Garrett AT PRO

Price: $700
Avg. Score: 4 stars 3.92
Based on 142 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.29
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.41
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Garrett AT PRO

Compare to ▼
Garrett AT MAX $722
Fisher CZ 21 $1000
Whites Beach Hunter 300 $1000
Whites Beach Hunter ID $800
Tesoro Tiger Shark $750
Headhunter Wader $600

Not in spain....

June 11, 2014
No te compres este detector si vives en España porque los que llevan el servicio técnico (garantía oficial de Garrett) ORCOM son unos incompetentes de cuidado.... Es una pena ver como se nos discrimina a los europeos un gran marca como es Garrett. Se que el servicio técnico en USA es excelente, pero en España deja muchísimo que desear... Saludos.

You do not buy this detector if you live in Spain because carrying service (official guarantee de Garrett) ORCOM are incompetent... It is a pity to see how US discriminates against Europeans a great brand as it is Garrett. Service in the USA is excellent, but in Spain leaves a lot to be desired... Best regards.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 2 stars
Durability 1 star
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
1511

Love this detector

April 20, 2014
I took it out for the fist time, I love the Metal disc. And the water proof, easy to read, good instructions, it's all round great detector. Glad I Bought it.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 9 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
149

At pro

March 26, 2014
Started to metal detect some 40 yeas ago in Arizona with an Wildcat detector. I have owned several different detectors and some were the high dollar type. White MXT for one. I received my AT Pro about three months ago late one afternoon. Watched the video again after having read the manual several times. Out early the following morning to work an area that I had worked several times before. In three hours I had pulled up 152 coins!! Yes 152 coins. All clad but still I had them in my pouch. Several dimes were anywhere from 5" to 8" down. My MXT would never had done this kind of job. You would have a tough time prying this detector out of my hands.

I am 80 years young so 2/3 hours each day is about the limit for me but in that time since getting my AT Pro I have pulled up well over 600 coins. Few "Wheaties" and about 6 silver dimes. Say what you want but if you take the time to learn the AT Pro it will never let you down. Love the "roll-tone "feature so now I don't spend a bunch of time digging up bottle caps. Going out in the morning and I'll bet I come home with at least 50 more coins.

KEEP DIGGING.
Lynne
PS No I haven't been to the beach yet. Having to damn much fun right here near my home.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
3214

Just simply awesome!

January 29, 2014
Get it you wont regret it, I had mine for a year now the whole detector is water proof accept the head phones I love how I am detecting in the rain and others have to stay at home! Lol one time I lost my boat keys in the river and went back with my at pro and found them pretty quick I had the whole detector submerged and never leaked.

Also there customer service is awesome I broke my garrett pro pointer and they sent me a new one no questions asked! Once you learn it you will love it guaranteed so far my oldest find is a 1864 2 cent coin got about 10 silvers so far. Deepest was 8 inch silver quarter. 5 stars across the board!

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
266

At pro after 2000 hours of use

November 21, 2013
I have been metal detecting for about 5 years. I own a CTX 3030, Excalibur ll 1000, MXT, DFX, Gold Bug ll, and an AT Pro. My go to detector that I carry with me everywhere is the AT Pro. This is because it is light weight, easy to use and very reliable for coin shooting and jewelry hunting.

There are numerous instructional videos on how to accurately use the Pro. Garrett is comparable to Whites in there excellent service. In my opinion the AT Pro is the very best detector on the market in any price range up to $1200. The Pro is no CTX 3030, but everyone cannot afford or need a detector like that. I average about 3 hours a day detecting with the Pro and never feel fatigued. As far as depth, I have found a few coins in the 6" to 8" range with the Pro. Take it from someone who has many hours detecting vacant lots, homes, parks, sports fields, bus stops, median strips, Church grounds and hard desert land.

You will rarely if ever find a coin over 8" deep. I have dug over 50,000 holes for coins and jewelry in all kinds of soil and the average depth of finds is between 2" and 5". Not to say you will not make great finds at 10 to 12 inches, rarely you will. 99 percent of your finds will not be below 6". My latest find with the Pro was November 17, 2013. I found an 1882, 8 Real silver coin at the soccer complex. It is the size of a silver dollar. It was less than 2" deep. Rang up 89 on the Pro. Pretty much the same as a silver quarter or half dollar. You have to believe someone dropped it very recently. Probably was a good luck token for someone.

Before that I found 2 Kennedy half dollars in a median strip in a small desert town. The rang up 86-87. The were about 4" apart but in the same hole at about 3 inches depth. The most important information I can provide you is no matter what your choice of tool may be, Garrett's, Whites, Fisher, Minelab, Tesoro, whatever. Learn everything you can about you machine. Read, watch videos and practice. Remember this is a hobby. You are suppose to enjoy it, not get rich. This is the only hobby that just might pay for itself.

