Garrett GTI 2500

Price: $1000
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.05
Based on 88 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!4.60
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.33
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Garrett GTI  2500

Compare to ▼
Fisher F-19 $800
Blisstool LTC64X v3 $1000
Teknetics G2 $750
Whites Spectra VX3 $1200
Minelab Xterra 705 $900
Whites Spectra V3 and V3i $1500

Review; Pro's and con's

May 31, 2008
Having used the GTI 2500 for a year here are some thoughts:

Pros:
Good depth (yeah coins at 8" is nice..)
Fair battery life

Sizing is nice
(helps the newbie, can use pinpoint to "size" a target as well)

Big LCD screen (helps those who have poor sight)
Good pinpoint

Con's:
Heavy

Over priced (yes, really only basic adjustments)

Sound "quality" is bad
(sounds are almost the same)

The headphones that come with sucks

Discrimination is not good for Europe/Sweden
(only practical for USA/North America??)

Coils are heavy.(9.5" and 12.5", epoxy filled?)

Note: it is more suited as a relic machine as it SUCKS for coins.
(you almost have to dig everything)


Overall Rating 2 stars

17670

8 stars

May 11, 2008
Garret makes great detectors the GTI 2500 is one of the best you can buy, with tons of features that other machines simply do not have!!! So what if it is a little heavy it is very well built, and works a lot better than other VLF units. I love this machine, when and if this guy ever breaks down I will be buying another one, I am very glad that Garret is in business.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

4811

I will be needing more display cases for relics and coins

April 19, 2008
Owned it for two weeks now. This is an awesome detector. Maybe a little tough for beginners but so are most detectors, My first day I was skeptical when I first tried it. After about 4 trips and a lot of backyard digging I knew Garret would never fail me. My last trip yielded 3 mercurys, a 1952 roosevelt. 5 wheats and a 1930s Chevrolet pinback badge. All from a well hunted field where an old putt putt course was, Ive always thought very well of my bounty hunter but I think I might better take the batteries out of it, If you know how to metal detect I think you will like this machine. Ive only got about 3 years experience and still have a lot to learn. However I know that metal detectors dont see under the ground. You have to do that part,

Overall Rating 5 stars!

406

Its not heavy try this

March 11, 2008
Your gti 2500 you can put the battery case on your belt thin make your self a strap to go around your neck down to your detector to help take the load off your arm. Now when your searching in water you won't drop it in the water. I have found all kinds of stuff around boat docks, yes it was heavy but not now. Try this you will love it. I still say the GTI is the best of all detectors. Good luck remember fill all holes that you dig, thanks Dan

Overall Rating 5 stars!

149

I have had mine since 1999..I sent it in for a chip upgrade

March 05, 2008
and Garrett even threw in a new coil at no extra charge. WOW! I have used mine for years now and have no problem recommending it to any one! Coinshooter to relic hunter, you will not be disappointed. Just take the time to learn the machine....Here is my web site to check out my finds....all were found in Georgia with either the Garrett Groundhog, my first detector, or the GTi 2500 I have had since 1999. The site lists the "keeper" stuff, the modern money I spend.

I have the confidence that if the target is in the ground and I walk over it, I will recover it. Can't beat that!

Check out my coin finds, and while you're there feel free to check out the buttons, buckles and other finds...

http://public.fotki.com/millenniumdawg/metal_detector_finds/

Overall Rating 5 stars!

435

Know how to use it befor you down it

February 27, 2008
When you make a garden to try your detector, let it be for a year so the ground packs around your coins and things you buried. Coins freshly buried are hard to detect because of that reason, not packed.

I love my gti 2500, its the best out there. A lot of people don't read the book on how to use it I did 20 times and every time I learn more. I found lots of stuff like 18,000 in a can at 24 inches. Good luck, remember think like you hid the loot than you will find the loot, one more thing fill those holes back up.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

168

A great MD

February 23, 2008
At first I was completely disapointed with the device. But it was my frist, I was completely new to Metal Detecting and I had the strange idea that the Metal Detectors where some magical devices that pull silver and gold out of the ground... I threw it away for some time, but after surfing some forums, I started to learn useful techniques and being educated on this great hobby... now, I am extremely happy with my detector, I am very used to it and I just can't think about other device.

Pro's
- Awesome pinpointing capabilities
- Fair discriminator
- Great customization
- Using AA batteries is the best for me
- Good depth (I have dug coins down to 10")
- Long battery life
- Salt elimination works excelent on the beach

Con's
- All metal mode is extremely tricky, especially in high mineralized grounds
- Sensitivity above 7 turns the device into a pinball machine, al beeps and bells.
- Surface elimination is a plain lie

Hope this help someone to make up his mind ;)

Overall Rating 5 stars!

216

GREAT ---- ONE OF THE BEST !

February 20, 2008
JW ... I don't understand that review . Our local hunter club tested the gti2500 and the 550gtax among others and the 550GTAX can never compare ! In fact the GTI 2500 did as well or better than units $300.00 - $700.00 more !!!!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1313

Powerful detector

August 21, 2007
This detector has awesome power in all metal mode. Is very deep. I just got it upgraded with a better mineraization chip from Garrett and performs even better now here in Ga. which has very hot ground. I use it for prospecting, relic and coin hunting, it does it all. Disrimination is not as deep as all metal as is same for all machines, but is deep and sensitive enough to find many coins and relics in all type of earth. I would highly recommend this unit. I was detecting with a guy that had a minelab explorer and mine was every bit as deep as his and i'd items faster than his. Also am using it with a 12.5 inch coil for relic hunting and is almost too deep cause I am digging some deep holes to get to some of these civil war items. But is worth it!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

2710

Good Choice!!

July 17, 2007
Tried to decide between a Whites DFX or Garrett 2500. Picked the 2500 and have been happy with My choice. What other detectors show target size imaging?? -- only Garretts! Imaging seems accurate to 6"-- depending on soil can image deeper. All metal mode is not only deep but target ID's also!! This is a fun detector to use-- although heavy, I have swung it for many hours without tiring out. As with all detectors-- this one might not be the right choice for every circumstance. So far its done everything I've needed it to do!!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

195

Submit your review for Garrett GTI  2500

Submit your tip for Garrett GTI  2500