE key, and 20+ pop tops.

I really like this metal detector.

Overall Rating 4 stars

3012

TRIPLE JACKPOT!

February 19, 2011
This metal detector is great!!! Yesterday my grandfather and I were using it and we found a 1967 penny, a key, and a 1941 wartime nickel.

Overall Rating 4 stars

1410

Rock On!

December 27, 2010
As soon as I took it out of he box, I went out into the backyard and found an Iron Maiden armband with spikes!

Yesterday me and my buddy Earl were using it near LA, and we found a ring that said Judas Priest from the 80's.

Overall Rating 4 stars

2161

Excellent Tool! A Real Gem!

December 14, 2010
I got my Tracker IV last week, and I love it! Already found the corpse of a Civil War soldier, complete with rifle and bayonet. I've found several coins from the Revolution, and even some WWII daggers. Very easy to use and understand. The two-tone mode is excellent. Go get one today!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

30142

Wedding Band Lost

December 20, 2009
Okay, a long story short. My wife and I went out on a Saturday morning and bought a Christmas tree in a lot, brought it home and put up the tree. After that, I strung lights up on the house, shoveled the walkway and sidewalk, etc.

While taking a shower that night I noticed my $800 white/yellow custom made wedding band was gone. Searched with a flashlight for hours, came up empty handed.

The next morning I went down to Cabela's and bought a Bounty Hunter Tracker IV, headphones, and batteries. Out in the parking lot I put it together, read the manual, and fine tuned the settings using my gold watch on the ground.

Went to the Christmas tree lot and after an hour had 12 extra cents in my pocket for my trouble. When I got home, I began searching the lawn, which was covered in 4 inches of fresh snow.

I found the ring about an hour later while searching the last spot I had been the day before. The ring had worked it's way through the snow and deep into the grass. Without this detector I NEVER would have found this ring.....even after the snow had melted.

In summary, this detector works fine for the price. Some advice, you have to adjust the settings using a known object before you start searching in order to find similar objects. In other words, test it out on a gold ring to maximize the detectors sensitivity and get a feel for the sounds it will make before you go looking around for more gold rings. This is the first detector I have ever used, so nothing to compare it too.

In my case, the detector cost about $165 including headphones and batteries (two nine volts), and it recovered my $800 wedding band, a priceless object to me and my Wife. Best part is, I had a great excuse to buy a detector, something I have always wanted!! Another Christmas miracle.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

3018

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Tracker IV

Submit your tip for Bounty Hunter Tracker IV