Garrett AT PRO

Price: $700
Avg. Score: 4 stars 3.92
Based on 142 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.29
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.41
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Garrett AT PRO

Compare to ▼
Garrett AT MAX $722
Fisher CZ 21 $1000
Whites Beach Hunter 300 $1000
Whites Beach Hunter ID $800
Tesoro Tiger Shark $750
Headhunter Wader $600

Best bang for the buck......

January 05, 2016
Been Dirt Fishing for many years. I have probably a couple hundred hours on the AT Pro and for the money the AT Pro really quite good. You could spend $1,500 to get a comparable Detector that offers the features and durability of this detector. I also own the AT Gold and XP Deus, the AT Pro is the cheaper of the 3 but in all around conditions it performs almost equal to the XP Dues (almost). Just slightly less depth read otherwise it has outstanding discrimination and works well in highly mineralized soil.

If your not getting the results I am getting, your setting it wrong or simply don't have the experience yet to set it up properly. Do your research and Good Luck Fishing.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 12 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
2316

Solid detector

December 26, 2015
I've probably got about 40 hrs on my AT Pro, and can already tell that those who get lousy performance from it are either not using it properly, or have a defective unit or coil.

My experience in the medium mineralized soil around my area has been very good. The unit is simple to use, and it ground balances easily, accurately, and quickly. The AT Pro has a very fast recovery, so picking through iron junk, and separating out coins comes easy. I haven't had to turn down the sensitivity due to EMI, the frequency offset seems to handle it well. I have found Quarters at 8-9 inches, and dimes at 7-8 inches with the stock coil. Be aware that the AT Pro often doesn't give any depth or vdi info at these depths, with the stock coil, but if you learn to listen for good tones you'll hit the deep stuff.

If you want your AT Pro to go really deep a larger aftermarket coil is a must. With a modest investment in a larger coil you'll be hitting coins just as deep as many of the "Flagship" detectors costing two to three times as much as the AT Pro. So far my deepest Quarter with the aftermarket coil has been 12 inches. Just as good as any detector in my soil conditions. And I believe it will go a little deeper. My large coil is a 12"X13". You can go even bigger, but mine is a trade off between size and weight. My old worn out shoulders limit what I can comfortably swing all day. 12" or a little more is all I care to dig anyway.

I firmly believe anyone can be happy with an AT Pro. Larger coils are the key to unlocking it's full potential.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
2112

Garrett at pro

December 06, 2015
Just been out with my garrett at pro for the first time. Went to park where I had used my previous metal detector ( c scope 1220 xd ) this detector had found coins and gold ring on this park but struggled with the ground mineralizations. Not so the at pro. I could now use it all over the park. I only had 1 hour as I had to pick my wife up from work. Wow this machine makes my c scope seem like an antique I found 17 coins another gold ring and a old matrix seal for sealing wax on a letter. Not bad for an hours detecting.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 9 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
1410

At pro is great

November 11, 2015
There is a learning curve. Lots of things to remember. Or stay in Standard mode. If you go to Pro mode you are declaring you are ready for more audio information! Using the Standard mode I found a 1990 quarter and a brass hose nozzle in the backyard. Highly mineralized backyard in southern California. In northern Nevada in a dry creek bed, no mineralization at all. Still found junk. Supposed to be gold there. Going back.

In northern California in a creek that was part of a gold claim, could not find any nuggets but all the gold there was tiny. No one found a nugget. The AT Pro can register the correct tone for a 6 grain gold nugget but no ID number. Air tested it and got a (53) I love the Iron Audio. If you're not sure of a target, turn on Iron Audio and you will most likely know. Pinpointer works great! Auto and Manual ground balance is great! Can make fine adjustments at the beach.

I bought the waterproof headphones, just in case I fell in. Now I have a small complaint. Difficult to insert the plug. Because it's a waterproof MD. No big deal. Waterproof to 10ft. Proportional Audio in Pro Mode is great. Standard is just full audio. Very fast recovery time. Good for finding targets close together. And I really like the double D coil. A small piece of aluminum with a metal screw has fooled me several times in my backyard. Don't know what those are. But, the guy who has dug up the most gold, digs up everything!

