Garrett AT PRO

Price: $700
Avg. Score: 4 stars 3.92
Based on 142 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.29
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.41
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Garrett AT PRO

Compare to ▼
Garrett AT MAX $722
Fisher CZ 21 $1000
Whites Beach Hunter 300 $1000
Whites Beach Hunter ID $800
Tesoro Tiger Shark $750
Headhunter Wader $600

Great detector

April 09, 2015
The audio is superb, it is very easy to hear the difference between good targets and junk. Partner this with all the other features and you get a great detector.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
149

What a machine!

April 06, 2015
Second time out with this machine in a pounded confederate camp I dug bullets and buttons out of an area infested with nails. Magic trick pro zero mode and disc set on the magic number 22 listen for the high tons. Hear one slow down and take tiny sweeps over the target. If it jumps numbers that's OK there's iron there also. But if you keep getting a 45 or higher on several sweeps dig it! Most of my buttons read in the_50s to 60s bullets 70s.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 12 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
2210

Outstanding machine!

April 02, 2015
I have used this machine for about a month now and can honestly say it is the best that I have ever used. I have used many other machines from Minelab to white's and have found more with the AT Pro than any other detector I have used. I have pulled out buttons and coins in areas that I have hunted extensively over the years. I would highly consider this machine.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
197

At pro in iowa soil

March 19, 2015
Had it several weeks I read the owners manual the important stuff and watched many vids on youtube before I even opened the box, at best when the soil is wet I can get a test dime and quarter at 6 inches tops (barley) when my test soil is dry I can pick up the sound faintly but the numbers wont work, its disheartening reading all the reviews with 8 and 10 inch quarters or higher but I've nothing to hide or sell and the truth is I feel ripped off in ways I tried the manual ground settings 1 threw 99 and nothing brings a deeper signal when in pro mode all metal, now iowa soil is black and rich looking so perhaps that is the machines limits in this soil haven't tested it in sand yet, I'll be doing this next now.

I also realize old buried coins are suppose to register deeper than fresh buried ones in any machine cause they look bigger to the machine so I'm hoping to get another inch out of it so far the deepest coin I've found and I've found 2 silver dimes 3 wheat pennies and 100 or more coins of clad is 4 inches deep.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 6 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? I have no clue...
1310

Christopher shatley and his at pro.

March 06, 2015
I've been using my Garrett AT PRO for almost a year now. I have Mastered my AT PRO to the fullest. Let me be clear on something, I don't understand why most people are saying that max depth on a Quarter is only 7"-9" that's just totally NOT TRUE! However if you run it in standard mode then that's why your depth is limited. It's not until you run it in PRO mode that the AT PRO truly turns into a beast.

I always run mine in PRO ZERO mode with iron disc set at 22. By running my AT PRO in this mode I can pick out pennies and dimes between 10"-12" with no problem. I can pick up a quarter around 13"14" and even deeper on half dollars. Now what about nickels you may ask, well the AT PRO will usually hit on nickels even deeper. As crazy as it may sound I've dug nickels just over 14" so yes when operating in standard mode you lose depth and targets information.
I want to point out that properly ground balancing your AT PRO is a must if you want to achieve this detectors greatest potential and of course knowing how to run it is a must as well.

Final note the type of ground that your hunting plays a huge part on how deep your detector can pick up an item. Max depth on U.S. Quarter 14"

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 14 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
2927

Good machine for the price

March 01, 2015
Is it the best machine out there? NO! Is it a great machine? YES! I have to say the best thing about the machine is Pro Mode. You get a lot of target information by just listening to the tone roll ID. As a matter of fact I don't even look at the vdi unless I hear a good tone. Though the coils are good, they can be better. The AT Pro and AT Gold use the same coils. With both machines operating on two different frequencies it means that when they designed the coils the tried to compromise and get the best performance for both machines.

I bought a NEL coil that was tuned to the AT Pro's transmitting frequency and am able to get much better performance out of my machine. My favorite places to hunt are at old house demo's. I am able to pick out good targets among the trash that get strewn about. I have even been able to pick up a few silvers among the bottlecaps, though I have to admit that is more skill than machine. I haven't tried it out on a saltwater beach but when I do you can see it on youtube!

