Garrett AT PRO

Price: $700
Avg. Score: 4 stars 3.92
Based on 142 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.29
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.41
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Garrett AT PRO

Compare to ▼
Garrett AT MAX $722
Fisher CZ 21 $1000
Whites Beach Hunter 300 $1000
Whites Beach Hunter ID $800
Tesoro Tiger Shark $750
Headhunter Wader $600

AT PRO

June 13, 2012
OK here's the skinny on the AT Pro. I had my first metal detector in 1971 so I know a little about what they do and don't. This is THE best detector I have owned to date. Had a Bounty Hunter and found stuff in Plantation sites and then with the Fisher CZ-5 found more. Had a
Garrett GTI-2500 and didn't like it at all. Tesoro is great but needs more target definition.
AT Pro has it!! It will signal when you are on a screw cap with a tone roll that sounds like a chicken clucking, for real! Gold(haven't found any yet) comes in at 48 0r 49. Nickels at 51 or 52. Pennies can come in around the 70's and dimes around 81 and quarters in the 80's and 90's. This detector is a fantastic machine, the best Garrett has EVER built. and I will put it up against almost every detector. The high end Mine Labs aren't going to be touched by any medium priced detector no matter what they tell you. For coin hunting, relics and beach hunting you gotta get you self one a these!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

5955

Detector

May 29, 2012
I bought the ATPRO and love the metal detector. Learn the sounds, and detecting is fun. I have been finding coins, nothing old yet. I enjoy the detector.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

2555

AT Pro

May 26, 2012
I've had my AT for about a year now and I love it! I use it in Pro mode with iron on set to 0. I can hear the low high low sound of steel bottle caps and ignore them! Coins sound solid! Lately I was in a trashy area and getting a jumpy signal with a high tone mixed in so I dug it, glad I did it was a thick . 925 silver earring! I brought it to a dry sandy beach and went over an area where people left and got a quater sounding signal and it was a . 925 silver ring!

I have the 11inch coil. I disc out 50 to 70 approx(most of the time). I yet to have found gold but will sometime.
I haven't put mine in water or had any problems with it.
I need to get some small headphones so I don't cook my head in the summer.
Only thing I don't like is that I cant hear the speaker which is built into it because it has the plastic built over it for waterproofing.
I still need experience digging deep sounds.

Overall Rating 4 stars

3359

AT PRO

May 14, 2012
I LOVE IT. As soon as I received it I look at the manual and went on line and watched the 7 instructional videos, then went to the beech. 1st dig. . . Bottle cap. . . 2nd dig. . . Silver Ring with purple stone. After two hours I found $2. 99 in coins. . . . This machine is GREAT!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

4050

Love it

May 01, 2012
I recently purchased the AT PRO INTERNATIONAL and it is a great machine. . . I have Bounty hunters/Fishers/Whites and are all good units but I love the Definite Discrimination. . . . I took it out today for the first trial run on a tot lot for about 1 1/2 hours and set it on coins in normal mode and (at) 3/4 gain and dug up 20 times which the finds where 18 coins 1 pencil top and 1 10 karat bracelet. . . wow the area was covered with visible junk like foil and tabs. . . I did not break my back today. The unit is very well balanced and feels like quality. . . no movement in shaft because now they have the cam locks. . the only thing is that it is a little heavy but not unbearable. . . It is worth the money. . . I recommend it. . .

Overall Rating 5 stars!

5155

Very Pleased with the AT Pro

April 13, 2012
I have been detecting for about 10 years now. I started out with a couple cheap bounty hunters, then an Ace 250, then a Fisher F2. I must say that I found more finds with my cheap $100 bounty hunters than I ever did with the Ace 250 or the F2, so I was a little skeptical about buying the AT Pro.

I have an old church built 1845 near me that has been hunted out more than any place I have ever seen. I figured that this is a great place to test new detectors because I know the finds are there just waiting, but I also know that it has been worked over HARD by lower end detectors. Therefore if the AT Pro is able to find some good finds then it would obviously mean that it's performing better than anything else I have owned.

A few weeks ago I finally made the purchase on the AT Pro. I took it out of the box, looked it over, and assembled it. Upon inspection I felt that it was a fairly stable and durable build. Nothing shook, vibrated, rattled, or squeaked as it had on the F2. I spent a whopping 45 minutes at my old church the first night. The first find was solid horse shoe tack, although it's not a spectacular find I found it at 14". The Pro has the depth, it just takes a while to learn it's patterns, tones, and modes.

To all the people that are posting negative reviews on here, either give your new detectors more time, or leave the reviews to somebody with a little patience. I'm tired of seeing reviews like, "I purchased the new AT Pro and it's junk, I took it out of the box and used it for a couple days and it's not finding anything so I sold it and bought this or that" Come on people, it takes longer than 2 days to learn a detector, especially since you probably only used it for an hour or two. If you don't know what you're doing with it, it's not the detectors fault. I have gone days, even weeks hunting sites that produced NOTHING AT ALL, and yet I didn't sell the detector, or bad mouth it. . . next thing I knew I pulled an 1864 Abraham Lincoln election token from 9". . . It takes time to learn them. Finds aren't everywhere.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

9568

Yes its a must

April 10, 2012
Having had the ace250 and was looking for a decent upgrade, I had reviewed most machines and nearly always the ATpro came out on or near the top, so that what I went for.
Having used it day after day for 3 weeks all I can say is its brilliant on the fields pasture and beach, I've found coins and jewelry where I has been over previously so that was a bonus.
The only thing I've found that lets it down is the lack of larger coils available but Im sure after the honeymoon period and GARRETT letting other use the rights to the connections they will become available (HOPEFULLY).
All in all I'm really happy with it and not looking to upgrade anytime soon.
5 stars it would of got if coils were available

Overall Rating 4 stars

1862

Newbie

March 26, 2012
I have a pro late model ser. no. ,my machine works perfect. It croaks and gurgles past the iron and lets me know when to cut a plug. Im a rookie retired and 60 yrs. old. 5 stars. . . . . . . . . . and 5 more for the pro pointer. . . . . . . . . . .

Overall Rating 5 stars!

2944

Its all in where you hunt

March 19, 2012
Well my wife and I just bought our AT PROS and we are still learning the sounds of this detector. One thing I have notice is this detector doesnt lie much . If you plan on buying one its like your parents, LISTEN TO IT OR SOMEONE THAT KNOWS ABOUT IT . Give it a chance you will like it . Also metal detecting is all about LOCATION. Dont go looking for a 4 leaf clover in a bed of itch weed and complain about the red rash on your face.

Overall Rating 4 stars

3967

Junk!

February 22, 2012
This thing is no better on depth than the ace 350! if a detector has moderate depth then all those bells and whistles mean nothing! I'm tired of whites adding a $50 dollars worth of features too something and then charging you $300 more for it! So what it floats! So does shxx! I bet their next model will look the same but have a bigger coil and they will charge a $900 for it! I have a whites eagle thats 2 decades old that puts this junk too shame!

Overall Rating 1 star

61175

Submit your review for Garrett AT PRO

Submit your tip for Garrett AT PRO