Whites MXT Tracker

Price: $800
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.63
Based on 90 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!5.00
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.40
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Whites MXT Tracker

Compare to ▼
Makro Racer $650
Fisher F-19 $800
Nokta FORS CoRe $699
Whites Sierra Super Trac $700
Whites MX5 $600
Tesoro Outlaw $650

Ridgecrest, CA prospector

August 01, 2010
I love this machine. I started with a Garrett Scorpion Gold Stinger, after so much frustration I sold it and bought a MXT300. No metal detector is easy to use right out of the box. They all take work to learn. But this is as easy as it gets.

After 3 mornings spent searching I've found maybe 50 or 60 trash items and one small gold nugget that made it all worthwhile. I'm a 90% prospector, 10% coin & jewelry hunter. The depth & performance from this machine is more than enough. I also use a 10" DD search coil for prospecting.

Stick with it and good luck!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

470

Relic magnet

March 16, 2010
I've been relic hunting for some time now and have a pretty good collection going. I wanted to buy a new machine and did my homework and decided to go with the MXT. I love how versatile this detector is. Everywhere I hunt the ground really seems to differ. With the MXT I can set the machine up to accommodate with the bad ground.
I also love that the MXT is a button magnet. After purchasing this detector I went back to places I've been before (like many of you have done before) and started digging buttons that were deeper than my old machine went. Seems like the finds are better now than before.
Just learn your machine and listen to what it's telling you. And don't always rely on the depth detector, just use caution when digging if not sure. Other than that the MXT is a great Detector.

Overall Rating 4 stars

400

18 months after

March 05, 2010
I really liked the MXT 300 and been using it for 18 months, I store it in my bedroom, it sat for 2 weeks then I turned it on and it just screaches and says overload with any coil. Never saw something that self destructs. White will fix it but is this a lemon? never been wet never dropped either. I hope this is a freak as I do think these are the best out there, I little to heavy but that it.

Overall Rating 4 stars

1065

White's MXT

March 01, 2010
I own a MXT and a GMT. Both of these detectors I would rate as "Hot Rods". I see complaints about noise, wrong coils, having to reduce Gain. I say PHOOEY! You must use the correct coil for the surrounding soil. That is why there are different coils listed. There is not one magic coil or one magic detector. The MXT has "Initial Settings" as a baseline but you must adjust the detector to your surroundings for best operation. I love my White's machines and will add more to my stable. Clip on visor lights can resolve the back light problem (you need that same visor light to see to dig your hole (which a back light won't provide) ).
No one has mentioned Whites Service.... If you have an unfortunate accident or something needs attention, send it in and you will get it back in tip top condition real quick (no detector withdrawal really sux) and whites wants you back in the field A.S.A.P. I love my MXT......

Overall Rating 5 stars!

567

MXT 300 is OUTSTANDING!

January 02, 2010
I've just purchased the MXT 300 as an upgrade to my first machine which to be honest I only used a few times. All I can say is that the MXT 300 is absolutely outstanding and I would recommend it to beginners and experienced users alike. This machine will make you want to go out and treasure hunt because you'll know if there is something there… the MXT will find it!

The 3 modes of operation are all great and any of them will serve you well. It is about as switch on and go as you can get but read the manual and watch youtube detecting videos and the Whites guide to the MXT to pick up tips etc. It will make your life sooooo much easier. The standard coil that comes with the MXT 300 is the Super 12 (12”) which is the difference between the MXT which comes with the standard 9.5”. Apart from the paint job and these two coils, the machines are identical.

If you will be searching high trash areas then you might have a little trouble with the Super 12 coil because it is an absolute beast! It goes deep but it will be hard to separate out trash items which are close to each other. The MXT machine will do a great job trying and will often succeed but it will be easier with a smaller coil (MXT 9.5”) or better yet, an optional smaller ellipse DD coil which will separate even better. You will save yourself a lot of digging time. But in no/low trash areas, the Super 12 will become your best friend!

The pinpointing feature over the MXT is a breeze. Just pull the trigger, watch the bars on the LCD and off you go. EASY! You will pretty quickly begin to get the hang of how to trust the MXT. The LCD readout is extremely useful and usually very reliable. It will give you a VDI number, what it thinks it might be and a confidence bar to let you know how confident the machine is about this particular target.

All in all, this machine is a true gem and you will not be sorry you purchased it. It makes detecting easy, fun and rewarding which is what this hobby is all about!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

830

Very good model for whites

December 22, 2009
I originally owned a prizm 2 for a short time and hated it. It was a noise maker. But this Mxt is a different story. In 5 days of owning it I've found more nickels with it than any machine I've ever used. Plus a Gold keychain worth 65 bucks. I also found my first Mecury Dime 1935. I've also found several rings with it though they were not gold I suspect with more time and use I will find one. I also found an interesting bracelet and some quarters and dimes. This machine has made me a Whites Fan.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

373

Outstanding Coin and Jewelry Detector

December 20, 2009
I'm very new at detecting, and this is my second detector which is a step up from mt last entry level detector. Since using the MXT I have effectively trippled my coin finds. The LCD display is extremely useful and has allowed me to quickly identify trash vs. the good stuff. By reading the confidence bars in conjunction with the VDI #'s, I pretty much know whether or not the objects are worth digging.

I've only used the MXT for coin and jewelry so far so I can't comment on its relic and prospecting performance, but for what I do most of the time it has far exceeded my expectations. I highly recommend the MXT; it's an excellent value.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

293

MXT and D2 will find the deep ones

October 21, 2009
I have had my MXT for a little over a year now and I love it to no end. I bought my MXT to upgrade from a Prizm. At first, it was very noisy and took some getting used to, but once I got used to the machine, I never looked back.

I have found some really nice coins from my area including an 1894-S dime, 1896 Canadian dime and a 1915 plain Barber half.

I will admit that this machine takes some practice but that is true of any machine. I am still learning how to listen to mine but the finds just keep getting better. The best part is, this machine will roll with the more expensive machines no problem, and even beat them in some cases.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

382

Very very Pleased

July 17, 2009
First of all I would like to say, I have had more fun in the last 2 weeks using the mxt-300.
I have been able to search 3 yards in my neighborhood and have found over 120 coins, also a 1939 worlds fair token and many other little interesting items.
This machine works very well, very easy to use, and worth every penny.
As soon as I can I will be buying another one for my son to use.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

222

Does not perform to the hype

June 02, 2009
Used this detector on the beach in Florida. Nickels were shown as buttons, and it gave a lot of false readings. I had one small area where it showed a dollar, a button, a pull tab or ring. After digging a hole 2ft by 2ft and 18 inches deep I never found anything. I was checking all my sand with the detector as I was removing it and afterwards. It has a lot of nice features but if they don't work it isn't worth much.

Overall Rating 2 stars

2091

Submit your review for Whites MXT Tracker

Submit your tip for Whites MXT Tracker