Garrett Ace 250

Price: $250
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.20
Based on 258 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.06
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!4.56
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Garrett Ace 250

Compare to ▼
Fisher F22 $230
Whites TreasureMaster $299
Minelab GO-FIND 40 $230
Minelab GO-FIND 60 $310
Bounty Hunter Quick Draw Pro $299
Bounty Hunter Lone Star Pro $199

Garrett 250 listen or look

January 14, 2011
This is my second machine, I tend to search in custom mode eliminating most of the beginning signals. I search by ear as the detector has more sounds than you realise, this will help you pick the better things out.
I have found hundreds of coins since I got this machine, its not so good in wooded areas as the signal bounces about, this is mineralisation as their is sand 12 inches down, I can find 9 mm bullet heads around 8-12 inches down.

The detector is weighted well but would need the aditional pinpointer to make ease in woods. In all metal mode I wouldn't detect parks, I would only detect farmers fields, other than that I discriminate on very few readings.
Hope this helps.

Overall Rating 4 stars

25131

Garrett Ace 250 Review

December 27, 2010
I have had this Metal Detector for a while now, and I have been very pleased with it.
Now that is Winter, I have to wait for warmer temperatures and no snow on the ground to go Metal Detecting again. I really miss doing that.

I must say, this detector goes above and beyond my Bounty Hunter Discovery 2200, and my EDU Science combined. I just cant wait for Spring, so I can jump back to finding Coins and Relics. My G-ma & G-pa live in a small village in Nebraska, called Kennard. Every year, my whole family goes and Metal Detects with me all the way through Kennard. I usually find great things, (Mostly at the Kennard Park) such as: Coins, Car Parts, Bottles, Locks, Toys, and containers.

I really hope this season will fly by, so I can get back to detecting Kennard! I will always remember when my Uncle Kenny Metal Detected with me, it always made me a happy kid. I wish he was still here to go Metal Detecting with me, but he died. If you live in Nebraska, Kennard is a great place to Metal Detect! The Garrett Ace 250 is just a great detector for the price, and if you don't have a Metal Detector or want a better one, the Ace 250 is a wise decision.
Thank you for taking your time to read this, and I will write another Review in the Spring! Bye!

Overall Rating 4 stars

53139

A Mixed Day

December 25, 2010
Right before I went to bed on Christmas Eve I wondered what Metal Detector Santa was going to bring me. After many dreams of finding treasure, morning finally came. I rushed out of bed and discovered it was a Garrett Ace 250. This was not exactly my first pick, but I felt pretty good about having a Metal Detector with my first name on it.
After assembling the detector and getting my warm clothes on, I finally was prepared to head to the Port Aransas, Texas Beach.

I set the detector on relic mode and got a strong deep signal which bounced all over the screen. After digging for about 45 minutes with my plastic shovel I found a part of an old tin can in a 14 inch hole. I found 2 pull tabs and decided it was time to warm up and eat lunch. After lunch I went out to the beach again and got a super strong deep penny signal. After digging for quite a while the signal changed to the bottle-cap pull-tab range. After I saw the bottom of a can and was very disappointed.

My mom told me to come in and I got permission to go around the travel trailer. In about 2 minutes I found 6 quarters and Wesley, my 8 year old brother, found 1 quarter. After that I called it a day and decided to write my review. Overall this is a detector I plan to keep. I only gave it 4 stars because it doesn't have an aluminum target ID and doesn't come with a free pin-pointer or extra coils.

Overall Rating 4 stars

29133

Two month test review and help for beginners.

December 11, 2010
In two months I have found 1,500 coins and jewelry with the Garrett 250. Everyone goes to parks and playgrounds so that is not the place to go. I HIGHLY suggest meeting the caretakers of neighbourhood swimming pool! Remember you are looking for places that existed before debit cards. In exchange for helping out the caretaker he gave me a key to the pool.

One section alone has yielded 1,000+ coins. The rest of the pool may take me months. Keep in mind thousands of kids visited that pool every Summer since the 60's. That adds up to a lot of clad.

