Garrett Ace 250

Price: $250
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.20
Based on 260 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.05
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.50
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Garrett Ace 250

Compare to ▼
Fisher F22 $230
Whites TreasureMaster $299
Minelab GO-FIND 40 $230
Minelab GO-FIND 60 $310
Teknetics Omega 8500 $330
Bounty Hunter Quick Draw Pro $299

Not Worth the Money

July 29, 2011
I bought this for 230 dollars, it is a piece of junk. I have gone hunting about 6 times and I have not found a lot of treasures and that is not the detectors fault, on the coin mode it can't tell the difference between coins, dirt, clay, rocks, or pavement. This was a total waste of time and money. To consumers, I would not recommend this cheap product.

Overall Rating 1 star

175154

4 years on duty in Germany

July 06, 2011
Hi Guys,
I had the ACE250 for about 4 years and used it in Germany on playgrounds and on the beach (as legislation is very restrictive here when it comes to metal detecting).
Before the ACE I had a cheap MD3006, to which I compare the performance of the ACE. I had a package with the bigger ProFormance coil.

To keep this short:
PRO:
- the ACE is easy to use
- the quality of the used materials is good for this price class
- the batteries last long

CONS:
- bad Pinpointing (maybe because coil ain't round)
- NOT better in performance as the cheap (only third of ACE price) MD3006
- metal indication does not always show the right type of metal
- when it's cold outside the ACE sometimes "goes mad"

I think the ACE is OK for beginners who hunt for coins. But they could also start with even cheaper analog models. I would not buy it again as the overall performance is not worth the price in comparison with the MD3006 (MD3006 80,- EUR, ACE250 250,- EUR).
I now ordered a Fisher F2 and will try that one here on German grounds. I assume that the two digit ID will be better to use on European coins.

However I found about 30 EUR (about 43 USD) and some Deutsche Mark with it. Some forgotten mobile phones on playgrounds while hunting.
No real jewelry, silver or gold.

Overall Rating 3 stars

35126

Results from the swimming pool search

June 01, 2011
This is a follow-up to the post I made on Dec. 11, 2010. Please look it up. It got very positive reviews. In the artical I encouraged people to search the local swimming pool (with permission ofcourse). In exchange for helping out the caretaker gave me a key. The results are as follows...

Count Percent Value Item
1,873 57.68% $18.73 Cent
354 10.90% $17.70 Nichel
648 19.96% $64.80 Dime
341 10.50% $85.25 Quarter
1 0.03% $0.50 Half Dollar
1 0.03% $1.00 Full Dollar
29 0.89% $282.43 Jewelry

The Half Dollar is 1962.

So what's in your local pool? Dream a little and go find out.
PM

Overall Rating 5 stars!

19147

Best for the price

May 21, 2011
I have seen people bad mouthing the 250 because they compare it to high end machines that that may cost 6 times as much. I have an etrac and other machines also but for the money the 250 is an awesome package of good depth and some target ID. If anyone is just getting into the hobby I point them to the Ace 250 or the Cibola. Both are fantastic for the money.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

35125

Ace 250 isnt what its cracked out to be.

May 21, 2011
I have ear damage from the dings dings and million more dings, I have a pioneer that was 89 bucks that finds what the ace passes. THE 25.00 dollar pointer isn't worth much.

Overall Rating 2 stars

14442

Just Bought it on 02/05/2011

May 03, 2011
Hi all,
I just bought the ace 250 on 02/05/11. went out the same day and found three coins two were silver. that was only for 2 hours. cant wait to get out this weekend

Overall Rating 5 stars!

25129

Great customer service!

April 13, 2011
Just got this two weeks ago, and I was getting bench test readings that appeared inconsistent. I contacted Garrett and within a day they got back to me with answers that clarified everything--essentially, I wasn't reading the results correctly. (And I figured out for myself that more accurate reading for silver coins requires lower sensitivity). These are good people who provide excellent customer service.

Overall Rating 4 stars

38127

First Day Find

March 23, 2011
The first time I tried the Ace 250 was at the beach in N.J. Twenty minutes after starting I found a man's 18k gold wedding ring. It had no ID on it. I asked people on the beach if anyone lost the ring. After a week no one claimed it. I sold it later that month and paid for the Ace 250 with the proceeds. I also found several coins the week at the beach.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

29133

Garret ace 250

February 21, 2011
I got this detector about a year ago. I found a lot of iron. Finally I put it in coin mode and I found tons of coins. In relic mode I found a civil war belt buckle and bullets. Great for the price.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

41128

Awesome detector

February 03, 2011
This detector is great and I found enough change in about 5 months to pay for the cost of this detector...(NO SILVER YET) but found lots of other interesting stuff.. Buy this detector if you are looking for a good entry level detector..

Overall Rating 5 stars!

33118

Submit your review for Garrett Ace 250

Submit your tip for Garrett Ace 250