Whites Matrix M6

Price: $700
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.62
Based on 58 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!5.00
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!4.70
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Whites Matrix M6

Compare to ▼
Makro Racer $650
Nokta FORS CoRe $699
Fisher F-19 $800
Whites Sierra Super Trac $700
Whites MX5 $600
Tesoro Outlaw $650

The Beast!

February 08, 2011
I have noticed a couple of people on here saying that the m6 is only getting coins ant 2 and 3 inches? that is horrible and your machine needs to be looked at because I am digging coins up to a foot down. My last dig was 12.5 inches down to find a 1943 AU Merc dime. I have walked right behind other detectors and dug coins that their machines past right over. Awesome detector, I love it!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

216

Whites Matrix/M6

December 29, 2010
Hi John from England here..
Had used a Bounty Hunter starting machine b4 I decided to look around. And look around I did.
You don't spend £500+ without doing some homework and it took awhile b4 I could sift out the honest metal detector reviews from the 'questionable ones'. Lets be honest .. bad detector reviews don't seem to exist..
Anyway I chose Whites Matrix/M6 3 1/2 years ago and I have not looked back. This machine found me my first hammered coin and now I am nearing 50 !
It found me my first treasure item (a 17th Century Gold Memento Mori Ring), my first gold coin (a 1762 Quarter Sovereign), my first Celtic coin (Dobunni Uninscribed Silver Unit circa 30BC), and a 'Monnaies a la Croix' Silver Unit from Gaul circa 200BC- one of the oldest coins ever found in the UK.
This machine has found me two of the smallest hammered coins around (Charles I half penny) measuring a mere 10mm.
Heck anyone reading this would think I work for Whites - but no.. I am just giving you the evidence and if you want proof check out my web site http://stubblehunter.com
Now I have a bit of money coming to me next year and so I have been looking at the new machinery and to be honest do I really want a £1,000 machine with, what appears in some cases, to involve designing your own programmes.. do I want to go to the depths of hooking up a USB from one to my pc. I just want a turn on and go machine - nice and simple where I only have to adjust the sensitity and discrim to my taste. To be honest - I dont run on the factory advised settings.. I choose to almost max out to all metal and go as far with the sensitivity as I can without giving myself an ear bashing. I rarely look at the display - what for ? I know my tones so well. Though if I see a figure around 35 that is telling me it could be on a hammie.. depends on the silver content/thickness of course but the display is a pretty reasonable guide. Like any machine you purchase you have to learn it - practice it - get used to those sounds and know what to reject. I should add that I change my batteries when they get down to 10 not 9 - I'm that fussy. So the all important question is would another similar machine have found all the above.
I will never know but the answer is 'probably'
yes BUT only if you learnt that machine as thoroughly as I have learnt mine.
I am used to what I have .. in these 3 1/2 years the only fault was one I created (putting the batteries in wrong .. embarrassing but I had the repair done free without any questions ! Joan Allen - two words.. 'superb service'.
I cannot knock or praise other machines - as their is little to choose between the top end machines but next year when it comes to choosing another machine I think I will get another Matrix/M6 as a backup. There is a saying "If it works - dont try to fix it". Cheers ! John

Overall Rating 5 stars!

513

M 6 is a great machine

December 09, 2010
I've had an M 6 now for 8 months it's performed great, many deep coins up to 8 inches. Some targets I couldn't get to because I'm not comfortable digging very deep holes in city parks. I recommend this machine to any beginner.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

141

If the M6 says its there IT IS

September 23, 2010
Killing time I walked over to a swing set off the parking area in Sun City Bluffton Sc USA. I did a couple of swings and the m6 said dime, i moved the pine bark aside on the black plastic ground cover made a slight cut and with a spoon pulled out a dime. This happened 4 more times, my half hour was up and had to leave for my Wednesday poker game now with extra booty.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

818

Not what i expected

August 31, 2010
The deepest coin I can find is three inches no matter how hard I try. I feel like I threw my money away. I am disappointed in White's m6 because I did not get any depth out of it.

Overall Rating 2 stars

1556

Finding british coins

August 15, 2010
I have used several different detectors over the years. Having retired I wanted to go back and see how the modern detectors had improved. Spent quite a bit of time reading and searching the net. Then plumped for the matrix 6. I could not believe the difference how the new technology has improved the machines.

With the detector info being set to read American coins I thought that anyone using it for the first time in the UK this would help. Set to the 2 white triangles as recommended in the instruction cd. £1 coins are detected @ vdi+ 65-67 ..5p 14-15... 10p 22-24...just make a note on the number when you hit something as long as the number is stable and not jumping about you usually have something worth digging. Hope this helps anyone using the matrix m6 for the first time saving a bit of the learning curve. For the price it is a great detector.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

311

5 Star Machine

May 19, 2010
While others are fiddling with Programs, or lost deeply in there Menu, Wondering if there machine is running correctly. I'm cleaning up on all the loot with my M6!

I have 3 Rings (1 diamond) It was a solid 47 VDI Reading. I have been detecting since 1987 and have used all the machines out there. The M6 Runs at 15 KHZ so it Hits hard on Jewelry.

Also The M6 is a silent (no Threshold) detector, at 1st I did not like that But heck I'M just looking for Recently lost Jewelry & coins at the Parks, Sports fields, Beach and like to relax while hunting.

For The performance VS price you cannot Beat the M6. Good luck & Happy Hunting.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

370

Simplicity at its finest

May 04, 2010
The M6 is everything everyone says it would be. After much researching because this would be my first machine I decided on this unit due to its ease of use and simple features. With the ground balance, discrimination, sensitivity and tone I.D. its so easy to operate a caveman could do it. I've found many coins in the short time I've had it and feel like a pro using it. This is, as the title says, "simplicity at its finest". I do not regret my decision on choosing the M6 and would recommend it to anyone looking for a first(or second) detector, as a matter of fact it may be the only detector I will ever need.
I hope you will consider this machine even though the price is a little more than entry level, it will more than prove itself worth it.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

212

Excellent machine, for its mid range price

March 15, 2010
II used a Tesoro Silver Sabre for 5 years before upgrading in 2009 to the M6. The first thing I noticed was the added depth it achieved, I was finding coins on land previously searched, to a depth of about 12". By far the most significant was a denarius of Hadrian, about 9" down. This coin is only 19cm in diameter, and I had previously searched over the spot on two previous occasions with the Tesoro.

The M6 it simplicity itself to use. I have now ordered a dedicated 15"x12" SEF coil to use with it and I await its arrival and the opportunity to hopefully attain even greater depths, with some anticipation.

Overall Rating 4 stars

331

Lethal Weapon !

March 11, 2010
Streets ahead of other machines I've used. Simple, user friendly controls. Powerful with good discrimination.. easily keeps up with the 'big boys'.. Very well made and although not the lightest, it's well balanced and gives the feel of a much lighter machine. Just enough techno stuff to make it very effective.. No bells and flashing lights.. Simply a pure workhorse!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

260

Submit your review for Whites Matrix M6

Submit your tip for Whites Matrix M6