Fisher F-75

Fisher F-75 Price: $1000
Avg. Score: 4 stars 3.98
Based on 93 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!4.92
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.46
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Fisher F-75

Compare to ▼
Fisher F-19 $800
Blisstool LTC64X v3 $1000
Teknetics G2 $750
Whites Spectra VX3 $1200
Minelab Xterra 705 $900
Minelab Safari $1000

Reviewed the f75 in 2009

April 25, 2017
Hi Jeb here from N Wales UK. I reviewed the F75 in Jan 10th 2009 on here, and just to let you know I m still using an F75, although I did go out and get the latest F75 SE with DST when it came out. But the F75 is such a good detector that it certainly is worth keeping hold of just in case the doubters waver. (haven't filled in the depth on a US quarter as I live in the UK)

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
31

Great machine hands down

April 10, 2016
Ok, so I've been using this machine for about 2 years and it seems like I'm always learning something new. Today, after using it in monotone for I don't know how long, I switched to 2 tone and voila! What a difference! I've found more coins in one day than I have the last month, due to the fact that the two tone makes a distinct solid swooping sound when the coil is over a coin. BTW, this lets me concentrate more on the sound than the VDI numbers although when it does make that sound, then I'll verify it with the VDI. This saves me a lot of time and guesswork. I know, there is still a lot more to learn with such a fine machine, but I'm getting there.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
118

Great detector

December 24, 2015
Let me start with I always give a honest review I have no brand loyalty, let's start great all rounder super balance, my mate found loads with his f 75, so I took the plunge, show me a detector with no emi problems, the f75 runs on high gain at over 29 I can run high but also go as low as one, still gets good depth. Been detecting for 30 years and understand what gain threshold sensitivity disc does, get to grips with basic understanding of the hobbie it is not easy takes a life time, rant over back to f75 fantastic great recovery, monster depth, fun to use, is it the best one of it goes in my top 5, I live in the UK and yes it holds its ground against the xps deus now that's a great compliment. I have been privileged to use whites, XP, tesoro, cscope, redheat, trust me the 75 is as good as it gets.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
218

Not idiot proof-worth learning

October 06, 2015
I picked up my F75 ltd 2 this past August. I thought I was fully prepared for the challenge after reading dozens of articles about it and watching numerous youtube vids as well. I was not prepared at all! This machine is complex and hard to learn. It's hard work. Having said this, I can now say, that once you put in the time and effort to learn the ins-and-outs of the F75...You will be rewarded greatly. It is like a top notch surgeon's scalpel. In the hands of an accomplished and dedicated student this machine can extract finds in places other machines have passed over empty handed. The upgrade has eliminated the chatter and given some useful additions to the options menu. It is a full arsenal to bring on a hunt of any kind imaginable. I can see how many walk away from their initial tries with the F75 frustrated and upset. I went through that stage too. Then I pressed on and put the time and effort into learning the machine and it is rewarding me now every time I take it out for a hunt.

If you are looking for a turn on and go, idiot-proof machine...just pass on by the F75 and go find one of the many available out there. If you are prepared to put a lot of time and effort, both physical and mental, you will reap the rewards in quality finds.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 13 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 3 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, it's too complic
227

The best - the deepest

April 03, 2015
Hands down no question about it that the F75lte is the best machine on the market. It hits deeper than you care dig. If you like quiet - it can be. If you like the "music" - then set it. Looking for the jewels - select it. Very very difficult to master and it is not a beginner machine - way too many settings/options.

If you read a bad review the guy has only been swinging for 2 weeks and frustrated that it set him back over 1000 clams. Tons of people rave about the "E" machine - great - good on ya - out having fun digging stuff - it's a quality machine. Put up a challenge with very experienced F75 MDer against the E-Man and he won't lose. Same challenge with a "so so" MDer and F75 will lose.

Gotta spend the time to learn the machine and all the options. Drop a silver dollar in a 2ft hole - guaranteed the Fisher will see it - quarters at 15 all day long.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 16 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, it's too complic
1318

F75 awesome

March 01, 2015
I don't agree that the below post is a correct review, I live in NZ also and have a Fisher, and Garret, all depends on the soil conditions and the year of the coin, that can give different IDs, quite often a 3d or 6d and even shilling can be really low on the ID like a pull tab, some other places quite high. Comes down to the same old story, just dig everything.

Fisher F75 June 21, 2012 Let's not start to bag other MD as they all work in there own right, the F75 has issues I live in NZ, NZ silver coins sit in the 40/45 mark but the next week they will sit in the 50/55 mark, English silver sits in the 85/86 mark So this machine has issues but in saying that I seem to find the most silvers when we go hunting at night and this is between 3 to 7 on average.

Pros: light weight Easy to use Long battery live Built in light for night hunting Good depth.
Cons: unstable on coins Can't run at full sensitivity.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 12 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
87

F75 se 6 month user

January 31, 2015
I've had my F75 SE model for 6 months now and I am absolutely thrilled with it. At first, there was a learning curve that I had to endure, but now I know my machine much better and I'm able to find coins much easier.

I was using AM mode which goes very deep, however I find coins better in Disc 4 BP/ or sometimes jewelry mode. Which to me seems more accurate in identifying targets. I noticed however that it can go crazy near power lines and sometimes cellphones. The remedy there is to turn down the sensitivity. And even with a low sensitivity value, depth is not affected very much, especially in boost mode.

The only design change I would like to see is having the volume knob recessed out of the way or having some way of locking it in place. I tend to accidentally move it as I'm swinging the machine. BTW, I don't miss my Garrett Ace 250 at all!

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
134

Changed mind on negative review

July 23, 2014
I've been using my F75 SE for 3 weeks now and was frustrated at all the false ID readings that the display was showing, which prompted me to give the machine a negative review. Since then I started using a different approach and now use the "dig everything" technique. Happy to report that this works better for me and I'm not frustrated anymore.

If the f75 tells you that there is metal in the ground, it will definitely let you know. Bottom line is: even the most expensive detectors do not know exactly what is buried until it is dug up. Depth will affect ID, mixed targets affect it as well. So I've decided to dig, dig, dig. Maybe, I'll find something of real value.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
1614

Still testing the f75

July 20, 2014
I purchased my f75 SE after reading all the positive reviews. So far, after 2 weeks, still not convinced. Before using it in the field, I gb'd my backyard. Laid down different coins, bc's and pt's on top of the dirt. I wrote down the values and the Id's were spot on.
Next, I go to some local parks and I got a lot of false Id's. For example, the display will solidly read as a quarter and when I dig up the target, it's a coke can and sometimes a bc. It's wearing me out. Wish I could say positive things, but so far I could only speak the truth.

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 1 star
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
1626

F75 se

October 29, 2013
One of the Best out there. You have to learn to use it right. Have the 5" coil and the Nel Hunter grt a Quarte at 16".

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 16 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
817

Submit your review for Fisher F-75

Submit your tip for Fisher F-75