If I were entering the hobby right now as a newby,I would buy an AT Pro over any other machine available. That is how much I believe in this tool.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
5218

Garrett at pro

October 30, 2013
I picked up a at pro back in may. Of. 2013 I have put around 500 hours on the at pro. It's a great. Machine well. Made easy to learn. I love the pro modes. And Yes it finds deep targets I even put the at pro side by side with a higher end detector and the at pro was keeping up. I see a lot of reviews with people not taking the time to learn the at pro and giving it a bad review. Garrett has made a lot of videos on learning the at pro. I have been metal detecting for over 20 years I give the garrett at Pro an A.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 11 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
3115

ATP=overpriced

October 16, 2013
Pros: It's a metal detector. It's waterproof to 10 feet. Sometimes. Cons: Cheap plastic construction. Not much depth. Water leaked in on mine, had to send it in for repair. Annoying bell tones. Tiny lcd screen. Over hyped entry level machine. Should cost half as much. "At pro outshines my mxt" L O L. Ya right.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 5 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 3 stars
Ease of Use 3 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
3282

Great detector at affordable price

October 14, 2013
I have been detecting for a couple of Years. Have owned, Ace 250, ML Safari, Fisher F 70 and still own a Fisher 1236x2. I sold the Ace quickly once I realized I was hooked on this hobby and wanted something better. Friends were into the minelabs so I got the Safari. I sold Safari after using it for about 6 months and liking it but found it fatiguing for long hunts. Bought the Fisher 1236 x2 used because I got a smoking deal on it. Used the heck out of it and it still works good as ever. Great back up.

Love Fisher so when I was looking for a better model, went looking at the F5. But ended up buying the F 70. An absolute fine machine and have nothing negative to say about the one I owned. It was the lightest of all the machines I've owned and I could swing it 4 hours without a break or hand swap. However, I took it back to my dealer a week after buying it and they swapped it for me.
Got the AT Pro. The water proof feature, Iron audio and 15hz, 40 levels of iron disc, proportional audio were the primary reasons for my decision to go with the AT. It is a little heavier than the F70, but not by much, the screen is decent, but not as big and easy to read as the F70.

However, like the f70 and unlike the Safari, all controls and functions are visible on the screen at all times. No menus to wade through. As for performance I think I've been able to learn and adapt quicker to the AT than I was to the F70. Both find deep targets and I can not honestly say one was/is better or deeper than the other. If the target was there, I could find it.

However, because of the iron desc levels and iron audio of the AT I have learned to not dig any (zero) iron! So in this one regard, I can say I am digging less junk than I did with the F70 or any of my previous detectors. I still am digging way too many pull tabs, but that's always been my case.

There are still a lot of things I need to learn about this detector. But for example there are people using it that can tell when a target is a bottle cap by the use of the proportional audio and use of iron audio. When I get comfortable in that regard, I'll hopefully be digging less of those too. Another thing Experienced AT users are able to do is determine with a good degree of accuracy, the size of an object. I see that as a plus when the item is obviously too big to be your intended target.

Other things I like about this AT is how easy it is to ground balance it. I was never really quite sure if I was getting a good GB on the F70 and I would almost always have to supplement my GB with a reduction in sensitivity to make run quiet. With the AT, I almost always use auto GB. It's quick, easy and works great every time. I've used all my detectors at the beaches and parks. I live on the west coast. As for learning this machine, read the manual, of course, but what has really helped accelerate the learning curve for me is the vast amount of tutorials on you tube for the AT.

Garrett has a series of them for this model. I've watched them several times and I can't stress how invaluable they were for me. Conversely, I wasn't able to find as much in the way of instructional vids for the F70. There were a few, but nothing too in depth. I do not regret my decision for buying the AT. I think it's going to be a keeper! There are a lot of good and bad reviews as you'll see, but don't let them discourage you. Remember a lot of those folks, don't even own the AT or didn't take the time to learn and understand how to properly use it before giving up and posting a negative review. Some had faulty units, I understand. That is an issue, but it happens with anything electronic. I love my ipad and my iphone too, but I've had at least one iphone go bad on me. If you get a dud, get it fixed or replaced!

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
3818

At pro

October 09, 2013
For the money buy a Minelab 705. Better depth better detection all around. I have had this ATP for 5 days and have tested it extensively. It will not go below 6" on a clad quarter. Horrible in mineralized soil at best. Horrible all around. Horrible product.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 6 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 2 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
2082

Garret at pro

September 12, 2013
I recently rented a metal detector and pin pointer from Lost Metals (www.Lostmetals.com) and now I’m hooked! Me and my buddy spend the better part of the day on the beach searching for “treasure”! We found a ring and lots of coins. I think I have a new hobby! We used the Garrett AT PRO and the pinpointer that we rented was called the Vibraprobe. I highly recommend this equipment!

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
1615

Submit your review for Garrett AT PRO

Submit your tip for Garrett AT PRO