Garrett AT PRO

Garrett AT PRO Price: $700
Avg. Score: 4 stars 3.92
Based on 142 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.29
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.41
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Garrett AT PRO

Compare to ▼
Garrett AT MAX $722
Fisher CZ 21 $1000
Whites Beach Hunter 300 $1000
Whites Beach Hunter ID $800
Tesoro Tiger Shark $750
Headhunter Wader $600

At pro

April 07, 2018
I like how its so so simple, once you go through the learning curve. I run it wide open, then adjust as needed. I also run it unstable then adjust as needed. I use at the beach and on land. I rate over all 8. Using at 3 years now.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
00

Great machine!!

April 02, 2018
I have had my AT Pro for almost 2 years now and I have no complaints. I have found quarters as deep as 12 inches. There have been reviews stating the AT Pro does not detect coins very deep....I don't think it's the machine but maybe the person using the machine.
If using the proper technique you WILL find coins at a deeper depth. Different type soils will detect at deeper depths. I would highly recommend this detector to those wanting a high quality machine!! Also, spend the extra money and purchase a Garrett Pro-pointer. Makes finding your items easy!!

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 12 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
00

At pro international

December 06, 2017
I just acquired an AT Pro international I have experience detecting so I went right to the pro mode. Three silver coins in four hunts so yes it works great one at 7 inches (Quarter) I have used a garrett machine before 300I and the tones are similar to the standard mode on the AT Pro so I believe this would be a great machine to start on as you can use standard mode to get the hang of it and then advance to the pro mode. Which will give you more feel for the targets for size depth just from the sounds. Plus the AT Pro is waterproof to ten feet so you have a beach machine as well.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
10

Just ok then stopped working

September 05, 2017
Had the AT pro 2 1/2 years when it just stopped detecting. They told me the circuit board was corroded. Since it never went in water (fresh or salt) and spent all of its down time indoors it makes no sense!? If it wasn't so expensive and a BD present I would not have spent almost $200 to fix and ship. Tried all settings ended up with pro coin. Found mostly surfice coins, trash at lower levels. Used stock 8x11 DD.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 3 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 1 star
Ease of Use 2 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
14

Atpro

May 25, 2017
I've had mine for 7 years now. Nope I will never sell it. Love all the audio info, yes you have to wear headphones for best results. I switched to the five by eight coil and use it the most. It really made it lighter for me. I like the fast recovery speed. I found a Barber coin spill with it at a beach with iron around! Also a Canadian silver half with trash around it. Max depth is about seven or eight inches on U.S. Quarter. But most coins are pretty shallow where I live.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
54

Wasn't impressed at first!!!

December 09, 2016
I've been detecting for over forty years, both in and out of the water, and have owned at least three dozen different detectors. When I read about the AT-PRO being good for both land and water, I thought it would be an excellent addition to my arsenal. When I first started using it, I took it out and did kind of my own field comparison against my old Whites IDX-PRO with Mr. Bill mods, and I liked my old Whites better. BUT THEN, I did more reading about, and experimenting with the double D coil, and I quickly realized that with such a narrow detection field, (like a knife blade instead of a cone shape), you have to really sloooow your sweeps down. Once I started scanning with slow sweeps I couldn't believe all of the things I started finding, even in places that I've been detecting for years.

So if you want to have good results with this detector, keep your sweeps slow, level, and slightly overlapping, and I think you'll be amazed and completely satisfied with this detector.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
217

Garrett at pro beginner

July 12, 2016
I wanted a new hobby so I did weeks worth of research and reading reviews on metal detectors I decided on the Garrett AT Pro. I received my MD one week ago and have gone out on the beach every night and one day to a park. I have not been let down in my purchase. The Garrett AT Pro is a solid performer, now I don't have anything to compare it with but I can honestly say I have found 3 coins that were over 12 inches deep some of my finds to date are: over 10 dollars in change, 5 matchbox cars, 15 lead weights, a 3" brass pocket knife, 3 bullet casings, 1 GM truck key, 2 house keys and lots of scrap metal and aluminum cans.

