Whites Matrix M6

Price: $700
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.62
Based on 58 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!5.00
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!4.70
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Whites Matrix M6

Compare to ▼
Makro Racer $650
Nokta FORS CoRe $699
Fisher F-19 $800
Whites Sierra Super Trac $700
Whites MX5 $600
Tesoro Outlaw $650

Coin Magnet!!!!!

March 04, 2010
I have had this detector for about 2 weeks now. It has been snowing for much of that time and I just couldnt wait anymore. The first time I took it out there was an inch of snow on the ground and I found more nickles in one day than I ever did with my Ace 250! My sister lives in a house that was built in the early 20's and I hunted it many times with the 250. Well I took the M6 out and found 20+ more wheaties!!! Not to mention I beat my oldest find (1909 wheatie with ace 250) using the m6 and found a 1901 indian head penny in the SAME yard!!!!! I had no clue there were that many more coins left after using the ace there several times.

All I can say is the m6 is a real easy machine to operate. I almost got a MXT but wanted something simpler with the same performance and I would say the m6 fits that bill just fine. I would definately buy this machine again!!!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

231

M6 should be outlawed

September 09, 2009
I never used any type of a metal detector before, so I know nothing, the brochure said turn on and go!! After reading all the pros and cons of all the detectors on the market I found a dealer 20 miles away, I purchased this machine in the spring in 2005. Now I am addicted!! That first spring I found $1,365.06 in clad coins 5 gold rings, 8 sterling rings, gold necklace, 4 dog tags, 11 pendants and that was all in one park.

Now after 3 seasons of swingin, I have read any article I could find about metal detecting and research. Research is the key to finding what you are looking for. Since the spring of 2005 I have left the parks behind and now I have focused on 1800 + schools, farms, orchards, swim holes, etc.

I just had to purchase my second treasure chest!
My finds just exceed any thoughts I could ever imagine. I have found 261 old coins. Half penny's, Flying eagle penny's, Indian head penny's, 3cent nickel, Seated half dimes, seated dimes and quarters, large cents, barber dimes and quarters, lots of merc dimes, silver dollars. Tokens from everywhere, pendants, broaches, pocket watches, rings, necklaces, sleigh bells, pocket knifes, you name it I have found it with my M6. I have meet alot of swingers in my area and we get together on a regular basis. They swing top of the line minelabs, whites, garetts, you name it, none of them scare me. I cant count the number of times my swingin buddies have commented on the M6. We all find great things, but my collection bag is always heavy and hanging low.
If everybody owned a M6 their would be nothing left to scurvy up .

I have dug most of my coins between 3 and 5 inches, but I have also dug coins at 10 inches plus. I run the M6 with the discrimination all the way down to iron, and the sensitivity to as close to max as I can, and I always search in tone id, stock coil. The only thing is get rid of the batteries when it hit 9 volts. The M6 will start to act erratic and inaccurate. I only search within 20 miles of my home, too many treasures so little time.
KEEP SWINGIN!!!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

708

Coin Shooting Monster!

April 26, 2009
I've owned my M6 for about six months and am continually astonished by its coin-shooting ability. Yes, I've found the odd cheap junk jewelry but coins just can't hide from this thing. This thing finds quarters, dimes and pennies like you wouldn't believe! Nickels can be a bit tricky but I've learned the nuances of my M6. If the VDI reads a solid +18 or +20, or bounces between the two....you got yourself a nickel. Of course I will dig anything close to that because I found out that my 14k white gold wedding band at four inches of depth reads between a +16 and +18!! Don't want to miss a gold wedding band, do ya'? My best find to date has been a 1910 wheat penny and it was at about ten inches deep. I love this machine and really don't see any reason to upgrade. In fact, I might buy another M6 just to have as a backup in case this one needs repair.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

342

M6 Quality machine

March 23, 2009
I have owned my M6 for almost a year now and its been a good machine. As others have stated it is a coin hog!!! It is real easy to tell what you have located on the Whites VDI scale and depth and pinpointing are spot on. Easy machine to set up and use with the build quality of Whites as well. Good machine 2 thumbs up

Overall Rating 4 stars

163

Very Impressed

March 04, 2009
I'm not going to get to deep into this. I have used the M6 for a year and I am very impressed with the performance.

