Whites Matrix M6

Price: $700
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.62
Based on 58 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!5.00
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!4.70
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Whites Matrix M6

Compare to ▼
Makro Racer $650
Nokta FORS CoRe $699
Fisher F-19 $800
Whites Sierra Super Trac $700
Whites MX5 $600
Tesoro Outlaw $650

Hangin with the big boys.

June 23, 2007
Purchased the M6 a week ago. This is my first machine.. I admit I was very discouraged the first day out. Seemed like the thing was beeping all over the place. That night I sat down and actualy read the instructions. Pretty simple actualy. The trick is in the auto track.

When you turn on the machine it says to pump the coil 1 to 4 inches from the ground and leave it on. I found the best way is to pump the coil then lock the tracking. then pump the coil again and listen if there is feed back adjust the sensitivity till it's gone. then let the hunting begin. I run on the 7 tone mode mainly. The tones are very distinct and takes no time to learn. After a couple of outings alone to learn my machine it was time to go out with the friends and family.

We went to a local Catholic school here in northern California. Between the five of us there was alot of machines to compare my M6 too.
The one that stood out was the DFX.
The others was a Coinmaster 5000D, Prism2,and 6000d. all made by Whites. These guys have been detecting for well over 30 years.

I was way out of my league. At the end of the day and the coin count I was right there with all of them. Everyone was impressed with the M6.
The egos got the best of everyone so the test began. They took the DFX and located a coin with it and everyone had to go over the same coin to see if they could find it. The M6 and DFX was the only two to find it.. A quarter about 7 inches deep. The topping on the cake was the M6 said it was a quarter and the DFX said Dime. All in all the machine worked very well. This machine has a very easy learning curve. It can satisfy the beginner or the pro. to this day I can hang with the big boys without any problems and two of my friends are buying M6s to replace thier machines.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1630

Great coin shooter

March 21, 2007
All I can say is that I found more coins in the first day of use than with any other detector I've ever owned... that includes the cortez, coinstrike, xterra50 and others... the m6 with a smaller coil just has a nose to sniff out coins.

I would highly recommend it for coinshooting in parks, school lots etc...

Overall Rating 5 stars!

720

The Matrix M-6

January 13, 2007
I just received a Whites Matrix M-6 for Christmas. The unit is very quiet and very easy for a beginner to learn. I have only hunted for coins with it and the vdi seems to be very accurate. For the price I really am satisfied with the features and quality.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

411

Good to go

November 27, 2006
i just got my m6.really like it.picks up whet pennies good. not sure how deep it will go yet.will find out.i go out everyday .so far so good thou.any advice would be good help.the pinpoint is on the money i know that.i go to historic sites get kick out after a while.it sounds loud and clear when going over a coin at 6"deep.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

4619

DFX strengths without the DFX learning curve

September 02, 2006
I never thought I'd find a machine which I liked as much as the DFX. And I guess I was right. I don't like the Matrix M6 as much as the DFX - I LIKE IT MORE!!!

It's like having a DFX without having to spend 10 minutes working to maximize the ground balance and sensitivity. It's so sweet - ground balance is quick and easy and you're on your way. I'm delighted that all the coils I got for my DFX work as well or better on the M6. I agree with Andy,NM wholeheartedly. The 4x6 shooter coil is an absolute killer.

I know it sounds too good to be true, but it is! I found my first gold ring with it less than 45 minutes after I took it out of the box! It's that easy. I still love my Garrett GTI 2500 and always will, but the DFX is on its way to the old auction block in cyberspace. The M6 is what the DFX should have been.... Superior performance AND ease of use.

I assure you, if you have been considering a DFX, try the M6 instead - you will not be disappointed! And if you have a DFX gathering dust because it is so unnecessarily complicated, sell it, get a M6 and delight in using it - you can use the money left over from selling the DFX to buy the gas to get you to the good spots.

Signed - a new devotee of the White's Matrix M6!!!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

8012

M6 performance

March 14, 2006
I have logged about 35 hours on White's new M6. Soil types range from clay to sandy soils commonly found in the midwest. This machine seems to have problems "locking on" to targets below 4". VDI readings below this level seem unreliable and the machine seems to have trouble with verfication. Pinpointing, however, remains accurate and the machine provides 3 levels of target analysis.

Overall Rating 3 stars

60292

Why this detector is a killer deal..........

March 05, 2006
Derek in Detroit summed it up very nice. If you use it in tone ID mode it is as deep as the MXT and if you use it in single tone mode (Trigger in center position) it IS deeper than the MXT.
I do get a better VDI number lock on with the 4x6 DD coil than i got with the MXT.

The feature i love most is tone ID on the M6. I hunt for coins in extreme trash with the 4x6 DD coil on it and that tone ID just tells me where the silver is without looking at the display every second. That means more finds in a given time. Lets not forget the automatic ground balance and tracking. (if you don't like automatic you can even lock it).
I bet you know how important the right ground balance setting is for max. performance. Well...this detector makes sure you have the right GB all the time...full automatic and easy for you.
Killer deal...and why : You can buy this baby for 560$ and get a free pinpointer, detector bag and headphones. If you don't like that stuff you can sell that for about 100 $ and that brings the price of the detector down to 460$. Yes 460 $ for a powerful tone ID detector with automatic GB and display. That is hard to beat.
No, i am NOT a Whites dealer, but this detector is sure worth the money.

HH,
Andy,NM

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1066

M6 + 4x6 coil= old coins

March 01, 2006
I have an mxt and love it. When I heard that whites was coming out with another detector made in its image I had to buy it. I already had lots of accessories for it because it is compatible with the mxt. Some people say that for the extra couple bucks why not buy the mxt but I prefer the m6. It is alot simpler and seems to be more quiet. I also think that it goes a bit deeper(dont know for sure). It is an awsome metal detector for the price. Now when people ask about the mxt I say why not try the m6 instead. It is a spitting image that is just as good if not better, and it is more simple and lower priced. My best find to date with the m6 would have to be a walking liberty half dollar at seven inches. To sum it all up===> buy an M6 and I guaranty you will love it.
Derek (p.s dx-1 sunray probe rules)

Overall Rating 5 stars!

20518

Submit your review for Whites Matrix M6

Submit your tip for Whites Matrix M6