Whites DFX

Whites DFX Price: $1000
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.52
Based on 93 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.21
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars3.71
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Whites DFX

Compare to ▼
Fisher F-19 $800
Blisstool LTC64X v3 $1000
Teknetics G2 $750
Whites Spectra VX3 $1200
Minelab Xterra 705 $900
Whites Spectra V3 and V3i $1500

Dfx still great!

August 06, 2017
I've used my DFX for 15 years and have been totally satisfied. It has outperformed any detector used alongside it and built during it's time and before. I haven't used it in comparison to the newer detectors such as the V3i, which I'm sure will outperform the DFX in depth, but the DFX still does what I need it to. Most of my finds(coins) have all been found 9 inches or less, and a great majority of those were found 6 inches or less, so deeper isn't always the best.

First of all, you have to get your detector 'over' the target, and secondly, you need to 'know' your detector, and how to use it under different conditions. If you do this, your DFX will be tough to beat even in todays competition. Two guys on the beach had an XLT and a Minelab, and they had a bigfoot and 6X10 DD coils. They took off down the beach, and in 1/2 hour they were almost out of sight among the other beachgoers.
I walked in their footsteps along the water's edge and went my usually pace which is kind of slow, because of overlapping sweeps. When they returned, they found a few coins, quarters dimes and pennies, but not much to show for covering such a large distance. I found more coins in total then theirs together, and a small gold chain, and a small silver ring. They were impressed that I found this in the area they had already detected.
It's all about technique and knowing your detector. I recently bought another DFX since I like mine so much and understand it well. I may someday get a new detector(V3i), but I will never get rid of either of my DFX's.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 11 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
20

Dfx- control freaks rejoice!

June 05, 2017
I have had the DFX for about a year. It's a definite keeper in my collection. The main thing to know is that it is NOT a turn on and go machine. It needs to be learned, studied and experimented with on an ongoing basis to get it's full potential.
I have noticed that it's not the deepest detector I own, but I find more gold and silver with it than any of my other detectors. Except in some special circumstances, depth tends to be over-rated with a lot of people in the hobby.
My best finds are in the surface to 8 inch range.....All easily hit with the factory pre-programmed slots on the machine. You can develop your own couple of programs as you learn the machine. There are even program cards for sale on Ebay and many forum members provide various program settings for free. The coil selection is great and even after market coils are available that work very well with the machine. For those of us that love to tinker and control our machines.....The DFX is the machine you're looking for.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 3 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, it's too complic
53

Dfx for approx 15 years

May 02, 2017
It's been my main machine for more years than any other, some issues like everything, but over all I generally walk circles around my hunting partner... That said I won't tell you it's the deepest, something I don't know ???????.. It goes deep and when set correctly does well in wet salt sand.. You will never really know if your machine is better than another unless you swap signals when you get a target... Something me and my partner do.. If you're out relic or coin hunting and get a target... Throw a stone on it and call your partner using a different machine... If you both get the signal then you're just lucky to walk over it... Doesn't mean you're machine is better... A lot has to do with technique and how you swing your machine and coil... I give DFX an 8 out of 10... It's never died on me or failed to work... So there you have my two cents worth.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 7 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 3 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
83

Several years now

November 22, 2016
I've used a DFX for several years now, and improved greatly since viewing the tutorial videos on YouTube. Wouldn't use another. Awesome results to about a foot on larger targets and 8-10 inches on coins etc. Gold rings up as pull tab, but I'm a dig every signal anyway, so every target is the next adventure! Standard presets, coins or coin/relics are more than sufficient for a plethora of targets, gold, silver, lead, and of course, lawn slaw.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
88

You won't be sorry

June 04, 2016
While the DFX might not be the "deepest" detector on the market, if you take the time to learn it, you'll find that it is one of the most accurate. Other detectors only give you a number ID and/or a tone but you'find out that you can get fooled very easily and dig a lot of trash.
Using the DFXs Spectragraph ALONG with the VDI and tones, will significantly decrease the amount of trash you dig.

