Garrett Ace 250

Price: $250
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.20
Based on 260 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.05
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.50
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Garrett Ace 250

Compare to ▼
Fisher F22 $230
Whites TreasureMaster $299
Minelab GO-FIND 40 $230
Minelab GO-FIND 60 $310
Teknetics Omega 8500 $330
Bounty Hunter Quick Draw Pro $299

Review on the ace 250

September 01, 2005
I am new to metal detecting and i did reviews on this detector. Te reviews of this detector are good. when i got my ace 250 by mail i tested it. In one week i uncoverd in my backyard lot of pennies, 2 dimes, and one qauter and items like a metal chain. Iam impresed with the detector and i took it to the beach for the first time about in late august.I only fond one penny but i only checked on land. This is a good buy for the money. Because i can do what more exspensive detectors can good detector. And the pinpionter works well. total In change i have found one dollars worth of change. Couple of the penneys i have found were old ones. i highly recomend this detector it is good for the range of money check this detector out yourself and buy one. you wont be let down by my review.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

767

Ace 250 disapointing

August 09, 2005
After reading all the hype about the Ace 250 I bought one to replace the chinese one I got for Christmas with which I found over 100 coins in my own yard,Yep I found 3 more pennys with the ace. As others have said there is no change in the tone in coin mode whether you have alum a nail or a dime, many times it says penny, dime or quarter and a clear ringing BOING-BOING and I dig a nail, at least with my old machine steal has a distinct sound and yes the shaft is loose and the coil is hard to keep tight, the digits in the display are to small and backlighting would help. I think the pinpointing feature is a waste of time as it pinpoints fine without it. My main gripe, I wish it knew a nail from a dime.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

5023

Beginners Surprise

July 20, 2005
I am new to metal detecting and had no idea what unit to buy, all I knew was the wife wouldn't allow me to spend to much. I got my new Ace 250 in mail yesterday and in minutes I was out finding things. The pin point feature takes some getting use to but works well. It is a very light weight unit but I beleive it packs a real punch for th buck. I found two quarters and a dime in area where a close friend hadn't found anything with his Whites. Best of all it is fun to use!

Overall Rating 4 stars

1459

Ace 250

July 03, 2005
Ive been metal detecing for about 8yrs now. I finaly started shopping for a new detectors and settled on the ace 250 for the options and support it offerd. In the comment card I suggested a long shaft for taller people and a week later I recived one from Garret in mial.
I couldnt be happier with it. Ive pulled $63 in clad change 3 silver and 1 gold ring in the 3 months Ive owned it. The pinpionter works like a charm and has allowed me to dig in places others couldnt. Ive owned 3 detectors and by far this is the best yet.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

2268

This thing is dumb

July 01, 2005
this thing has almost ruined my love of treasure hunting. I'll sum it up:IT DOSEN'T DISCRIMINATE WHILE ITS PINPOINTING!!
tHE INITIAL TONE YOU GET HAS A MICROPROSSER DELAY SO ITS USELESS FOR PRE PINPOINTING. IF YOUR IN AN AREA WITH ALOT OF JUNK, IT WILL MOST TIMES FIND JUNK. iVE HAD AT LEAST 5 MACHINES IN MY LIFE AND THIS IS THE WORST. ok i'm done shouting. also the display needs help! You can't see it, as it's at the wrong angle. If you have bifocals its useless. IT NEEDS TO BE LIT UP. YOU WOULD THINK GARRETT WOULD HAVE ENOUGH SENSE TO LIGHT THE THING! I would pay the extra 10 bucks for a lighted dial. I feel like finding an old relic magnum at a rummage sale so i can have fun again. here is another thing: It dosent vary in loudness when you find a target, this is really dumb. It's down right annoying to use this thing!

Overall Rating 1 star

9611

Ace 250 - so far so good

June 22, 2005
This is my first metal detector and I've had it about two weeks so far. I did some research, read some really positive reviews and decided this was the best bang for my buck. Having no treasure huntng experience... I can't give a thorough assessment, but I can say that the 1 star review in this column has a bad machine! The Ace has 3 tones, and when you get the bell tone, you got your find. If it says a dime at 3 inches - its a dime at three inches. I went to the (saltwater) beach this morning and I was pulling up coins left and right. The deepest was about 10 inches down in wet sand. The pinpoint feature is dead-on. I'm still learning the tones and settings, so I was digging up a lot of nails and stuff. I guess from a novice perspective... its easy to use, accurate and I am very pleased.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

3868

Ace 250

June 08, 2005
this detector hunts ! - the pinpointing is on the money - it has great quirks - this detector has the same features and they work as detectors costing 2x as much. its is lite . and u dont have to worry about beating up a 1000 white ! the features r close to the 550 that garrett sells but not boasting the depth - (in their book anyways)a great 1st detector - or 2nd -

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1169

From across the pond

June 07, 2005
I got the Ace 250 a couple of weeks ago as a replacement for an older machine. It took a little getting used to at first, especially pinpointing, but it works well.. You have to be prepared to put in the effort to learn the sounds - oh and you can always read the manual. I found 40 or more coins right away in my backyard that my previous detector had missed. Out in the woods I have found allsorts from horeshoes to WW2 ammunition - I like to dig everything!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1564

Ace 250

June 02, 2005
I have been a treasure hunter since 1972. I have bought and used several brands of detectors during these years but never favored a Garrett.
When two friends showed me the Ace 250 I absoutely
loved it! I loved it so much I bought one for myself ! From beginner to advanced this detector has it all and is great for everyone!
Light weight, well designed, goes deep and the coin "Belltone" is wonderful! You can't go wrong with this one!!
I have a lot of experience treasure hunting
coin, relics, beach, etc and have used detectors ranging from $100.00 to $1,000.00 . You will Not find a metal detector on the market that will do what this detector will do for the price it cost!
Garrett electronics has sure developed a Winner!!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

3988

By far the Best Bang for the Buck Out There Today

May 29, 2005
After being out of the hobby for 10 years I decided to buy another detector and decided to buy the Ace 250 after exhaustive research. After owning it for a few weeks all I can say is WOW!! The unit comes with batteries already installed so initial assembly took a minute or two, then it was off to the backyard to give it a try and within minutes I was digging coins. I am really impressed at the ease of use and at the depth it was finding coins.

My last detector cost 3 times as much 10 years ago and didn't have the multiple tones and LCD display. I've been down to the local public park a few times and have found coins each time! For a detector that can be bought for 200 dollars today and works so well must be sending shivers through Garretts competitors. What a great entry level machine that doesn't know it's an entry level machine. You'll easily spend close to twice as much to buy another brand detector that works this well. It is selling like hotcakes and I can see why.

Anyone looking for there first detector or a great back-up detector should look no farther you won't be disappointed. The only negative thing I can find with this detector is the pinpointing function, it takes some practice and isn't perfect but I can live with it. Summing it up all I can say is buy it you won't be disappointed

Overall Rating 5 stars!

2874

Submit your review for Garrett Ace 250

Submit your tip for Garrett Ace 250