Garrett AT PRO

Price: $700
Avg. Score: 4 stars 3.92
Based on 142 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.29
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.41
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Garrett AT PRO

Compare to ▼
Garrett AT MAX $722
Fisher CZ 21 $1000
Whites Beach Hunter 300 $1000
Whites Beach Hunter ID $800
Tesoro Tiger Shark $750
Headhunter Wader $600

More than just detecting

December 12, 2014
I have ace 350 as beginner for few months then I bought an AT pro. Also bought 5" coil for light weight reason. The main reason I use for oversea beach hunt and where ever. Second I use as exercise since I'm retired. The stuff I found more than offset the md cost. To offset battery cost, try invest rechargeable battery. Always have a fresh set with out and recharge the battery whenever ended hunt and have extra set in your punch including 9v for the pinpointer. Never go hunt without the pp, will save you time.

I really like the AT Pro and easy to use. I have been using the 5" coil and never go back to the original came with the set. I dig anything 50-53 for nickel, 70-79 for penny, 82-83 for dime, anything above 83 to 86 is quarter and good stuff. Sorry to say, it's not too good for salt water but dry ocean beach, OK on fresh water. I love this MD so far its been a joy to hunt and exercising.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
117

At pro finds happy hunting ground

November 03, 2014
I've been using the AT Pro for 6 months and really enjoy its capabilities and amazing features. It is not a difficult detector to learn and I certainly have gained more expertise as I continue to use it in a variety of environments. I bought a never used Sports Package on Craigslist which includes the 8.5×11 DD plus the 5×8 DD coil, finds pouch, Dvd and hat for $450. A great buy and find in itself! The AT Pro package is worth every bit of that price and even worth the $680 price from one of the authorized dealers!

In addition to over $170 in clad, I have turned up 8 silver rings, a silver and gold pendant and many smaller relics and jewelry. However, I titled my review "AT Pro Finds Happy Hunting Ground" because of its ability to find Indian Head Cents even 9 inches down with the 5 × 8 coil in a favorite site littered with trash! I use a variety of settings in Custom, Coins, and Zero Modes. I really bang the Indians using Pro Zero with Iron Disc at 5 and Sensitivity one notch below full. I check the target with Iron Audio and if its a solid high tone with no scratchy grunts and vdi is from 69-76 I start digging. I have 8 Indian Head Cents that rose from their burial thanks to the AT Pro! It makes me want to sing...You remember the song don't you? "One little. ..Two little. .Three little Indians...Love the AT Pro!

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 9 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
186

At pro love it

November 01, 2014
My friend and I bought the atpro at the beginning of the summer and find it outstanding. I find the more you use your machine the better you get. We spent time in the water and found 12 rings and a wrist thick gold chain I found three gold rings in one beach. Just practice then practice more.

Since it's getting cold we are working the parks and have a baggy full of coins with jewelry. I set my detector in the Pro coins with sens at 8 and use the 5 by 8 coil and check with iron aud. You have to love this machine also you can swing it all day.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
156

Overhyped but still a decent detector

October 15, 2014
Probably the best 'bang for your buck' detector in its price range, but beware the fawning and hype over the machine. I don't doubt this machine is hyper popular simply because of its very high profile from the TV show "Diggers".

First off, it's cheaply constructed. It 'feels' just like an Ace 250/350. There is a noticeable amount of 'wiggle' in the coil once you get 100-200 hours on the machine. The buttons feel mushy and don't respond crisply. Depth is acceptable. Nothing extraordinary. Seems to lose a good target ID after 5-6" or so regardless of the coin. Not very good in iron infested sites - at least with the stock coil (which is another point of contention...) The stock coil on the AT Pro is way too big for the most common hunting locations (parks, yards, schools, etc). Target separation is poor with the large stock coil. Equipping the ATPro with an 11" DD coil basically forces you to buy a smaller coil immediately to have any success in most junk-riddled sights. Yes, I know the ATGold comes with a smaller coil, but it's $100 more. And, like others' have suggested, the 'bell tone' is annoying as heck. Overall, it really is a decent machine, but IMHO there are better machines in its price range.

I'm not here to bash the machine or show preference to any other brands. I'm just stating it the way I see it. Let me also say I've been detecting for 30+ years and have tried pretty much every machine out there so when I saw/heard all the accolades about the ATPro, naturally I had to see for myself. It's really not all that. There is a LOT of power in suggestion. I'm glad to see an American company like Garrett have such a high profile because of the media/TV but choose your detector wisely and don't rely on what's basically a 60 minute ad for Garrett to sway your choice.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 6 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 3 stars
Durability 3 stars
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? I have no clue...
2722

First choice entry level

September 18, 2014
Hi Guys, I've read and studied a fair bit about the AT Pro in the last six months. Reading from forums and YouTube videos. Yesterday, a friend here in Newcastle (in OZ) took me to the beach and we worked a section there. It's off season now but the Pro turned up quite a lot of cash and other stuff for a quiet time of year.

After all the research and having a bit of a trial for a couple of hours, I'm buying one. But not in OZ. My son is sending one from the US for me. The price here is $975, which, in my opinion is bloody ridiculous. I emailed Garret and told them as much. So all you guys saying it is too expensive, you don't even know you're alive, in terms of the price of detectors. We pay nearly $400 a unit more. So be grateful you don't have to pay OZ prices.

