Garrett Ace 250

Price: $250
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.20
Based on 258 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.06
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!4.56
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Garrett Ace 250

Compare to ▼
Fisher F22 $230
Whites TreasureMaster $299
Minelab GO-FIND 40 $230
Minelab GO-FIND 60 $310
Bounty Hunter Quick Draw Pro $299
Bounty Hunter Lone Star Pro $199

BRILL MACHINE

July 26, 2012
Hi All, After owning the Garret Ace 250 for a month now I thought I would like to write a review on it as these reviews helped me make my mind up on which detector to buy.

Not having done metal detecting before, I wanted a machine that wasn't complicated and didn't want to spend too much. but I didn't want a 'toy'. Having found the Garret Ace 250 and read the reviews on it, I thought how can a machine sound so good with a price tag of around £190 be any good when most machines cost around £500 plus. So once again I went around reading reviews, watching videos, ect, and finally decided to go for it and buy one. I also thought well, if it isn't very good the second hand market for these machines seem good so I could always sell it again and get most of my money back.

Well, one month on I have not looked back, I am very pleased with it. First day I got it I read the manual, and watched the DVD that came with it, then set it up and went straight out into the garden, found a old half penny and 3 modern decimal coins as well as junk mind. My next outing was just outside my garden on some what I call wasteland, kids ride motor bikes around there. After a couple of hours I had found old pennies, half pennies and decimal coins, as well as a gold Claddagh Pendant which was nice.

No stopping me now, after one month I have found loads of old pre-decimal coins as well as decimal. My best finds are that gold Claddagh Pendant, a mans gold ring, a child's silver ring, a silver St. Christofer and a silver badge of an anchor. Also dug a lot of junk, but it seems its the same with expensive detectors, they all find junk. Can't wait to find some farmland to detect on as all my detecting has just been around my local area. Did have a go on a local beach, but as it was packed I only did a little area, only found a couple of modern coins but will certainly give it a good go in the winter months.

Anyways, there you have it, in my opinion the Ace 250 is not a toy, its a proper metal detector and I feel very confident, if its there, the Ace will find it.
Good Luck, Janman.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

36133

Above Average

April 16, 2012
Like all Garrett Products, this is a super USA-made all purpose metal detector. It all depends on what you plan to do with it. If you are a metal detector pro, yea, you might want to spend 600+ for a GTP1350 or other brand. The Ace 250 is a perfect all-purpose detector for any Joe in the USA.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

76138

Garrett Ace 250

March 31, 2012
I bought it last week
After seeing the great reviews that was posted about this machine

After I got it I quickly realized how great this machine really is.

Best settings for me is jewelery mode set on 2
then when I get a tick I increase the sensitivity
To MAX then pinpoint my target

Then retrieve my booty.

Today I went out with my wife to a park near me and found over 30 dollars in silver 2 rings
And 51 pennies all I can say if you want to be a good hunter take my tip of advice I have used many other medal detectors and I am simply in love I have ordered 3 more of the 250 so that me my wife and kids all have a fair advantage lol like I did today.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

56137

Better to spend a few bucks more

March 18, 2012
Been detecting for 30 years and have 6 detectors and have had 23 detectors over the years.
The 250 is a cute toy, great for kids, but my Tesoro silver umax and Fisher 1236x runs circles around the 250, in overall performance.
The readings on the display are not accurate, but just frills to sell this detector.

Overall Rating 2 stars

16348

I Love This Machine

February 25, 2012
I am constantly amazed at some of the reviews I read for this machine. Sure the machine is not perfect. I am not sure there is any machine out there that really is. I know I have tried many of them (Bounty Hunter Quick Draw and EX, Tesoro uMax and Cibola, Whites Prizm IV and Classic ID, Garrett GTAx 350, 400, and GTI 2500, Teknetics Delta 400, and Fishers F2. ) The thing is that every time I went detecting I picked up the ACE 250. I sold all the other machines except the Whites Classic ID. I also sold the Garrett GTI 2500. I do have a Garrett Sea Hunter as a water machine.

