Garrett Ace 250

Price: $250
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.19
Based on 257 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.00
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!4.53
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Garrett Ace 250

Compare to ▼
Fisher F22 $230
Whites TreasureMaster $299
Minelab GO-FIND 40 $230
Minelab GO-FIND 60 $310
Bounty Hunter Quick Draw Pro $299
Bounty Hunter Lone Star Pro $199

Best for the price

May 21, 2011
I have seen people bad mouthing the 250 because they compare it to high end machines that that may cost 6 times as much. I have an etrac and other machines also but for the money the 250 is an awesome package of good depth and some target ID. If anyone is just getting into the hobby I point them to the Ace 250 or the Cibola. Both are fantastic for the money.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

35124

Ace 250 isnt what its cracked out to be.

May 21, 2011
I have ear damage from the dings dings and million more dings, I have a pioneer that was 89 bucks that finds what the ace passes. THE 25.00 dollar pointer isn't worth much.

Overall Rating 2 stars

14241

Just Bought it on 02/05/2011

May 03, 2011
Hi all,
I just bought the ace 250 on 02/05/11. went out the same day and found three coins two were silver. that was only for 2 hours. cant wait to get out this weekend

Overall Rating 5 stars!

25127

Great customer service!

April 13, 2011
Just got this two weeks ago, and I was getting bench test readings that appeared inconsistent. I contacted Garrett and within a day they got back to me with answers that clarified everything--essentially, I wasn't reading the results correctly. (And I figured out for myself that more accurate reading for silver coins requires lower sensitivity). These are good people who provide excellent customer service.

Overall Rating 4 stars

38126

First Day Find

March 23, 2011
The first time I tried the Ace 250 was at the beach in N.J. Twenty minutes after starting I found a man's 18k gold wedding ring. It had no ID on it. I asked people on the beach if anyone lost the ring. After a week no one claimed it. I sold it later that month and paid for the Ace 250 with the proceeds. I also found several coins the week at the beach.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

29132

Garret ace 250

February 21, 2011
I got this detector about a year ago. I found a lot of iron. Finally I put it in coin mode and I found tons of coins. In relic mode I found a civil war belt buckle and bullets. Great for the price.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

41127

Awesome detector

February 03, 2011
This detector is great and I found enough change in about 5 months to pay for the cost of this detector...(NO SILVER YET) but found lots of other interesting stuff.. Buy this detector if you are looking for a good entry level detector..

Overall Rating 5 stars!

32117

Found gold at last

January 31, 2011
I found a small gold ring with stones on it 10k, I also found a silver chain, I'v found that I set it on nickel, quarter and pull tab, as on penny and dime it rings crazy for the pennys, witch bother me as they are worth like 0. I still don't have the pinpointing down yet but ill keep at it.

Overall Rating 4 stars

18132

ACE 250 The Second Life

January 16, 2011
I've had the 250 for a year now and put about 100 hours on it. At first it was great fun going around to parks and digging clad. After about 50 hours I started refining my technique and looking at the non-coin signals. I found a few pieces of silver jewelry this way but no gold rings and no old stuff. After another 25 hours I realized that almost all my finds were from 4 inches or less.

As a coin shooter the 250 was working fine but I wanted to get at deeper and older stuff. I started in a clean field that was known to have relics dating from the 1800's I looked for deep weak signals and dug. Most were iron but I dug anyway and found out that some that gave a foil or nickel response were actually high conductivity targets. The first was a 1914 dime. I'm digging about 8" on average now and bringing up some interesting stuff.

Overall Rating 3 stars

61107

Garrett 250 listen or look

January 14, 2011
This is my second machine, I tend to search in custom mode eliminating most of the beginning signals. I search by ear as the detector has more sounds than you realise, this will help you pick the better things out.
I have found hundreds of coins since I got this machine, its not so good in wooded areas as the signal bounces about, this is mineralisation as their is sand 12 inches down, I can find 9 mm bullet heads around 8-12 inches down.

The detector is weighted well but would need the aditional pinpointer to make ease in woods. In all metal mode I wouldn't detect parks, I would only detect farmers fields, other than that I discriminate on very few readings.
Hope this helps.

Overall Rating 4 stars

25130

Submit your review for Garrett Ace 250

Submit your tip for Garrett Ace 250