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 3 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
1613

An exceptional machine

July 25, 2014
I went from an Ace 250 to an AT Pro just under 2 months ago. In the last 3 weeks (as of today), I have found 8 rings. 14K, 10K, 925. Besides the rings I have found several ear rings as well as a 14K chain and charm worth close to $200 in gold value. The machine is already 1/2 way paid off.

The Youtube tips videos are essential to watch. Particular Garretts but also follow some of the top MD Youtubers who are using the AT Pro. Nugget Noggin and Beau Ouimette (aqua chigger) are 2 examples. If you have ANY doubts about how capable this machine is, I HIGHLY recommend checking out those two Youtube channels. You will see precisely what it can accomplish in the hands of a competent detectorist.

The sooner you get comfortable with the iron audio as well as Pro mode, the more successful you will be. It's fine to start in Standard but make it a point to get used to "Pro Mode with zero discrimination". That is what I am using to KILL it in finding gold and silver jewelry. For some of the negative machines, you are describing either machines which are acting up or you aren't using them correctly. In particular setting a good ground balance and understanding the personality of the machine. Other reviews are so obviously B.S. I can only think that they are written by a competitor or a dealer with competing products. This is a rock solid prosumer level machine. It can make a great starter machine (in standard mode) or as a next level machine for someone who started on a more beginner model.

This will always be in my arsenal even if I do end up upgrading to something else down the road. I would never have a problem using this and the fact it is waterproof is great. No worries about the weather and I get to take advantage of the water that most MDers can't touch.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
307

A solid performer

July 24, 2014
I've owned (or still own) a Fisher 1266X, a White's MXT Pro, and a Teknetics T2SE. But if my life depended on it, I'd grab the Garrett AT Pro. As a matter of fact, I bought a second one as a back up. The 5x8 elliptical coil is a must have and is an amazing performer for separating targets. It's also lightweight which means a lot to me as I typically go on all day hunts and have some problems in my right elbow.

My normal setting is Pro zero mode, 22 on disc., and one or 2 notches under maximum sensitivity. I've dug good targets at a true 8" in heavy iron with interference from electrical fences with the AT Pro. If you can only afford one machine, the AT Pro is the one to get in my opinion.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
269

This is an awesome machine!!

July 06, 2014
I can't say enough good things about the garrett At pro, I've had mine for about 3 months now and I detect an average of 4 hours a day so I've put a lot of time on this machine. Don't believe the bad reviews on this machine it is a very good detector for the price. First, it is not heavy at all, I can swing it all day without my arm or shoulder feeling it. I feel like it is built well, it just feels like a quality product to me. It is very deep, I have pulled quarters in the 9-10 inch range and I pulled a barber dime at 8 inches. That's pretty impressive to me on a dime!

It is very sensitive on even the smallest targets. I pulled a child's sterling ring at 7 inches and it sounded loud and clear. The pro modes are fantastic, they really help you distinguish what your digging. I will say that I dig way less bottle caps now. The proportional audio and tone roll are amazing. The iron audio is great. I like to run in pro zero mode with 0 iron disc and just listen to everything, the low hum tone that iron makes is not annoying to me at all.
I have pulled 2 mercs less than a foot apart in a highly trashy area so it will find the goods in trash you just have to go slow and listen carefully to the tones... The battery life is pretty good, not exceptional but pretty good.

It would be good if it had variable volume control also. But I use headphones so this is not an issue to me. Garret's customer service is top notch very nice people to deal with. Another thing I like is all of your controls are right there on the screen, easy to make changes and no menus to wade through.
Overall I think this is a fantastic detector for anyone at any level of experience, it's a quality product made right here in AMERICA. If you don't buy a garrett buy another AMERICAN made product! Keep our money in our country!! God bless!

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
3311

Garrett a/t pro not happy with detector

July 01, 2014
I paid $700.00 for the at pro and feel I have made a big mistake. I have the ace 350 for one year before I got the at thinking it would be much better. Boy was I wrong, both are just cheap toys. Both have bad audio and crappy screen, all my friends have higher and metal detectors and do so much better. I have come to the conclusion that I must switch to a different brand like minelab or whites. Save a couple hundred dollars more and buy something better. I hope I'll be able to sell this pile.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 1 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 2 stars
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
2375

Garrett at pro

June 28, 2014
Learn this machine and you won't look back! I have used many other brands and have been an avid detectorist for many years but this is my first Garrett and I have to say it is awesome!

The iron audio feature is a must use in Pro Mode, I can run my sens. at max 99 percent of the time, and yes, it will go DEEP! You Must take the time on this machine to get the most out of it. It can be chattery, but that is a good thing as you are able to read visually and audibly what is in the ground. I dig much less iron with the AT it is very accurate.

Recovery speed is very fast BUT be sure to slow it down in trashy spots and use iron audio, you will hear good targets amongst trash/iron targets. I just found my first ever Spanish copper cob coin with my AT today and that sucker was Deep too!
Would I have found it with a more expensive machine, possibly, but the AT found it loud and clear that's all I need! Why spend twice as much when you'll get the same performance. One Xtra Tip, get the 5x8 coil its amazing in trashy areas and still punches deep!

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 9 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
278

Submit your review for Garrett AT PRO

Submit your tip for Garrett AT PRO