In the 3 seasons I have been detecting the ACE 250 has given me $1100. 00 dollars in clad (I bank all my clad. ) I am working on case number 6 of silver and gold jewelry. I have found several silver coins. All of this is within about a 20 miles radius of my home in the city. I have yet to hit any really good old sites that have not been picked over by other detectorists. I think that is pretty darn good for a machine that some people rate as a piece of junk.

Dig those nickel signals if you want gold. Everyone that detects knows you need to dig low tones to find gold. One of the issues with the ACE 250 is that is loves iron. Even when iron is excluded. It will give a high tone signal on the initial reading if there is large deep iron. I know and accept this. I used the small sniper coil my whole first season (due to shoulder surgery) and I found GREAT stuff with it. Slower going with less depth (about 4 inches) but it works great. Now I use the 9 by 12 coil (6-8 inches or more based on target size. ) Pinpoint is slightly off but I have a Sun Ray pinpointer which is great.

The machine is very sensitive and I run my sensitivity on only 3-4 bars. Durability is second to none. I had an issue with another Garrett machine (not the ACE) and Garrett service was GREAT. Well that is my experience with the ACE 250. No, I have not affiliated with Garrett or a seller. I am speaking only as a user.
I love this machine!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

161132

Garrett ace 250 trouble

February 19, 2012
I spent the past week digging up every coin within 4 or 5 inches deep around my house. I have the garrett ace 250 with the standard coil and it seems that I can't really go any deeper than that. I have played with the sensitivity and learned to pinpoint pretty accurately, and even tried to tape the coil wire vertically around the first shaft then coil it around the second shaft but i'm still having problems.

Today I tried to do a test. I put a 1964 silver quarter in the ground 6 inches deep then did a scan over it. In the lower sensitivity bars it didn't pick it up, then around the 4 or 5 bar range it would bounce from iron to like a dime on the meter. On any sensitivity level it did not read an exact quarter.

It seems that if a good find is hiding 6 inches deep and bounces from iron to silver I need to pretty much dig up on every hit I get on this machine.

Please help. Should I buy the dd coil for this machine or just prepare to dig alot of iron readings and find silver instead?

Overall Rating 4 stars

38135

Great detector

February 16, 2012
I would like to say my ace 250 metal detector is the best detector for it's price on the market. I have owned this detector for about two years and have found rings, watches, and coins. I have followed people with other detectors and have found coins behind them.
Great detector and when this one fails I will buy another ace 250.
Thanks garret for a great detector.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

49141

Stringing the cable the right way!!!

February 05, 2012
I've had my Garrett Ace 250 for about a month now and frankly I was having some serious thoughts about the quality of this machine, especially after having hunted at the beach and getting a lot of sporadic signals. I've found some coins but they have been far and few.
Well, I found this site and another one called "Ace 250 tips and tricks" and took the advice of stringing the coil cable vertically along the lower shaft tightly with tape ,then coiling it around the upper one.WOW! what a difference. Now the unit is ever so quiet and much more accurate, especially, on more shallow targets. I just want to thank those who have put this vital information out to others so that they also can benefit and get the most out of their machine. I haven't tried reversing the coil 180, as some have suggested because it seems like it's fine just as is.
Also I still need to try it out again on the mountain where we live where the soil is full of clay. Prior to this I was getting a lot of mixed signals up there. I'm thinking it will do better this time.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

78151

250 Garrett

February 03, 2012
I have been hunting,{detecting}, for over 40 years using a Fisher CZ 5, which is a great detector. My daughter wanted a detector, because she used to hunt with me, so after checking the new detectors I decided to get her a new Garrett 250, after it arrive I have been playing with it, with help from many forums and now have it pretty well captured. Am sure it will be good for here and her young son. I have used it twice and what it does from that small package is great. No big finds, but it is still cold here and frozen ground, seem like a winner to me...

Overall Rating 5 stars!

17123

I like it

January 15, 2012
I purchased this as my first metal detector.
It paid for itself after the first time out when I found a gold medallion.
It is excellent for coins.
I usually run mine on jewelry mode (lookin for more gold).

Overall Rating 5 stars!

32138

Submit your review for Garrett Ace 250

Submit your tip for Garrett Ace 250