I am getting good at figuring out by the tone what is buried in the sand but occasionally get tripped up like when a completely encrusted penny read 40 but I dug it anyways cause it didn't give a tone for iron. Also discovered that you have to ground balance in all parts of the sand for instance wet sand ground balance, submerged in the salt water ground balance, dry sand ground balance and when it starts to chirp sporadically ground balance. Very pleased with my purchase of the Garrett AT Pro.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 14 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
2112

Didn't live up to the hype!

June 21, 2016
Purchased a used AT Pro to give it a try. I have owned a GTA and an Ace 250 which I used with mixed results. The ATP is easy enough to adjust and very straight forward with it's setting. My complaint is that, as reported by others the depth is not up to par with competitors in the ATP's price range. Most finds were in the 2"-5" range. Target separation was o.K. And the iron audio did help with deciding to dig a target or pass it up.

My real disappointment came when I took it to a local fresh water lake. I was very excited as it was right after memorial day weekend. As soon as I turned the ATP on the chattering began. I ground balanced multiple times on the dry sand in a clean area and lowered the sensitivity way down as well as adjust the frequency shift. I tried everything to quiet it down including going through the different programs and bumping up the iron rejection. For the entire hour and a half I was hunting whether on the beach or in the shallow water the ATP was very unstable with signals bouncing all over the place.

A real disappointment considering the water proof feature was one of it's main selling points. I don't know what it takes to make the ATP work at the beach but I have since moved onto another brand. I do have to mention that Garrett does have an excellent service department who are very friendly. Wish the ATP lived up to my expectations.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 6 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 3 stars
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
128

Great machine!

May 08, 2016
Had mine for more than 5 months and am finding things my Whites V3i missed. At half the price of the Whites I am amazed at this detectors capabilities. I live in southern Iowa so that may be why there is a difference between my luck with the machine and the other guy from Iowa (or he just got a bad machine!)I am primarily a relic hunter but, again, it has found coins that my Whites never saw.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 7 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
1010

It's ok tho hype set high expectations

April 27, 2016
30 year detector veteran, so I'd like to think I know a good machine. And yes, the ATPro -IS- a good machine BUT, there are others' in it's price range that are offer more, IMHO.

First off, I didn't like the tiny display. I'm 50 and the old eyes aren't what they used to be. It's bottom-heavy. People complain about the weight of other machines. The ATPro is no different. It's weighty and in addition, not well balanced. The control pod/batteries/etc sit atop of the wrist vs the more ergonomic machines that have the bulk of the weight under the elbow. It can feel heavy after a little use.

The depth is nothing special. Not very sensitive to low-conductive targets and small bits. I'm not making it up - Had a hunting buddy found a 3-ringer with a competitors machine that the ATP didn't even make a peep on. The stock coil is too big for most out-of-the-box hunting locations, prompting you to buy an accessory coil. The digital control pads feel sunken in. Maybe it's me. I'm an analog dial kinda guy. It's very well made no doubt. Waterproof is great, if that's your thing but don't buy it just because of that unless you intend to go in the water with it. Iron Audio works well. I found a clad quarter with a small rusty nail literally laying on top. It takes a little practice to listen but basically the iron audio will cancel any deep iron tones allowing you to hear the separation of a possible good close target.

Forget the beach. For a water machine, it's falses like mad on wet sand. I like the tones. I don't like the cheesy bell tone of Standard Mode though. But, that's all subjective opinion. Yes, it's good but there are better, deeper, lighter and even more fun machines. I think this detector is on fire because of it being heavily marketed on TV. It needs a bigger display. It needs a backlight. It needs a 'real world' standard coil, it needs to behave at the beach.

I won't even make a recommendation for fear people will think this is a bogus review. The ATPro is OK, really but it's no deeper or more capable than a lot of others in it's price range.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 7 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 3 stars
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 3 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, it's too complic
266

Submit your review for Garrett AT PRO

Submit your tip for Garrett AT PRO