Whites DFX

Whites DFX Price: $1000
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.52
Based on 90 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.09
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars3.82
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Whites DFX

Compare to ▼
Fisher F-19 $800
Blisstool LTC64X v3 $1000
Teknetics G2 $750
Whites Spectra VX3 $1200
Minelab Xterra 705 $900
Whites Spectra V3 and V3i $1500

Several years now

November 22, 2016
I've used a DFX for several years now, and improved greatly since viewing the tutorial videos on YouTube. Wouldn't use another. Awesome results to about a foot on larger targets and 8-10 inches on coins etc. Gold rings up as pull tab, but I'm a dig every signal anyway, so every target is the next adventure! Standard presets, coins or coin/relics are more than sufficient for a plethora of targets, gold, silver, lead, and of course, lawn slaw.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
34

You won't be sorry

June 04, 2016
While the DFX might not be the "deepest" detector on the market, if you take the time to learn it, you'll find that it is one of the most accurate. Other detectors only give you a number ID and/or a tone but you'find out that you can get fooled very easily and dig a lot of trash.
Using the DFXs Spectragraph ALONG with the VDI and tones, will significantly decrease the amount of trash you dig.

I also own a Fisher F75SE and believe me, the DFX beats the 75 on accuracy in IDing the target by a wide margin. As for depth, the DFX is no slouch. I use it at the beach (I also have an Excalibur for when I go in the water) and on land. The DFX can hit gold chains that the Excalibur doesn't even see, even on the surface!!!

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
1217

Dfx metal detector

March 21, 2016
To me DFX is the most highly advanced metal detector, I have never owned a V3I Spectrum would like to try them all to get the feel out of them I only own two metal detectors now a Pioneer 202 Bounty Hunter that ain't worth much I just like toying around with it in other place and the DFX is super awesome. Many are frustrated because they do not know how to tweak it right I got mine tweaked almost perfect on collerate mode I got a Eclispe DD deep scan. Tell you the truth that think almost goes 2 feet down if you want to dig that far without any interference.

I've found Indian Head Pennies 3 silver rings wheat pennies and a lot of clad but its worth its money if you know how to tweak the settings I don't use the pre set programs I make my own and they work well in Kentucky. I've owned my DFX for about 2 years now I haven't been in many places but if you get it set right you will love it. I've had some nice experiences out of the Whites Di Pro 5900 and 6000 I went over to an old Barbourville Horse Track. Found 17 silver washington quarters, around 15 roosevelt dimes, 1 mercy dime, few wheat pennies and 1 buffalo nickel. If you going to choose any metal detector out here White's makes the best in my opinion. I've had Garrett's they do some what good but not like White's. Those two are awesome older detectors found a lot of silver with them. I know that I've probably missed a lot of older coins with those older detectors I haven't really checked what the DFX could really find never have found an old gold coin with them yet would like too but out of the 19 years playing around with them found some nice tips and tricks how to find just about anything.

I got a deep silver program made on DFX it finds silver 8-9 inches deep easy if you get around a lot of electricial lines you will have a problem to keep it stable. That is one thing bad about metal detectors. But if you want a metal detector any could do for anyone if they feel comfortable with them but DFX is my choice. I would recommend this too a new user, I would recommend finding other professionals that has set up their programs and follow them and use them to see if they work in your mineralized ground conditions if you find one that works your ready and set to find some valuable treasures lurking around. Your not going to go out and just pick up valuables all over the place the best thing you can do is go to the libraries and find old maps where places where that you think that has never been hunted in around the world and find someone to give you permission to get in those places and then may give them a profit out of what you find it would be best to do that these guys do that all the time in different locations they go find stuff and get a percentage out of it and place many things in a museum but if you are not the type of person to do that its best to get permission to go in places and find some awesome new finds.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 6 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
1318

Worst detector i have ever used

January 14, 2016
Trying to set this peace of junk up with all them settings is mind boggling never ever struggled and got no where has with this detector do not by one of thees very very hard to set up trust me no depth at all no matter how you try set the thing up and very noisy to you are guaranteed to struggle with this honest don't beleave all the hype.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 3 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 1 star
Ease of Use 1 star
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
1940

Highley over rated

November 24, 2014
If you would like the honest truth on the dfx trust me I had a dfx and got rid of it within one week very hard to ground balance hundreds of settings crap on wet sand very heavy no depth honest buzzes all the time masiverley over complicated had this machine one week went out every day with it and had enough of it, sent it back and got a minelabe exploror 2 never looked back very quiet even on wet sand job done honest.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 6 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 1 star
Ease of Use 1 star
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
2753

Awesome machine

November 02, 2014
Just picked one up and within a week of using found a musket ball.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
2118

Dfx max 4-5 inches

October 24, 2014
I have been using the DFX now for (9) nine years have many of finds 40 or more silver pulls rings, chains etc and about 15 gold rings but nothing deeper than 4-5 inches and about 4000 thousand in clad coins (OH Yeah well this is my take on the dfx.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 5 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 3 stars
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
2616

Dfx not for sell

September 12, 2014
Hi all, over the years I have tried many many machines with various degrees of success(now bragging rights baby)yep its more than money for me the Whites DFX crossed my path by chance because I got my next door neighbor hopelessly addicted to metal detecting and man is he good at it now!

Well anyways long story short he went out and upgraded from a buzz box to a DFX after his 1st gold ring And him and I would hunt all over the state of Texas mostly in Waco area its a nice place too. I continuously watched this man just find great things after great things with this Whites DFX well one day I decided I had enough of my GTI 1000 Bleep!Bleep! So I went out and bought a new DFX and its been a very GREAT Machine I have had a Mine-lab the 705 gold but it was just not as good as the DFX so I sold it and turned down to cash offers for my baby, sorry NOT FOR SELL.
I have found way too many great things with my DFX and it would be hard to find something to trade up to... Well maybe a newer DFX my machine is a veteran like me and shows its scars from long drives and good hunts...

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 12 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
1622

Best machine ever!!!

July 13, 2014
Whites detectors may airtest the same with other machines but when it comes to dirt these machines have no equal!!! The most versatile machine for the pro, but yet cheap and easy for the novice too. Buy one now!!!

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 12 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
1816

Dfx is great

July 24, 2013
Since buying my DFX I have found a cannon ball, eagle belt buckle, 40 civil war bullets, shield nickel, 1941 and 1943 mercury dimes, 1954 silver quarter, 1954 silver nickel, 1890 Indian head penny, 10 gram gold ring, gold pendant, French dragoon bullet from the seige of Vicksburg. This within 3 months of owning it. This machine is the best I have ever used. You do have to learn it but you can go to DFXONLY.com, Findsmall.com and find programs to help you.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 3 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
1814

Submit your review for Whites DFX

Submit your tip for Whites DFX