Whites MXT Tracker

Whites MXT Tracker Price: $800
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.63
Based on 89 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!5.00
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.25
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Whites MXT Tracker

Compare to ▼
Makro Racer $650
Fisher F-19 $800
Nokta FORS CoRe $699
Whites Sierra Super Trac $700
Whites MX5 $600
Tesoro Outlaw $650

It's legendary for a reason.

April 11, 2016
I can start like everyone else. Been detecting since 1983 and have owned them all - Fisher, Garrett, Tesoro (which I still use) and ended up with the MXT as my hands-down go to detector. Anyone who complains about the machine simply hasn't given it enough time. There is a learning curve, especially if you've used other brands. This is a high-gain machine and can be chatty, but once you learn it's language, you don't even hear the chatter. Too chatty? Turn the gain DOWN and lock the ground tracking. Problem solved. When you've found the right settings for the ground you're hunting, it's a very stable machine.

Love the analog controls. And the build quality? There are no other machines out there built as well. While I like my Tesoro's, they feel cheap and plastic after using the MXT. It's heavier because of the construction materials, but balanced very well. Another thing new users do is extend the shaft too far ahead of them. Shorten the length so the detector reaches the ground with your arm extended and swing with your body, not your shoulder. You can swing all day and not feel a thing by the end of the hunt.

If you hear blips and blorps and burps - ignore them. This is usually due to hot ground and the high-gain circuit of the MXT. When you find a good target, it will tell you. Slow DOWN your swing speed. Learn to TRUST it. Great selection of coils. I like the little 5.3 Eclipse. I tried the DD coils and just don't like how they ID targets. I like the stock 950 and the 5.3 Eclipse. Excellent separation in high-trash areas with the 5.3 I LOVE trying out new machines, but keep comin' back to the MXT.

I'm not brand loyal but until another brand puts out a detector with the great combination of analog controls, build quality, reliability and FUN of the MXT, I won't even look.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
101

Over a decade of successful use

March 10, 2015
I purchased my MXT around 2002. I have owned other detectors prior to this(1970 s to 1990). I call them old school detectors, needles, noises, and a lot of dug junk. I found stuff with them, had a lot of fun, then quit detecting for about 10 years.

Gearing up for a trip out west in 2002 I decided to buy a new detector. I had heard that metal detectors had taken a mega leap in technology and worked much better now. The three different hunting modes, Whites long time history, and I guess the price influenced me. I wanted a top of the line detector so I spent a little more. I have used this detector 100s of hours, maybe over 1000 hours(I wore the cuff in half!).

The 9.5 coil is very good, pinpointing excellent, stable performance, and good depth. I also have a smaller coil (4x6) for tight spots and trashy areas. I run this detector noisy, I want to hear whats down there and make my own decisions. I run the sensitivity full bore when ever I can. At a good site, in coin and jewelry mode, I run full sensitivity, discriminate enough to loose nails and dig all signals. At this setting I have found 22 short shell casings at 10". The visual number system works well and is very helpful. The visual id system is not perfect, it s only guessing as with most detectors. If there is a quarter under the coil it will correctly predict it. It will also tell you quarter for other things.

Running in coin and jewelry mode, with pull tabs and nickles discriminated out, with sensitivity at preset mark, makes for easy hunting. I call this beginner hunting and the best way to start with the MXT, it is not the best way to hunt to find the better stuff more often, it s the starting point with any detector. As you get used to the detector turn the discrimination down to accept pull tabs and nickles. You will now pick up some gold signals that you would have lost, nickles will be found, a lot of pull tabs dug, some turning out to be coins.

A trick I use is to check pull tab depth. If it s deeper, say 4", 6", or more it very well could be a coin, probably an older coin. Like anything, the more you do it the better you get. I like this detector. Some people don't have good things to say about it, most people love it.I haven't bought a larger coil yet but probably will someday. Ten years plus of hard service makes me a happy camper. If it broke today I could truly say I've got my moneys worth, but of course I can always have it repaired by Whites. Buying this detector for most people would not be a mistake.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 9 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
130

Tried 2, that's enough!

November 03, 2014
I've owned 2 MXT's and I am not impressed. I've compared each one to my Tesoro Vaquero. (1/2 the price) Vaquero is lighter, 1/2 the weight. Simpler to adjust, a few simple adjustments. Detects deeper, a quarter at 10" vs. 8" for the MXT. Detects smaller, a 9 grain nugget vs. 0 for the MXT. MXT VDI numbers jumped all over the scale, vs solid tones. The second MXT was sent directly from the Whites factory as as a perfect working detector. Now I could mention the comparison to my Gold Bug Pro, but the Gold Bug Pro is even better.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 3 stars
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
1611

Mxt tracker... works out great

April 07, 2013
I had a long hiatus using a metal detector. The White's Coin Master, Compass and Garrett's from the late 1970's are early 1980's. I would eventually loan them to my brother who would beat them senseless and do "special" tweaking on them that looked more like camouflage and silicon sealer to the loose fitted housings.

