Garrett Ace 250

Price: $250
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.20
Based on 258 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.06
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!4.56
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Garrett Ace 250

Compare to ▼
Fisher F22 $230
Whites TreasureMaster $299
Minelab GO-FIND 40 $230
Minelab GO-FIND 60 $310
Bounty Hunter Quick Draw Pro $299
Bounty Hunter Lone Star Pro $199

The Ace 250

November 02, 2010
Hi! I just bought my 3rd metal detector, the Garrett Ace 250. This detector has an "8 inch coil, but I have heard it can go even deeper. The pinpointing works okay, you just need to get use to it for a while. I let my grandma use this detector, she told me there was nothing in the country land, but she proceded to find a Mecca Golden Egg, some old dimes, some old nails, old beer bottle and Coca-Cola bottle lids, and a half-dollar coin. This is a pretty good Metal Detector for the price. The best places to go Treasure Hunting are beaches, parks, and old places. Good Luck!

Overall Rating 4 stars

18122

Not a good machine for finding canadian coins

November 01, 2010
I have benched tested the machine for Canadian coins and it doesn't I.D. them as the machine is set up for u.s. coins. I should have gotten the fisher 75 as it gives you a number for what it scans. The 250 you have to dig everything, so you waist tons of time dinging garbage. So the 250 is no good for Canada.

Overall Rating 1 star

12125

This works for me

October 23, 2010
I found it hard leaving my Descovery 1000 from Radio Shack. Though I did select the 'coin' mode on my Garrett 250 I found myself moving back to my old detector. My final soution was to go to 'custom' and only select nichol, penny, dime and quarter and then bench tested the machine with everything. The results were BETTER THAN EXPECTED! Detected all four coins and still got good readings on: sterling silver, 10k and 14k gold and ear rings. Still reads tops from soda cans and some kids rings. Using the standard coin setting is just to broad and leads to wasted digging. Next is better pin pointing.

Overall Rating 4 stars

24110

BEST FOR THE MONEY

October 20, 2010
If any of your readers are having problems with the Ace 250 here is a little tip that will help a lot. Always give this machine time to work properly by swinging it several times in different directions over the target and do not be afraid to use the discrimination at a higher setting because you do not lose very much depth.
Also I like to run it in the all metal mode and listen to the tone ID for greater accuracy. I have found as many nice things with the ACE 250 as I have with detectors costing 3 times the money! HOPE THIS helps.

Overall Rating 4 stars

44117

Not that good

October 06, 2010
I wonder if garrett workers are the ones giving these good reviews. As I am new to this sport and so far when the 250 says its coins i dig up just junk. I have found one dime and three pennies with about four hours of looking, the pointer that I paid 25.00 only works when if touches the metal. I don't really think the 250 is any better than my old whites 3. I wish someone would tell the truth about the 250 in these reviews.

Overall Rating 2 stars

13341

For the price it can't be beat

October 03, 2010
For the price this machine cannot be beaten. It's very easy to use, batteries last a long time, and basically you can just turn this machine on and your detecting.

I admit, I haven't found treasure worth millions yet, but I have made a few decent finds. I needed a detector that can be easily taken apart because I put mine in a holdal bag, so it travels in bits, goes detecting, and then gets put back into the bag broken down. It handles that well, and I'm not exactly light handed either. It's took a few knocks here and there but still works perfectly.

All in all a very good detector. Ive read many people complain about the pinpoint feature, but I have found the pinpoint works perfectly.
http://ground-detector.blogspot.com/

Overall Rating 5 stars!

31124

Awesome detector

September 25, 2010
Just received my ace 250 detector and love it. Had to get used to it for a couple of days but it is the best detector ever. First it is easy to use I don't need a bunch of settings to mess with you just turn it on and away you go. Make sure you watch the video that comes with it its very helpful info. But Garrett makes the finest detectors made today in this persons opinion, I am sure others will disagree but this is my opinion. Sure theres minelab and whites and others but this unit suits me fine. And you can add other coils to the unit if you want to dig deeper. Me I am satisfied with what I have now. So if you want a good unit that wont break the bank get the Garrett Ace 250 its awesome.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

21143

Not reading the manual = bad results

September 03, 2010
Garrett have spent years and years perfecting detectors so if anyone knows how to operate one: they do, the manual has to be read and understood before using this 250, and need I say it takes practice, you have to work the detector as the manual says, if you don't you will not work it to it's full advantage, and you will be giving a bad remark for it, give it time and practice like I have, it pays off in the end, I would opt for the extra size coil, the 9"x12" is a great investment for field and farm land, it gives slightly more depth and is better on pin pointing for beginners, the coil here in the uk sells for average £99.00, you wont be let down with these, you will if you don't read the manual..

Overall Rating 5 stars!

40110

(One Year Update) 10 X 14 Excelerator search coil

September 03, 2010
I have been using the Ace 250 for a year now with good results. I posted a review (Dr.Bellows Aug 29 2009). PS (My buddy gave the 2 NO's, when I showed him the review). I still think its a great detector for the money. I mostly relic hunt and wanted to cover more area at greater depth. I purchased the 10x14 Excelerator search coil. I did a test garden and was getting 3 to 4 more inches on all coins. I think it took my entry level machine to the next level. Thanks,God Bless

Overall Rating 5 stars!

37115

Excellent value

August 19, 2010
This Ace 250 is a very good buy and a really good machine as well. I am enjoying learning it and have found lots of clad coins in addition to all the usual other stuff.
If it had a backlight for the display and a volume control I would give it 5 stars. I bought some cheap headphones that have a volume control so that took care of one minor problem. At some point I will try to figure out how to illuminate the display so I can night hunt.
The Ace 250 is easy to use, lightweight, and as accurate as other units that cost more--in some cases a LOT MORE. What more could you want?

Overall Rating 4 stars

35125

Submit your review for Garrett Ace 250

Submit your tip for Garrett Ace 250