The beginner must focus to avoid loosing interest. I suggest setting only to find: penny, nickel, dime and quarter. This will also pick up gold rings and Sterling Sliver while avoiding most trash. NOTE: Most older pennies show up under dime so I just removed the penny setting!
Second, take down the power level to 3 which will go down about 4". Level 2 is great for mostly surface or near surface finds. Quick victories will allow you to enjoy the hobby more instead of digging 6" inches for just a penny as on the high setting.

Also having a pointer is a must. In my backpack I carry the Garrett 250, a pointer, a plastic spade, metal trowel (for thick grass)and a screw driver (though this sometimes marks coins). So what is out there you ask? Dream a little and go find out.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

98136

Thanks Brody

November 23, 2010
I will have to dig the deeper targets, when it says 8 inches and silver dollar it seems to be junk, like you said I have to learn the machine, thanks for the encouragement.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

11127

Still This is an AWESOME machine!

November 21, 2010
I have read several reviews from people who don't like this machine. Of course you are entitled to your opinion but I wonder how many of these reviews are from folks who don't really listen to what the machine is telling them.

I have used this machine for two seasons. It is a work horse. I have a lot of hours on this machine and it continues to work great. I live in the city and my search area is limited to parks and schools which I have re-visited several times.
I think some of my finds will speak to the capabilities of this machine. $800.00 clad. New find 1887 seated liberty dime. Several other silver coins. Fendi watch (buried about 3-4 inches). It did cost 78.00 to repair but it is a $500.00 watch. 18K/950 plat ring. Gold and silver rings, pendants, ear rings, gold bracelet etc. The list goes on.

If you want gold you need to dig those nickels and pull tabs if they are a steady signal. It does like deep iron so I exclude iron. People with 1000.00 machines dig pull tabs as well. For 200.00 or less this machine will pay for itself in no time. I love it.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

109130

@Marty in Pit Meadows...

November 18, 2010
I have had the ace for a few months now. It's great! I'm out in abbotsford, BC and have found tons of coins, jewelry and a few relics. Sure not all the coins ring up as they are supposed to, but our coins are different. Never has trash actually been a coin.



You are probably just in a spot where there really is nothing in the ground. Trust the machine, if something is there the ace 250 does a darn good job at finding it. I was out with a new detecting friend who just picked up the Whites DFX, and I was finding stuff he was passing up. You just have to have patience, turn the sensitivity down to around 4 and hunt in jewelry mode.



For the price the 250 is pretty kick ass!

Overall Rating 4 stars

33125

Not as bad as I first thought

November 14, 2010
Now that I have used this machine more and read tips from others, I'm happy with it now. The tip about turning the coil around to have the back face the front is working better for me for pin pointing, a lot better, I've finally paid attention to the great tips by the experienced guys, and thank you all a lot for such good tips.
I first wished that I bought a fisher f2, but I'm sure I would have something to complain about, its like the old guys said you have to learn the machine you have, and listen to the sound, I don't have it down yet but I'm sure I'll get it right someday.

I haven't found any gold items yet but as long as I'm to lazy to dig pull tabs, I'll be happy to find anything of value. So if your new like me don't give up on your machine and I did find Canadian coins with this machine. Forget my first two bad reports on the garrett 250 I'm happy with it now.

Overall Rating 4 stars

20128

Great detector for the money.

November 12, 2010
Had one of these for over 3 years, they are great detectors, easy to use, brilliant first machine.

I've found a heap of coins, George II farthings, George III silver shillings, Victoria pennies, Roman coins, silver rings, over £150 in decimal money, also half a dozen crotal bells.

If you want a cheapish machine to start out in detecting, you will not go wrong with one of these, just take your time learning the tones and don't think your gonna find loads of things straight away. In my opinion one of the best detectors for under £200.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

23107

WHAT A PILE !!!

November 07, 2010
I had this garrett ace 250 pile of junk for 2 days now and I hate it, I own a minelab and a bounty hunter and used this pile 16 hours for 2 days to learn it and trust me I learned it and it is a pile. The only reason I gave it two stars is it goes pretty deep but the target id is way off, if you buy one you will regret it.
My bounty hunter will smoke this thing.
It has no volume control so you have to listen to it go crazy all the time.

Overall Rating 2 stars

14267

Submit your review for Garrett Ace 250

Submit your tip for Garrett Ace 250