The water proof heads were great at the time, as we would hit the swimming holes in Missouri and reap the 10k and 14k rings. Nobody would dare taking a $300 piece of equipment into the water... Would they? Today, I leave the water detecting to those who are not floating the electronics onto a float and work the waterproof head with the long extended handle.

Now, 2011 comes and I read reviews on the internet and purchased the MXT Tracker. At first it seemed like there was more electronics and switches I would need. Wrong. I was able to make the different search choices to "narrow" down the good stuff from the not so good. By starting with the relic mode to get the "good high pitch" from iron, I would then go to coin and jewelry and watch the BAR CHART CLOSELY.

It works and after getting some experience, a bit frustrating at first with the new electronics and how the head locates an item, I cannot be made any happier. I have been hunting some 1860's railroad sites and beginning with the Relic Mode gives me a first clue watching the bar graph. I switch to Coin and Jewelry to get a "second opinion". I will pass on the Iron, unless I have a reason to also check those finds out... You know RAILROAD and IRON... I have square nails and spikes to hold down a house.

I LOVE getting picky and only recover Henry Rifle cartridges, Sharps cartridges, pin fire and rim fire pistol cartridges when my back aches. Brass military buttons. Coins. Parts of pocket watches, brass hinges, 1860's tin cans...
The MXT even detects the "tiny" caps used with a cap and ball firearm. I can find BB size lead at 10 inches and probably deeper if they were deeper. The one thing that takes getting use to... The older heads would peak when the object (other than pull tabs) was under the center spot. Sure made finding the metal item fast.

The MXT can move the target around where I do not really concentrate until the find... MOVES by my kicking dirt around or sifting it through my hands. A cap from a black powder firearm sounds like you have found a big piece of brass... And you keep moving it around as if it is invisible. But... I find the stuff.

A large iron object can sound like it is on the surface and after two feet of probing.. It is still DEEPER. As you can tell... I thought I was paying too much for more electronics than I would ever need, but I can eliminate (not all but most) junk when I am running into too much junk with discrimination. Although, when you are at a 1867, 1868 or 1869 camp site... If I get some noise out of the MXT, I am following up with the possibilities and going for it.

I have not had any electronic problems with the unit, but if I ever do... I would believe that WHITE's stands behind their products and not behind a closed door avoiding the subject. Spring is melting the snow, warming the ground and I am ready to hook up the trailer, load the two Blue Heelers and the wife and this retired guy is going to make the best of what time I have left on this Earth and wear this MXT as thin as a Sitting Liberty quarter dollar!

If Whites comes up with a need for Beta Testing some new product... Give one to me and I will hit these campsites across the Rockies with no mercy... As always. I know it is me, me, me... But look at my arms. They are proof I can swing the MXT faster than a dog sniffing the scent of a rabbit on the ground. The more surface you can cover in an hour, the more stuff you WILL find. Once you learn the bar graph percentages... Which at first seems like some tossed in way to jack up the price... It actually WORKS.

Not finding anything? Find another place. Avoid the playgrounds and public parks. Hit the plowed corn fields and old hunter's camps in the forest. The finds are there. What have I found... Never Enough. Never Enough.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 3 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
2512

Mxt tracker e series

January 07, 2013
This machine is really reliable. Working the local beaches and parks I never know what I will find. Too many great finds to count.

Two of my best ones are a 1922 silver dollar I found at the nb wedge 10 inches down. This coin was there a long time and was covered with patina.
Second was a mens platium wedding ring found on the 5th july with at no less than 30 other guys on the beach at the same time. Unbelievable find!!
I hunt as much as possible and recommend the mxt to anyone..

Overall Rating 5 stars!

