Garrett Ace 250

Price: $250
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.20
Based on 258 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.06
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!4.56
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Garrett Ace 250

Compare to ▼
Fisher F22 $230
Whites TreasureMaster $299
Minelab GO-FIND 40 $230
Minelab GO-FIND 60 $310
Bounty Hunter Quick Draw Pro $299
Bounty Hunter Lone Star Pro $199

Well...here it is...

January 15, 2013
Ok.. . I started with a bounty hunter 202 a couple years ago and after 2 years moved up to the ace 250. I have more depth with it which is the only positive on this machine in my opinion. I have a large coil and a smaller coil for it, I can pinpoint fine with the small coil and after a couple years have stopped using the large coil, too many big holes. As for my old 202, it can find targets quicker, the ace Target response is rather slow, but as I said its a bit deeper.

Overall Rating 3 stars

911

Buyer beware

November 30, 2012
The Ace 250 and 150 are appealing to the buyer that wants a good mid-range detector without the high price of the high end models. My frustration with these comes from the many false positive readings you get with them. Many times you end up with a large hole and nothing to show for it. When I go over the same area with my cheap Bounty Hunter I find things that these units have missed. I ended up finding a used Fisher 3d 3Z at about the same price as a Ace 250 and am very pleased with the Fisher.

Overall Rating 2 stars

288

Ace 250

November 14, 2012
I only paid 75 pounds for my ace 250 could not wait to get it.
I had it for 2 weeks now and been out with it about 5 times now about 4 hours each time.
I found that if its under 6in it was great but I'm going get a better coil for it. but I have found a few 17th cent coins and musket balls it is very easy to use and I don't have to dig all the time but if its over 6in and the signal jumps around dig it up. I like the ace 250 its better then a c scope I had 3 other makes and for the price it is the best. I give it a rating of 4 because you need a coil as well if you want to go deeper or keep your money and go for a minelab lol

Overall Rating 4 stars

2310

Very good value

November 02, 2012
I think with all the other reviews you should have a good idea what a great value this machine is. Its very easy to get the hang of using it. Considering the price, I'll give it 5 stars. That said, I thought I'd focus on the shortcomings, any of which could result in disappointment to someone buying one.

Saltwater beaches: I was in the UK last year and took it to a few beaches. In wet sand it was hopeless. It would sound off all the time, even with reduced sensitivity settings. On dry sand it was fine but I found the sensitivity to all but larger junk items to be weak. On a coral beach it worked great, except one again in the saltwater. Maximum depth for coins: The maximum realistic depth in regular soil on coins is 6". That's pretty good, but that said its missing a lot of targets I feel.
The solution is to use a larger coil as the one that comes with it is 6"x9". Not really big enough for the type of holes I'm willing to dig. The problem is the larger coils are far too expensive for such a budget detector. Thus you realistically have to upgrade to a more expensive machine.

Silver dimes show as pennies: The lesson here is to dig anything that is not hard into the ferrous end of the scale. No gold: This machine has found me no gold at all. Now it could be a competence thing as it detects my wedding band as a solid pulltab signal. I gather that's not unique to this machine. Won't pinpoint on zinc: This probably not a bad thing unless dry cell batteries are something you want to dig. Happy swinging!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

713

Metal detecting for beginners

October 05, 2012
Just bought and have used a few times, for the money you can't go wrong it is easy to learn to operate and for the price it is the best one going I emailed several businesses that sold detectors and asked what metal detector they would recommend for the beginner and everyone I spoke to said the Garrett 250 would be my best choice and so far they were right.

Overall Rating 4 stars

913

No regrets with this detector

September 25, 2012
Didn't want to spend thousands to get started. Did a lot of research and bought the ACE 250. Unlike George in Fort Pierce who syas he can't find anything deeper than 3 inches, I've found items down to about 8 inches both in hard ground and on the beach. I've located coins, jewelry, metal buttons, fish hooks, lead sinkers, etc. Hoping to go to south Georgia to a civil war area and do some detecting on a friends land soon. I'd recommend the ACE 250 to anyone looking to get started in this hobby.

Overall Rating 4 stars

1711

Excellent detector

August 29, 2012
Firstly this detector is quite superb for its price. It is not anywhere near as poor as some reviewers make out. The only down side as some have already mentioned is the lack of a volume control on the detector itself this can be overcome by using head phones with a built in volume control.

This detector does require you to put in some work. you MUST do your home work and work with this machine to learn its every sound and indication. It will not be long before you have figured out what is worth digging and what is trash. Set it to all metals and initially dig everything to learn what indication and sound is given for each item. You will ultimately still dig trash that may be shown as a coin this is no hardship and doesn't happen very often. It is a sensitive beast and I love it

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1812

Great dector

August 27, 2012
I see a lot of bad reviews.
I think you should learn how to use it before you trashing the Garrett 250.
I can pinpoint something within 1 inch with my eyes closed.
It works perfectly.

The only bad thing about it is, there is no volume control.

But I use a head set with volume controls, problem solved.

I am a novice and if I can make this work anyone can so all you haters out there know what your talking about before writing a review.

Overall Rating 4 stars

3410

Poor results

August 02, 2012
Bought one, sold it. Looks nice, but poor results.

Overall Rating 1 star

8512

The cheapest detector made

July 28, 2012
Quickly after buying the Garrett ace 250, I realized I'd been taken to the cleaners. Not only does it look like the mattell toy company made it, but performs as well. The detector always gives false signals even with the discrimination turned down all the way. Do not even think of taking it anywhere near the beach. With no groung balance or volume control its basically useless.

Pinpointing is poor at best and it can't locate a target deeper than three inches. With White's, Minelab, Tersoro, Teknetic's, and Fisher producing more advanced and better detectors for the same price, you would have to be a fool to trust the anything garrett makes.

Overall Rating 1 star

13622

Submit your review for Garrett Ace 250

Submit your tip for Garrett Ace 250