Garrett AT PRO

Price: $700
Avg. Score: 4 stars 3.92
Based on 142 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.29
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.41
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Garrett AT PRO

Compare to ▼
Garrett AT MAX $722
Fisher CZ 21 $1000
Whites Beach Hunter 300 $1000
Whites Beach Hunter ID $800
Tesoro Tiger Shark $750
Headhunter Wader $600

Tom in green bay

September 28, 2012
I bought my AT Pro last February and hit the water as soon as the ice was out in March. I have found 12 gold rings so far, from 10k to 18k, and over a thousand coins, tokens, float copper and bullets. What really impresses me is the fact that I live near a hunted out park, yet find silver coins with it every time I go there. It won't let me go over a silver coin without practically begging me to dig it with a very distinctive tone. Last week I drove to a campground about 100 miles north and found a 1939 Washington quarter in an area everybody has been to.

I have used several other brands of detectors and this is my first Garrets. Yes, it has to be ground balanced, and yes, once in a while it gets chatty and I reset it. I never dig iron or bottle caps any more unless I want to. It's great for the price. Just learn how to use it and it will do the job for you.

Overall Rating 4 stars

3810

Not Happy with AT Pro

September 23, 2012
I bought an AT Pro about 6 months ago and find it to be a very aggravating machine to use. With no threshold this machine is constantly making noise and you have to concentrate so hard to differentiate the good from the bad signals. It will get good depth, however, I have a coin garden with both clad and silver coins buried at depths from 4 to 6 inches. The AT pro will only hit on the shallower targets. I have a silver quarter at 6 inches and the AT will not hit on it.

I also have an etrac and it will hit solid on all of them. I have not been happy with this machine except for water use. It doesn't seem to be as noisy in the water. Am thinking about selling.

Overall Rating 2 stars

2316

Will try it

September 21, 2012
September 21,2012. Ordered an AT Pro today will receive next week, after reading all the reviews I am nervous as what to expect. As far as my research shows upgrading from my gtx 1250 to the AT PRO is a good move. I HOPE. Thanx to all for their input good or bad, will see as time goes by. The general idea what I hear is to give it time to get used to the machine just like when computers came out.

Overall Rating 3 stars

1711

Cliff

August 22, 2012
Garrett has me back up and swing the AT Pro. Hoping for a better run and the detector is operating with less noise and chatter. It did take some time to get it back and it has been replaced but do appreciate the effort they made.

Overall Rating 4 stars

49

Not so Great Not so terrible

August 03, 2012
Been detecting for 42 years, seen it all in machines from the Fisher TR's to the multi feq machines. Have owned over 30 new detectors Whites, minelab, fisher, bounty hunters and garrets to name a few. Use a whites beach hunter 300 with a Anderson shaft for wet sand and black sand and its the best but its heavy so I needed a light simple easy to use but water proof machine for the top beach or dry white quartz jersey beach sand so I picked up the Garret At Pro for this type of hunting.

Yes I'm old and weight is an issue so here is my take on this machine, at pro is light but not well balanced but I can live with that, at pro is OK in std mode with some falsing 00 and 99 but this could be anything from old wires or transformers to cell phones and micro waves to just lots of iron mixed with conductive soils even the best units I have fall to these conditions.

The first couple of weeks it worked as billed but as time goes on it is falsing a little more than I would care for so back to the minelab and whites 300 and will use this at pro as a lender machine for friends or a learning unit.
One more thing, In Standard Modes this machine is not to bad other than some falsing 00-99s but in pro mode it very choppy and over rated but for under $600 it is what it is, like the saying goes (you get what you pay for). For all who want a top end type of machine for a mid range price this machine is not a good choice, just save the bux and get a top end unit. I do think Garrett played the price hype in the advertising and fooled a lot of folks with over expectations, Shame on you Garrett.

Overall Rating 3 stars

6820

Great machine

July 25, 2012
I have been detecting since the mid 60"s. The AT Pro has been a great machine. It is fairly easy machine to run if you take timie to listen to what it is telling you. Work it a while and listen to the different tones you hear. Any body can bad mouth a machine they don't know how to run. So take time to learn and pay attention before you complain!

This is my 7th Garrett. Is is also the very best. I am finding coins deeper and older then before. I am finding coins about 10 times an hour, some at 10" or more. Even found a $5 bill.. . Course it was wrapped around 2 quarters!
Keep trying and keep learning the sounds, you will learn to love this machine. Have a Great Time.
Dean

Overall Rating 5 stars!

5045

Review - garret Pro

June 24, 2012
I last gave a review a month after I first got my ATPro, now six months later I can say the machine has been fantastic!I've found countless coins, 3 rings and numerous other items.
As I said in my first review you need to give it a good six months to get used to the machine.
If you go over it, it will find it.
The only minor problems I've had have been on wet sand.
Now looking forward to getting back on the fields once the crops are in. Good hunting.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

2845

Cliff

June 24, 2012
When the AT Pro worked it is a great machine, but the reliability of mine is questionable, it is 3 months old about 10 trips and no for sure the thing won't detect a dime in an air test today. With the cost of fuel the lack of free time this is a poor investment to be considered recreation.

Overall Rating 2 stars

5818

Under-rated machine! Give it a chance!

June 24, 2012
The first thing I have to say is that if want a machine that you can take out of the box and expect it to perform to it's potential then the AT Pro is NOT for you. Sure you will find things with it but you will probably get frustrated. As other users have said, you need to learn what the machine is telling you.

I bought a used AT Pro about 4 months ago. I would say I have about 100 hours on the machine and I am still learning. However, the more I use it-the more I like it. I have always used it in pro mode. True, you get a lot of different sounds when in pro mode especially is trashy areas. But it is excellent at picking out good targets in these areas.

I really wanted to try this detector as there is a ton of iron where I live. The AT pro is great at picking out good targets around all those iron nails and other trash. That feature is awesome.

The pinpoint feature is extremely accurate. The machine is lightweight and can be used all day. The display is very accurate. You can use it for many hours on a single set of batteries. I have used it fully submerged in water without any issues. I have found pull tabs at 8 inches with the stock coil.

Cons: In bright light you have trouble reading the display, bottle caps read the same as dimes,and they should have put a higher piece of plastic below the arm rest for it to set on (can't think of what it is called) as it tends to fall over easy.

However, we all know no detector is perfect. I don't know where you can get a water and land machine that finds things like the AT Pro for less than 600. 00.

I really enjoy using it.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

4564

I got a lemon AT Pro

June 22, 2012
I got a lemon AT Pro International. As others, describe, it started falsing at the end of sweeping strokes and sometimes it would ring nonstop like a slot machine jackpot.
The worst was when I didn't hit a target for a while and checked with my coins only to find out that AT Pro wasn't picking up coins for God knows how long. And yes I was using it correctly.

No wonder Garrett only offers a 2 year warranty. I replaced it with a Fisher Goldbug DP and was appalled to find out how many coins the AT Pro had missed in the same areas. Fisher GB also has 5 yr warranty. For $600 I expected some sort of quality control from Garrett.

Overall Rating 1 star

7621

Submit your review for Garrett AT PRO

Submit your tip for Garrett AT PRO