Bounty Hunter Tracker IV

Price: $160
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.48
Based on 62 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!4.73
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!4.82
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Tracker IV

Compare to ▼
Fisher F11 $159
Minelab GO-FIND 40 $230
Fisher F22 $230
Minelab GO-FIND 20 $180
Bounty Hunter Lone Star Pro $199
Teknetics EuroTek $160

22K gold bracelet found with tracker 4

May 08, 2006
This was my first detector. It was not that expensive and had other good reviews. The first time out i found a silver bracelet. I was hooked after that. In about another month i pulled up a very heavy gold bracelet. It looked fake and everyone thought it was because it was very shiny compared to American gold. We finally took it to a pawn shop and the guy told us it was a 22k European gold bracelet. He said he would give me $492 right there. Needless to say i sold it to him. This has got to be the best detector for a beginner or intermediate.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

582

Awesome detector for the money

February 27, 2006
I received my bounty hunter very eager to use it because of all the good reviews I had read. I'll be quite honest-I had a whites spectrum xlt that was a very good detector but the price was $1000 dollars. This bounty hunter cost me $108 dollars off of ebay and detects just as well as the higher priced whites. Granted, it lacks a depth meter, target id, and pinpointing, but it is an awesome detector for the price you pay. On my first day out I have found a hand full of change as well as a wheat penny that was probably around 5" deep! On an air test it discriminated very well. Would pick up gold and of course coins too. All in all this is a very great detector that discriminates junk from good stuff and is definately worth the small price tag!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

992

Great metal detector!

February 26, 2006
I think this is a great metal detector! I got mine for christmas and was overwelmed and pleased with it. I tried it out in our front lawn and found 2 pennies right away. I also went to my mom's school where she works and i found my first foreign coin!!! It was german but it is soo cool. I keep all my coins in a seperate baggy from my other finds.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

112

1st Detector & Love it!

February 04, 2006
I received a Tracker IV as a gift and I started finding many coins ASAP with the 8 inch coil. It's easy to learn and operate plus it is so cost effective. I also bought the 10 inch coil and detected the beach at low tide near the water line. I dug out a key at just over 3 feet in wet sand! I then dug a quarter at just over 2 feet! Awesome! Remember, wet soil or sand is better for depth.
By the way....I bought a Kitty Litter scoop (for sifting) at Walmart for about $2.97. Sure beats the high price of beach scoops and is durable and works great!
I plan an buying a pin-pointer because the 10 inch coil gives too broad a space to dig. The pin-pointer would be very helpful.
Just because the other detectors cost more doesn't mean much to me. I am so satisfied with my Tracker IV and I just found my first gold ring too. Bounty Hunter gives you great bang for the buck.
Good hunting!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

538

VERY GREAT METAL DETECTOR

November 23, 2005
I just went into the woods wiht my freinds and came out with what looks like a gun clip or maybe even the handle. It only took a few minutes. It was about 3-4 inches deep. I think this is a great metal detector. I am bringing it to the beach this weekend and I will hopefully find something good. If you are having trouble pinpointing the object just slowly circle around the area you think it is, and it is a lot easier to figure out the exact spot. This tip saves me from digging all over the place

Overall Rating 5 stars!

532

Very good

November 08, 2005
Have used a few different detectors(no expert). This one performs well compared to even more expensive types. As with all others you need a little practice. Meter is not helpful, depth read -out would help. But all in all a very good detector with power and very easy to use. Normally run in all metal(most power) mode and then check find in Disc. mode prior to getting dirty. Great price.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

293

Tracker IV

November 07, 2005
I use the Tracker IV for most of my park hunting as it knocks out the iron. Here is how I set it up.
Turn the sensitivity to 90%, the toggle swtch to tone, the disc. knob full clockways. Now you will hear 3 tone I.D.
High tone will be silver, low tone will be pulltabs,gold,nickels, mixed tone will be clad pennies-trash.
Here is what I do, dig all siver and gold tones, forget the clad penny signals (dig a few to see)
If you go over a target and it will not produce a steady tone FORGET IT you are wasting your time....It will consistantly find good targets, you HAVE to dig the pull tabs if you want gold it gets frustratin sometimes.. goes with the territory.
It is a great hunt machine as it will drive the Whites machines out of your area (he he) to prove that, I have won 1st place in the FMDAC National hunt in 1999 and 1st place in the AMDAC National This year. Got my picture in the E&W treasure magazine both times. The Tracker IV rules. I leave it in the car at 140 degrees with no harm. Use a set of small earphone and you will get 25 hrs on the batteries. Hope this helps

Overall Rating 5 stars!

2494

METER

October 05, 2005
reading the owners manual cover to cover,, it doesn't say anything about what the meter does,
but knowing how to use MD's anyway i don't need the manual,, anybody just getting into the hobby would probably wonder how the meter works while he's sitting in the LA-Z-BOY trying to figure out how his new toy works,, but like everything ya just gotta take it for a test drive to see how it works
jake

Overall Rating 5 stars!

825

Surprisingly great little detector

July 03, 2005
I keep one of these for friends to borrow.

I have to say the darn thing does a great job. Performs as well as much more expensive detectors.

Its light and fairly simple to use.

You can find them on ebay for less than $100.

One trick that works well: drop a nickel on the ground and turn the discrimination knob just till you hear the nickel. That'll knock out most of the junk.

It does get tricked by iron occassionally, but most detectors do........if that's an issue: spend 6 - 10X more and get a Minelab.

Overall Rating 4 stars

592

Great Value

April 28, 2005
Bought this for my 7yr old son. So I had to learn how to use it before I could transfer the knowledge to him. I was very impress after reading the manual and testing the unit with my own coins. I did also use some european coins to hear the difference in tones compared to our clad. After that I went to my friends small yard as his home was built on 1920.

In less than 1/2hr I had found 4 pennies oldest 1959 a small top and a turtle pendant. Deepest around 6 inches. Did find lot's of old bottle caps too. I was very impress. Trianed my some on my back yard throwing change on the lawn for him to find. He did get them all. So next will be the playground area for him.

Overall Rating 4 stars

283

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Tracker IV

Submit your tip for Bounty Hunter Tracker IV