Fisher F-75

Price: $1000
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.00
Based on 95 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!4.93
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.47
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Fisher F-75

Compare to ▼
Fisher F-19 $800
Blisstool LTC64X v3 $1000
Whites Spectra VX3 $1200
Teknetics G2 $750
Minelab Xterra 705 $900
Minelab Safari $1000

Still testing the f75

July 20, 2014
I purchased my f75 SE after reading all the positive reviews. So far, after 2 weeks, still not convinced. Before using it in the field, I gb'd my backyard. Laid down different coins, bc's and pt's on top of the dirt. I wrote down the values and the Id's were spot on.
Next, I go to some local parks and I got a lot of false Id's. For example, the display will solidly read as a quarter and when I dig up the target, it's a coke can and sometimes a bc. It's wearing me out. Wish I could say positive things, but so far I could only speak the truth.

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 1 star
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
1730

F75 se

October 29, 2013
One of the Best out there. You have to learn to use it right. Have the 5" coil and the Nel Hunter grt a Quarte at 16".

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 16 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
1018

Great machine! go buy one!

September 04, 2013
I love this thing! It loves metal! All of it! I run in all metal mode, which seems to be more sensitive. Then I discriminate by looking at the signal Number's. If it stays low then it's iron. If the numbers bounce around then it's trash! Simple, right! Duh! :)
I also love the pinpoint feature! Easy to learn. Just pull the trigger and chase the high tone. You want to find the steady squeal tone. Then go to town diggin'.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
1912

Very happy camper.

July 20, 2013
F75 is a lightweight, swing anywhere all day detector. My F75 loves dimes, and I can pull silver coins all day in the park.
It took a little while to find the sweet spots in the F75, with over 500 different settings, the possibilities are endless. I like to run the F75 noisy, but the 5 inch coil runs so quiet you think the machine is broke.
You don't loose any depth with the 5" coil. While the VDI has lots of info, and helps with targets. You just need the 3 tone and listen for the high tones. Of course some of your jewelry will come in the foil and pull tab range.

I have tortured this machine, but found most problems can be overcome like EMI. Depth is not a problem, but this is really just a good machine with a lot of options. Some detectors will do some things better. But most will not do all the F75 does.I had one bad day with F75. The day I called to have it sent in for a tune up and screen replacement.

Once you buy this detector, you are on your own. First Texas just blows on the support after the sale. With all the good things about this detector. This will be my last F75.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 16 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
177

Fisher f75 ltd

March 30, 2013
If Eric Clapton was a metal detectorist theres a good chance he would use the f75 this is a serious machine. I have been using the f75 first edition and the boost and cache both for the last 2 years and found bronze age axe, hammers medieval gold stirrup rings 1400 century fede rings numerous hammered coins Roman fibulas Saxon brooches you name it this machine finds it.

The lightweight and balance makes easy work of a long days detecting, I set discrimination to no.4 then switch over to all metal in boost I ground balance at least every ten minutes as every meter of ground can be different, its easy to want to rush around but don't take it easy slow down [slowly slowly catch a monkey] I'll start sensitivity at around 70 and depending on the ground condition I'll push it up to 85-90 then back down.

Listen to the detector if its a bit noisy back off, most finds are normally 2"-6" and if there to deep the next years ploughing will bring them up.
An example, we did a field last year with the club after 3 digs you would have thought that the field was empty then a year later we came back and over 30 finds were found medieval coins [15], matrix seal, bronze hammer tokens etc.

To me the hobby is a life long hobby you will always miss good finds in our club with have a mixture of etracs and f75s and on the whole we all have our day, the difference is so small depending on weather, electrical interference, sweeping speed types of soil, tiredness all detectors at the top end are all as good as each other [the more you sweep the more you reap] dig everything?

If you expect to buy a detector and get rich over night this is not the hobby for you, since taking up the hobby the riches I have found is in the friendships and the historical knowledge I have found with are club and the members in it.
Happy hunting

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
244

F75 - Don't buy it. More treasures for me.

December 31, 2012
Thank you. Now that I have your attention, I give you this:

New to the hobby? Pass on the F75. Buy a Prizm and then upgrade from there if the hobby is for you.

Been digging holes for a few years? Buy an F75 and don't look back.

Is it a chatterbox? Hands down yes. A fellow TH'er I have encountered calls this "music", and he is spot on. Learn to communicate with your F75 and you will be rewarded, Ag variety. The tics, blips and taps all mean something. Operate slowly and recheck if necessary until you learn what your machine is telling you. You will soon learn the language of the F75 and know when to stop and dig. And boy will you dig. I have also heard someone referring to this machine as being called "surgical". Truth.

Fisher needs a new slogan: Get Elbow Deep

Plasticy? Hands down yes. Doesn't mean it's cheaply made, and this was done with your comfort in mind! Don't leave your machine in extreme heat and don't drop it or toss it around. Treat it like you would any of your other electronics. Hell, it's even got a 5yr warranty if you decide to hit softballs with it. If you don't buy the machine because you hear the 'build quality is poor' then you should have your head examined.

F75 VS F75LTD you say? Is the $200+ more worth it you ask?

Here are the simple questions/answers:

Q: What is a 1793 chain cent with VF details worth at 12" when the F75 WITHOUT BOOST PERFORMANCE doesn't detect it?

