Garrett GTI 2500

Price: $1000
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.05
Based on 88 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!4.60
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.33
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Garrett GTI  2500

Compare to ▼
Fisher F-19 $800
Blisstool LTC64X v3 $1000
Teknetics G2 $750
Whites Spectra VX3 $1200
Minelab Xterra 705 $900
Whites Spectra V3 and V3i $1500

Garrett gti 2500 metal detector

March 11, 2015
I have read some reviews and am amazed at people who think it's an outdated machine. It is full to the brim with micro processors, so unless a ufo has crashed somewhere and some new technologies stolen from it there are no new types of chips or processors. So how can it be outdated. My friend has a minelab, and the pinpointing is crap, he asked me to go over it so it doesn't end up in the side of the hole. Also the gti goes deeper and I would recommend this detector to anyone. Ten stars!

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 11 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
227

Just need to practice

February 05, 2015
I just got mine for Christmas. Two friends of mine owned one. Made me want one after I saw what it could do. Although I haven't taken it out of the yard yet, I believe it does a very good job. If it's trash or not part of the discrimination setting you have it on it will jump around. But if it hits what your looking for it will let you know. I just think that with some more practice and getting to know it better will yield better results.

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 3 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, it's too complic
1511

Heavy and outdatetd

January 05, 2015
It is heavy to hold, it is outdated - obsolete... I owned many Garrett models but 2500gti is the worst I had. NOTICE only original coils will work on this model! Stay away from NEL coils even tho it has a sticker "GTI technology". Or better stay away from the model itself...

Overall Rating 3 stars
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 3 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, it's too complic
832

Gti 2500

July 31, 2013
The gti 2500 is over rated I use a minelab safari and the gti 2500 and after going over the area with the gti I went back over it with the minelab and the gti missed so many hits that I believe anyone that would buy this unit is getting ripped off bad the gti is worthless, in my opinion any metal detector that misses quarters and a lot of them at 4 to 6 inches deep consistently is junk!

But keep buying these, the more people that use these the more I will clean house when you’re done!! Any metal detector that cost 1000.00 or better should not miss much at all. I think the biggest problem with the gti is that it can only focus on one target at a time and does not see any others. Buy a minelab if you want success in this hobby minelab’s 28 frequencies allows you to pick up multiple targets at the same time and deep!!
Gti 2500 can’t do this no other detectors can minelab is where it is at if your serious and want to dominate the hobby get one !! Gti do your homework your machine is junk!!!

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 3 stars
Ease of Use 3 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
963

4 and a half thumbs up

June 28, 2013
The 2500 is an exceptional detector and everything that you would expect from a top of the line detector and unlike the other reviews that could not get more than 6 in I turned my 2500 on first before I started the test, I have tested this detector against 7 other top of the line detectors and it does go deeper in all metal mode and deeper than the AT pro and AT Gold when using the same DD coil.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 18 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
2813

Works great for me

March 27, 2013
I've had my 2500 for a couple of years. Haven't used it enough to become proficient at it. It is a little complicated but with a little practice I figured out what setting I needed to use for what I was looking for and after that I have found literally thousands of dollars of stuff.

I don't understand all the complaints about weight, I'm a small person and it hasn't bothered me, also, the battery pack is detachable for mounting on your belt. Which I've never done, too big of a pain when setting the detector down to dig.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

256

Three thumbs ups

October 22, 2012
I was reading some of the other reviews about the 2500 false signals, I thought I had the same problem so I attached a rare earth magnet to my digging tool and found the source of my false signals very small pieces of rusted iron that register as a good coin target, this is common to all brands of detectors, rusty nails and iron confuse them all, including P. I. Detectors, the GTI 2500 is doing a much better job than I had originally anticipated.

In the coin mode it still hits very small tacks, galvanized nails, and an odd assortment of rusty iron targets, something to be aware of when hunting, it is not falsing it is working exceptionally well, I am still amazed with the performance, I hit a target at 7 inches yesterday at the river, it took me a few minutes to find it, a small piece of boot tack an inch long, this was in mineralized soil using the new 8. 5X 11 DD coil, my imaging coils also work the same.

This guy does not miss a thing, still an extremely powerful detector and worth the price for a pro piece of equipment, the 2500 does have its detractors but you have to know how to operate it before you criticize a unit this impressive, still a 10 star detector.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

346

Heavyyyyy

September 26, 2012
Just a short review on the GTI 2500.
Excellent machine, but way too heavy.
Worth the bucks, but after some minutes u cant feel ur arms.
If you want arms like Schwarzenegger the 2500 is the machine for you.
But if you love this hobby, and wanna go on for hours, go for the AT Pro/Gold.

Overall Rating 3 stars

1216

A 10 stars ++ green machine

August 05, 2012
I have owned the 2500 for some time now and I for one am very impressed with its performance, I was reading about the other reviews that the operator could not detect a coin deeper than 5-6 inches that is because your machine was set up incorrectly, if you use it in the coin only mode most metals are nulled out but look for coins in the relic mode and you will find some very deep targets, and you can set this machine up to do just about anything in metal detecting, yes you can prospect with this unit it does find gold nuggets and iron and hot rocks.

I initially thought this unit was an overpriced piece of junk the first week I owned it, until I started to reread the instruction book and work with all the different functions, that is the deal with this detector you need to experiment with the features this guy has adjustable frequency most units do not, and a lot of different coil options, in all metal this detector still goes deeper than just about every detector out there including the Whites DFX.

It is a turn on and go machine but also you can do a lot of tweaking to achieve the results you are looking for, this is my goto detector out of the 8 that I own, if you are not finding targets your machine needs to be setup for the ground you are working, the 2500 has a ton of features that no other detectors have and is an extremely powerful machine a 10++ stars from me!!!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

449

Commander

July 28, 2012
I have owned this GTI for about 4 years now Garrett was having some problems with there quality control at that time, but after they repaired my GTI 2500 correctly it has not stopped amazing me with its ability to find targets at extreme depths both large and small.

At first I thought this GTI was a pile of steaming trash, but after using it and the different coils it does work quite well it picked a gold target my all gold Minelab unit would not even respond to and tested it for depth against 6 other top of the line detectors and my GTI 2500 was the deepest that was a total surprise to me and it does find gold nuggets, and the Green Machine is only heavy if your a wimp!!! I would give this sucker a 10 star rating but the scale only goes to 5.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

339

Submit your review for Garrett GTI  2500

Submit your tip for Garrett GTI  2500