I also own a Fisher F75SE and believe me, the DFX beats the 75 on accuracy in IDing the target by a wide margin. As for depth, the DFX is no slouch. I use it at the beach (I also have an Excalibur for when I go in the water) and on land. The DFX can hit gold chains that the Excalibur doesn't even see, even on the surface!!!

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
2021

Dfx metal detector

March 21, 2016
To me DFX is the most highly advanced metal detector, I have never owned a V3I Spectrum would like to try them all to get the feel out of them I only own two metal detectors now a Pioneer 202 Bounty Hunter that ain't worth much I just like toying around with it in other place and the DFX is super awesome. Many are frustrated because they do not know how to tweak it right I got mine tweaked almost perfect on collerate mode I got a Eclispe DD deep scan. Tell you the truth that think almost goes 2 feet down if you want to dig that far without any interference.

I've found Indian Head Pennies 3 silver rings wheat pennies and a lot of clad but its worth its money if you know how to tweak the settings I don't use the pre set programs I make my own and they work well in Kentucky. I've owned my DFX for about 2 years now I haven't been in many places but if you get it set right you will love it. I've had some nice experiences out of the Whites Di Pro 5900 and 6000 I went over to an old Barbourville Horse Track. Found 17 silver washington quarters, around 15 roosevelt dimes, 1 mercy dime, few wheat pennies and 1 buffalo nickel. If you going to choose any metal detector out here White's makes the best in my opinion. I've had Garrett's they do some what good but not like White's. Those two are awesome older detectors found a lot of silver with them. I know that I've probably missed a lot of older coins with those older detectors I haven't really checked what the DFX could really find never have found an old gold coin with them yet would like too but out of the 19 years playing around with them found some nice tips and tricks how to find just about anything.

I got a deep silver program made on DFX it finds silver 8-9 inches deep easy if you get around a lot of electricial lines you will have a problem to keep it stable. That is one thing bad about metal detectors. But if you want a metal detector any could do for anyone if they feel comfortable with them but DFX is my choice. I would recommend this too a new user, I would recommend finding other professionals that has set up their programs and follow them and use them to see if they work in your mineralized ground conditions if you find one that works your ready and set to find some valuable treasures lurking around. Your not going to go out and just pick up valuables all over the place the best thing you can do is go to the libraries and find old maps where places where that you think that has never been hunted in around the world and find someone to give you permission to get in those places and then may give them a profit out of what you find it would be best to do that these guys do that all the time in different locations they go find stuff and get a percentage out of it and place many things in a museum but if you are not the type of person to do that its best to get permission to go in places and find some awesome new finds.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 6 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
1622

Worst detector i have ever used

January 14, 2016
Trying to set this peace of junk up with all them settings is mind boggling never ever struggled and got no where has with this detector do not by one of thees very very hard to set up trust me no depth at all no matter how you try set the thing up and very noisy to you are guaranteed to struggle with this honest don't beleave all the hype.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 3 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 1 star
Ease of Use 1 star
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
2451

Highley over rated

November 24, 2014
If you would like the honest truth on the dfx trust me I had a dfx and got rid of it within one week very hard to ground balance hundreds of settings crap on wet sand very heavy no depth honest buzzes all the time masiverley over complicated had this machine one week went out every day with it and had enough of it, sent it back and got a minelabe exploror 2 never looked back very quiet even on wet sand job done honest.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 6 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 1 star
Ease of Use 1 star
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
3164

Awesome machine

November 02, 2014
Just picked one up and within a week of using found a musket ball.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
2522

Dfx max 4-5 inches

October 24, 2014
I have been using the DFX now for (9) nine years have many of finds 40 or more silver pulls rings, chains etc and about 15 gold rings but nothing deeper than 4-5 inches and about 4000 thousand in clad coins (OH Yeah well this is my take on the dfx.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 5 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 3 stars
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
3019

Submit your review for Whites DFX

Submit your tip for Whites DFX