Q: What is a 1793 chain cent with VF details worth at 12" when the F75 LTD running BOOST PERFORMANCE detects it?

A: About $15,000 in both cases. One ends up in your pocket.

If you have $700 to throw at a metal detector, then you have $900 you could throw at it too.. . Do yourself the favor.


That's my nutshell. Sorry if you were looking for a technical review. It's awesome to me that people either love this machine or hate it. There's no middle ground.

You either know how to use it, or you don't.

And with this silly review, the machine nets 5 stars from me.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

2914

Vital update on fisher f75

December 30, 2012
I reached someone who hated the Fisher F75. He gave it one star because of all the noise it made.

It turned out he unknowingly had the machine set to "all metals" mode. Even I have to admit that iron mode takes a profoundly experienced detectorist -- one geared to reading the machine's meter first and foremost, not its tone.

I then realized that mode mistake might very well be the problem with many folks who can't stand this incredible detector.

For decent instructions on changing settings, go to Youtube under "Fisher F75" and look for three-part instruction video.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

117

Killing it with F75

December 29, 2012
I have to chuckle over the huge discrepancy between those lovin' the Fisher F75 and those hating it.

For those giving it One Star, thanks for scaring some folks away from buying arguably the deepest seeking detector out there. More for me to find.

Not only do I give the F75 the highest star rating but I balk at the greatest criticism: its "noise".

This machine's chatter is, in many ways, its greatest attribute. It's music after you've mastered the F75 to where you can crank it up to 99 sensitivity and home in on prime objects missed by other detectors. I can hear other F75 fans nodding their heads in agreement.

Sidebar: Yesterday I hunted a Federal Period site (NJ), using the machine's factory loop. I have worked this prime location more times than I can count. My last couple digs there fostered maybe two or three period items -- for a load of time put in. This go, I hunted 90 minutes with a new F75 and dug 21 items, including what might be one of the first US (official) naval buttons. And I barely scratched the surface -- pun intended. I'm heading back tomorrow.

It astounds me the way this machine can hear through the iron and so easily pick up hard metal (good) readings, differentiated by tones.

I'll be the first to admit that hunting the F75 full-bore entails listening through a lot of music (noise). HOWEVER, it is so dang easy to hear a good signal amid the ironiness. I have found buttons no bigger than shotgun pellets that sounded off like half cents, I kid you not. If you don't think small is good, think in terms of half-dimes, one reale pieces, dimes or the likes of Jacksonian buttons.

There's surely an F75 learning curve but it's not steep. In fact, practicing in a controlled environmental, i. e. the backyard, is all the schooling needed. Admittedly, just walking onto some high-FE (iron) site, throwing the machine into high-sensitivity gear and trying to learn the machine is highly inadvisable.

I have to think a goodly number of one-star folks simply didn't learn, first and foremost, how to properly -- and masterfully -- tune this delicate machine.

I'll now note that the F75 can be run quietly, comfortably and profitably with "factory settings. "

No disrespect to the factory, but that's a true injustice to the machine's potential. To see that, practice with buried backyard objects, working away from factory settings. Marvel at enhanced hunting gained by increasing sensitivity and downing discriminate.

I'm purposely skipping the "all metals" method of hunting with an F75. It, indeed, requires a serious mastery of metal detecting. For now, we'll leave that mode as an inside secret.

(By the by, that naval button has yet to be identified, even by the pros. I was offered 100 bucks for it. )

Overall Rating 5 stars!

166

F75 is all you need.

September 29, 2012
I have been using the F75 for a year now and I can't fault it, well balanced, super deep, cool backlight for night time hunting, ground balancing on the fly and bulls eye pin pointing. Anyone who says it's noisy either hasn't gb'd properly or doesn't know how to discriminate in trashy areas. Not 1 metre of ground is the same so you must adjust accordingly and level out vdi numbers (that can jump about) before you dig. Not for beginners and definitely not for hashers and bashers the F75 is all you need for the goodies.
Check out my 3000 year old bronze age spearhead found 10 inches down by my F75.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

154

F75 sp. edition

July 16, 2012
I have read a lot of these reviews and noticed the negative reviews do not help but the positive reviews do help. looks like people don't want to accept the bad reviews.

I have been detecting 46 years and have little trouble adapting to a new machine, the f75 included. This is a powerful machine and I used it a lot,mainly because it was balanced so well and light weight. However I needed to sell a detector and it was the first one I grabbed to put on ebay.
I am not going to say the model or coil but I have a tesoro that would air and ground test basically the same as the f75 sp. ed. but with much less noisy operation.
If the detector is no stronger, why put up with the noise.

I probably lean slightly to the negative side concerning this detector but am actually considering buying another one, primarily because of the ergonomics. The biggest negative on this machine[my opinion] is the overall construction. I'm not sure it could hold up back in the 70's when I hunt most every day.

I once got so mad at a coinmaster 5000 due to receiving radio stations I threw it down the side of a mountain as far as I could. Sat down a few minutes, walked down to pick up my detector, next signal a u. s. plate. I do not believe a f75 would hold up under extreme use in rough terrain and it should at that price. That coinmaster probably still works today.

Overall Rating 3 stars

1716

Submit your review for Fisher F-75

Submit your tip for Fisher F-75