Whites DFX

Price: $1000
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.52
Based on 96 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.24
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars3.71
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Whites DFX

Compare to ▼
Fisher F-19 $800
Blisstool LTC64X v3 $1000
Teknetics G2 $750
Whites Spectra VX3 $1200
Minelab Xterra 705 $900
Whites Spectra V3 and V3i $1500

Highley over rated

November 24, 2014
If you would like the honest truth on the dfx trust me I had a dfx and got rid of it within one week very hard to ground balance hundreds of settings crap on wet sand very heavy no depth honest buzzes all the time masiverley over complicated had this machine one week went out every day with it and had enough of it, sent it back and got a minelabe exploror 2 never looked back very quiet even on wet sand job done honest.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 6 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 1 star
Ease of Use 1 star
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
3174

Awesome machine

November 02, 2014
Just picked one up and within a week of using found a musket ball.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
2623

Dfx max 4-5 inches

October 24, 2014
I have been using the DFX now for (9) nine years have many of finds 40 or more silver pulls rings, chains etc and about 15 gold rings but nothing deeper than 4-5 inches and about 4000 thousand in clad coins (OH Yeah well this is my take on the dfx.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 5 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 3 stars
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
3223

Dfx not for sell

September 12, 2014
Hi all, over the years I have tried many many machines with various degrees of success(now bragging rights baby)yep its more than money for me the Whites DFX crossed my path by chance because I got my next door neighbor hopelessly addicted to metal detecting and man is he good at it now!

Well anyways long story short he went out and upgraded from a buzz box to a DFX after his 1st gold ring And him and I would hunt all over the state of Texas mostly in Waco area its a nice place too. I continuously watched this man just find great things after great things with this Whites DFX well one day I decided I had enough of my GTI 1000 Bleep!Bleep! So I went out and bought a new DFX and its been a very GREAT Machine I have had a Mine-lab the 705 gold but it was just not as good as the DFX so I sold it and turned down to cash offers for my baby, sorry NOT FOR SELL.
I have found way too many great things with my DFX and it would be hard to find something to trade up to... Well maybe a newer DFX my machine is a veteran like me and shows its scars from long drives and good hunts...

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 12 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
2627

Best machine ever!!!

July 13, 2014
Whites detectors may airtest the same with other machines but when it comes to dirt these machines have no equal!!! The most versatile machine for the pro, but yet cheap and easy for the novice too. Buy one now!!!

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 12 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
2519

Dfx is great

July 24, 2013
Since buying my DFX I have found a cannon ball, eagle belt buckle, 40 civil war bullets, shield nickel, 1941 and 1943 mercury dimes, 1954 silver quarter, 1954 silver nickel, 1890 Indian head penny, 10 gram gold ring, gold pendant, French dragoon bullet from the seige of Vicksburg. This within 3 months of owning it. This machine is the best I have ever used. You do have to learn it but you can go to DFXONLY.com, Findsmall.com and find programs to help you.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 3 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
2315

DFX = pound coin magnet.

April 04, 2013
Well I had to laugh at another review on here that says the dfx shows foil as pound coins. The dfx is a very good pound coin hitter, 15 khz is best for "chubbies" (pound coin).

I have found probably over an hundred pound coins with the dfx, it sounds off good on them and can be set to just detect pound coins only if need be and reject most other junk. Rings= Well in 15 khz and with a crank up of the sensitivity a little the dfx will hit them fairly solid no problem.
I say fairly solid because gold rings sound like trash quite often this is why so many users don't get the rings. I got one signal in the sand dunes that sounded like foil and gave a vdi number of 9, fully expecting a clump of foil to be recovered I found it was a nice girls small gold ring, worth a tenner only, but nice to find anyway.

Pinpoint shows a smaller tighter signal than what a clump of foil shows so some idea can be got if the target is a small ring or a clump of foil (larger).9 out of 10 for the dfx. Long battery life and nice balance too.
Certainly a nice detector if you know how to use it right which you do to get better finds. Fully customizable so can be set for any condition or any range of targets. DFX IS UNDERATED for sure, in good hands it will produce many many good finds. Gary (uk)

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
1912

Dfx hunts like a dream VS the spectrum vx3!

February 25, 2013
I really do think my Spectrum DFX in many ways is better than the Spectrum VX3 or (V3i). I owned a Spectrum VX3 for a few months and sold it because it was too heavy for my shoulder and the battery life was horrible. It was a beautiful detector and the discrimination was awesome but the Con's outweighed the Pro's for me.

The DFX is MUCH lighter, the battery life is MUCH better and actually, it seems to discriminate and work pretty much as good as the VX3 in my experience. My hunting satisfaction and comfort since downgrading has been UPGRADED. My arm doesn't hurt as much and all the features I loved about the VX3, are there on the DFX (minus one extra frequency and the color display). I can still use all the coils that the VX3 and V3i use.

For those of you that haven't tried the DFX, it has a computer menu that with a little practice you will be very fast at adjusting.

I enable VCO for pinpointing, and I enable ToneID and that's all I really need to adjust.

The DFX works wonders in the wet beach sand compared to the MXT I had. Although I get a little EMI interference at one beach I go to, I lower the pre-amp gain in the menu and it's eliminated.

I am tickled pink with this detector and although I miss my MXT I think this detector is awesome. Unlike the MXT, I have a volume control, tone adjust and backlight for the LCD.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

216

Dfx

October 20, 2012
I have never bought a brand new metal detector, so I am not a client of Kellyco.. that said, I have bought many detectors over the years, all used. I now own the dfx. I became frustrated the first week of detecting, the second week I READ the manual.. you have heard the saying ( knowledge is power ) yup if you can study and implement that what you read ? The DFX is Perfect!!!!!!!

I see no reason to own another machine other than a gold specific machine like the GMT.. which I am using my dfx finds to purchase one soon.. now stop reading and researching detectors for I have done all this for you!!!! just go buy a DFX no regrets HEAR.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

207

I wasn't sure, but now I can say...

August 15, 2012
To start with I bought a coin promaster, and it worked well.. . Went to the beach, and found over $ 7. 00.. . It had a problem around the water being a single frequency.. . Then I decided, I wanted a better machine, and the dfx reveiws were as good as it gets.. . So I bought one on ebay for $ 450. 00 used in great shape.. .
I will say you need to read all you can about it, and study the machine, and practice with it so you can understand how it works.. . Learn how to set different programs and such.. .. I'm still learning the machine.. .

Ok, I used the coinmaster pro at a ballfield a while back, and found some coins.. . But I went today to the same ballfield with the dfx in two hours I nailed 3 quarters, 10 dimes, 15 pennies.. alot of the coins were at 5 1/2 to 6 inches deep, I was amazed at the difference in the two machines, but you do get what you pay for sometimes.
The dfx is a great metal detector. You can't beat it.

I would refer a friend to this metal detector.
God bless, and dig pull tabs to find the nickles, my dfx will read around 20 to 23 for nickles, you will still find pull tabs.

Remember the one who digs the most trash will find the most treasure.

I bought a small curved shovel to dig big plugs, gets me down to around 8 inches if I need to go that deep. easiest way I have found.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1711

Submit your review for Whites DFX

Submit your tip for Whites DFX