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
139

Loss of a deus but was it that bad

February 27, 2015
With a very heavy heart I had to let my deus go to free some money up due to bills mounting up and opted for the at pro as a px. After reading up I was in two minds to if I had done the right thing and was so sure that gutted sinking feeling would set in at the loss of the deus.

By no way am I saying the at pro is a deus killer its not but I really honestly hand on heart don't feel that loss I thought I would. I love this rather cheap looking heavy little at pro. No learning curve at all straight into pro zero mode wide open and let ya ears do the work. 500 for a at pro or 1200 for a xp deus AT PRO EVERY DAY OF THE WEEK.

I live in the UK and for my sites the detector is stable as any other I've ever used no falsing that I kept hearing about nice depth good audio. Yes the depth reading is rubbish but who uses them?? For the price it has to be one of, if not the best detector in its class. Get one learn it and you wont look back :) happy digging :)

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 7 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
198

At pro perfect md

February 24, 2015
I've had my AT PRO for two months now and I've made a lot of finds, including my first gold, 10.1 Gram 14K pendant. It's my first metal detector and I'm very pleased about it.

The first month I used it in standard mode/coins, this is a teaching mode as I see it. I say this because I began switching to pro mode and learned to hear the signals better. My second month, I doubled my finds because of using the pro mode/zero. The range of signals and different tones make it easy to stay away from junk. It has been a very quick learning curve because I read the operation guide and watched the DVD that came with my MD.

If you learn to use it right, it really does the work for you. I use it set on Pro mode/zero, toggle select iron tone on hot tones, and raise MD coil over hot tones to eliminate aluminum cans. It's getting easier every day to associate numbers with a minimum of junk digs listening to the hi-lo tone changes. Making sure to set the ground balance for different soil and water conditions make this MD even easier to enjoy.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
127

Need more improvement

January 12, 2015
I owned ace 350 for nearly half year before bought the AT Pro. Only different largely is the indication scale on the AT, not shown on the 350. Not much different for dry sand beach hunt. To eliminate trash I'm using 5 x 8 coil instead the heavy factory coil. I still have to dig every possible suspect find when dime reading 79-82, sometime quarter shows in the 79 which gets confusing since good quarter generally be in the 84 to 87 scale. I even found ring in the 65-82 range. I was hoping upgrade to AT Pro will help me bypass the trash that still shown at 51-54 range, it should be nickle range but alum foil and pull tap, can come in 74-76 range as well.

All I can say garrett AT Pro not really that versatile as advertised. For hunting anything 350 can almost do the same function. When I got the 350 I also used the garrett pin pointer for sorting out the object, that is a must for all MDers. If I have my choice again I go back to ace 350. For new ace 350 price is $297 and the AT Pro is $549. It takes lot of time and hunting to offset nearly two hundred dollar.

I had used fisher, white and cheap bounty hunter, I still think newbees should stay with ace 350, not the 250. This way there won't need future upgrade. By the way if you decide to buy 350 buy a 5 inch coil. The one comes with the MD is too heavy and picks up lot of trash as well. Good hunting and recover your hole. Bob

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 3 stars
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
1522

At pro.

December 27, 2014
I have been using my atp now for 2 years. I bought it because I knew I was missing things with my Ace250. I run mine only in Pro mode Iron audio at 40 and off. With this set up I love the tones it makes. I can identify most things in ground by sound! Lately I have not been notching out anything and digging a lot. I have to say it is great having the super fast recovery speed. I took it to a loaded beach full of pulltabs and coins. I found a white gold 18k ring and .925 silver ring too. I also got a quarter about 8 to 9 inches down, I know it's not super deep but I'm impressed.

I got the small 5by8 coil and wow! So much easier to swing now! I have taken it to saltwater beaches and it is hard to use in the wet sand. It can be used but not much fun in saltwater.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 9 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
187

Submit your review for Garrett AT PRO

Submit your tip for Garrett AT PRO