Pos:
Good price
Very stable and accurate
Lighter then most detectors
Easy to use (Great for beginners, good for the Pros)
Neg:
The only negative I myself had with the M6 is the S-rod handle was uncomfortable. The handle doesn't have that solid feel like my DFX and MXT but thats my two cents.

This detector will be a great detector for any beginner getting started. You will have the performance of a top of the line detector, but the simplicity and cost of a average detector.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

331

Ever wonder why...

January 11, 2009
Ever wonder why 9 out of 10 people will call a machine 4 to 5 stars and one person comes allong and calls it 2 stars. Look no further than the operator. When you read reports that your machine is getting great depth and discrimination results, yet you can only get 4 inches depth and bad Disc.results what should that tell you? It should tell you that you eather have a bad machine and it needs to be sent in, or you, the operator must be doing something wrong. The White's M6 is one of the most user friendly, simple yet powerful detectors to date. The fact that it has many, many good and many better coils available is just Icing on the Cake. If you have a M6 and you are not getting the performance you think you should get(which should be outstanding)think about it.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

21410

M6 is a winner

November 11, 2008
The M6 is a real turn on and go piece of hardware.
If used with tone_ID and discriminaton off (turn disc. anti clockwise) and listen to the higher tones, you miss nothing from small coins to big relics. About dept: it finds 10 euro cents at 9 inches or relic like an german WWII helmet.
It also comes with a special beach switch.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

551

Coin Sniffing Hound

November 10, 2008
Bought my M6 on Oct. 1st. Took her out to a place I know had alot of clad just to get a feel for a new machine. Used the stock 950- coil. Hunted in tone ID mode. This site was pretty trashy but the slow sweep speed of the M6 allieviated that problem condiderably. Dug a handful of clad between 1 and 7 inches and the VDI and Depth reading were on target for the most part. The second time out I went to a spot that has been hunted to death by many experienced detectorists. I switched to the 5.3 Eclipse coil. 15 minutes into the hunt I got a faint signal with no info on the VDI.. I cut a plug about 3 inches deep and got a nice sound.. bingo 56 quarter at about 91/2 inches .. Few minutes later another faint signal yielded a 37 wheatie at about 81/2 inches.

I researched for a year before I bought a new machine and I was torn between an MXT and the M6. I made the right choice! I like the target seperation and the depth capabilities as well as pinpointing and sweep speed making the M6 a great choice.The only negative thing I can say is in regards to the VDI. Seems like when it reads in the high end like +86 should be a qaurter but sometimes its alum. If it say +83 u can bet the ranch its a qaurter. That was also true at different readings. + 20 says nickle but thats junk, if its +14 its a nicle.. so u have to get used to the VDI and remember whats what. Thats my HO Good luck and happy hunting.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

992

M6 not so hot

October 31, 2008
I've been detecting off and on for over 25 years.
I bought the M6 in august 2008. I was disappointed with the lack of depth. my deepest repeating signal was only 4 inches. anything deeper? not according to the M6. My old XLT found a wheat at 10 inches, and routinely found good targets as deep as 8-9 inches. I've noticed pinpointing seems to be off, 90% of my targets are not in the plug but consistently pop-up to the left-rear of the coil.

Overall Rating 2 stars

19397

Big surprise.

September 07, 2008
I purchased the M6 because I wanted a detector that would work OK over wet salt sand and be a decent back up for my favorite inland machines.
After reading some good reports on different internet sites it sounded as though the M6 would fill the gap in my metal detecting armoury so I took the plunge.Then came the big surprise....I enjoyed using the M6 so much that I now use it as my main detector.

It's so simple to use but it's performance is at least equal to or slightly better than some of the so called top machines I own. It's deep, excellent in trashy areas and the ground tracking keeps the detector running smoothly in all types of ground conditions with the option to use ground lock in the most severe soils.
It's hard to believe that there is this level of performance in such a simple machine.....most manufacturers try to convince us that we need loads of programs to be successful in our searches but the M6 proves that this is not the case.

Another point in it's favour is the price which is a lot more reasonable than some top end machines....why pay top end prices when you can have the same performance for a lot less?

In summary...a deep, responsive and sensitive detector at a sensible price that will keep up with anything on the market and with the bonus that it's so simple to use. Detecting perfection.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1051

Submit your review for Whites Matrix M6

Submit your tip for Whites Matrix M6