242

Awesome, Easy to Use Machine

October 16, 2012
I fail to see why ANYONE would not like this machine. Straight forward to use and easy to learn. I feel it took no time at all to master this detector. After understanding the basic principles, I could hunt anywhere. Does it pick up junk, yes, sometimes. But from what I am understanding about all detector they will find metal, then go about deciding what type it is. Best rule of thumb, DIG IT ALL! You just never know what real treasures you might over look.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

210

MXT is a reliable and accurate detector

January 26, 2012
I purchased the White's MXT yesterday at a local dealer, and my first day out was very productive. I am new to this particular unit, watched the DVD and carefully studied the users guide, but it takes field work to get to know the MXT. I found three pennies, a very old child's toy fire engine, numerous parts from old farm machinery and a piece of rolled copper. I highly recommend this detector to anyone who wants the power of a high end, American made metal detector, yet simple enough for most beginners as well.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

917

MXTpro

January 23, 2012
I recently purchased an mxt pro because I had heard a lot of good reviews on many different forums. I have already owned a whites m6 which I thought was a brilliant machine....it's performance and price making it almost perfect.

The great thing about the mxt pro is the fact that you can adapt it to suit your own hunting style....there are plenty of different tone options to suit any user. You can use the machine as you would the m6....single or multi tone with a silent threshold....this makes the machine easy for a beginner.
You can then introduce a threshold and iron tones once you become a little more experienced with the detector which makes the mxt pro more accurate in trash and a little deeper than the m6.

It's deep, fast recovering and very sensitive on tiny objects which makes ideal for searching the low conductivity items in trashy areas, especially with a smaller coil.
Some say that the mxt is a noisy machine but certain modes are quiet and stable and no noisier than any other machine. I use mine in relic mode with 2 tone id and a slight threshold. I can turn the gain into the +1+2+3 segment in most of my fields with no excess noise problems.
Overall I would say that this is one of the best performing machines available today...you just need to take the time to learn it and adapt it to our own hunting style.
All the best, Neil.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

630

Whites mxt

January 22, 2012
Hi,
I was really worried about my spare tyre growing fast... I thought about selling my play station and buying a metal detector... For the money I could go for new garret 150 or one of vikings but I thought I would put some more in to a jar and buy a good used machine.

I chose two machines to look for and first to find would be the one. It was xp pro 250 or whites mxt. I was not using a metal detector since my national service (back in poland) when I used to find plenty of war relics (top find t34 tank - yes it is true, German aa cannon, thousands of ammunition, bombs, grenades, few helmets some coat and uniform buttons), anyway once I bought used mxt on ebay for 260 pound I could not wait to use it.

This machine is a great starting machine - please do not advise anyone a garret 150 - one of my mates got that yellow thing and he is swearing big time when I am going just behind him and I am pulling out hammerred pennies and plenty of other interesting stuff from 12"+. Mxt its a proper stuff - target recognition saves me a lot of digging in very trashy UK parks, depth reading is just about accurate and recovery time good but I recon I will need to buy a pin pointer soon just to make things easier. Beach mode is good but only on dry sand - on wet u can play with settings and adjust but it is not as depth as on dry - I had max 6" depth on wet sand and 10" on dry.
Just to make it clear... It is a very good quality built machine and the one I have was never serviced and still in very good condition - perfectly working - just some scratches all around (coil covered:) my top find was a 50s bottle top... Why? it was a weak reading but very deep and believe me or not u want to dig all of these weak deep reading - just in case. It is top find because depth I pulled it out... U may call me a liar but it was 15" with a ruller in my hand.

I have met few guys with other machines and for the money and well above the amount I paid there is nothing better u can get - the only deeper machine is viking 4 but u dig all of the stuff - pulse machine no target id no depth reading but for beaches it is the one.


Get yourself WHITES MXT - learn the machine - u will need few times out to do so - and u will make others with same money new equipment to swear and others with more expensive machines to be well impressed. Next machine will be something for over thousand - used as well - and I hope it will impress me as much as MXT. I need to buy few coils like the famous 300 first and I hope that would help me to get even more out of it. I will write another review once I will take the WHITES MXT back to Poland for holiday. I just hope it would be as good there for deep military finds as it is un uk for coins and jewlerry.
REGARDS,
DAWID MEHAL

Overall Rating 5 stars!

363

So far the MXT E-tracker is great!

January 02, 2012
First off I would like too say wow and with that I mean it is a well built and easy too use unit but you must learn its language and when you do you will love it for ever.
I for one have had many many Different brands and models from digital to analog and from knobs and push button I for one say there all good for detecting metals and I traded a new top of the line digital/push button unit. I was worried if I had made a mistake but when I took the mxt out for the first time and I was mistaken and my fears were diminished!

it is a top contender and I believe it will be with me on many adventures in the future! If you haven't tried one then you should and I'm not really gonna comment on its use in the field until I get more experience with it. But I can say this, if you decide too purchase one learn it and you will reap the rewards!!

Overall Rating 4 stars

252

Submit your review for Whites MXT Tracker

Submit your tip for Whites MXT Tracker