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
119

Great metal detector

October 09, 2015
This is my second Garrett AT pro metal detector and I love every second using it. The first one I gave it away to my younger friends as they're crying for one and I decided what better present for a kid than a metal detector.

Used in on fresh water and land and the result are very consistent. Fresh water and beach hunting... A bit of chatter but that is normal. Play with the frequency and iron ground balancing and it will purr like a kitten. Deepest target 14 inches... Old iron relic - I'll think twice before digging that deep.
I looked at several machines, closest competitor would be Minelab CTX... But the price would make you think twice when you're on budget. Get one and have fun, this is what you're looking for right?

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 14 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
1510

Loving my at pro

October 04, 2015
Not sure where all of the bad reviews are coming from, but I upgraded from an Ace 350 to the AT Pro and have been using it a lot... Two 8 hr water hunts (salt water) twice a week up to neck deep. Maximum depth for gold in my saltwater wet sand is around 10". Iron objects can be located much deeper especially if they are larger and/or corroded. I found sunglasses so deep I could barely get my scoop out of the hole.

So far no leaks, and no problems in the salt water. It chatters a little but that's expected. A real target sound loud and clear vs chatter which is faint and erratic. I've found 4 rings since I got it, 1 tungsten, 1 gold, and two silver. I love that I can search a park, a beach, or in the water without changing detectors.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
196

And, it can get wet too!

August 28, 2015
Having worked with many detectors and find the Garrett AT Pro to be a great and well rounded with features. I have used in the Golden Gate Park and some of the beaches in the area. In parks with lots of trash I opted for the 5 x 8 coil so as to get better target separation. Smooth and precise. Coins scream and some of the jewelry at depth tug your collar to look a little more. Yes, I works very well and much lighter than a White's MTX. On the beach, in the dry sand, the stock coil works very well. In the wet sand and salt water it required a bit of tweaking with the gain way down to get a good balance and was able the find coins about 6 inches but not much more. By comparison, when an MXT gets near the wet sand it will just howls.

The value of being able to get the machine wet should not be overlooked and other vendors need to take that to heart for future product releases.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 3 stars
Ease of Use 3 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
117

Its not what u want

July 03, 2015
D mine 4 months now yes I found 2 indian heads 2 buffaloes and a calvary horse bridal egal and some nice things but the thing only goes 6 inches, the vid numbers fade fast so you end up digging everything anyway.

I'm getting a fisher F75 there's too many people lying about depth on this this thing or I just got a turd, I live in Iowa, best soil to hunt I've found 300 plus memorials 20 or more Wheaties and 20 dollars in clad 5 silvers but nothing over 6 inches and one quarter m just found a wheaty with my whites egal in the front yard it said it was 5 inches deep my at pro had numbers that I would of never dug and it said it was 8 inches deep what a lemon the coin was 4 inches deep and sounded like it was a foot down to the at pro. Either I got a lemon or you people think this is some great thing all cause you see some guy finding stuff down south with it if you knew all he walked over even he would toss it over the bridge.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 6 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? I have no clue...
1741

At pro

June 10, 2015
All these people on here telling you to buy a Fisher or a Minelab are just trying to steer you away from this machine. This at pro detector by Garrett is a great detector. I have owned the Fishers and Minelabs and Whites and they are OK detectors, but this Garrett is by far the best detector I have ever used. The first day I knew it was. Don't listen to the negative hype about this machine. They just don't want you to find out what they already know. This machine wins out over them others. That is a fact.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 12 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
4614

Relic monster

May 08, 2015
I'm finding 2 or 3 more important relics a day now. Depending on soil conditions, I have found coins at 10 inches deep. The discrimination is top notch and pro zero mode and iron mode is my favorite. I would suggest buying this detector if it is in your price range.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 9 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
218

Submit your review for Garrett AT PRO

Submit your tip for Garrett AT PRO