Whites DFX

Price: $1000
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.52
Based on 96 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.24
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars3.71
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Whites DFX

Compare to ▼
Fisher F-19 $800
Blisstool LTC64X v3 $1000
Teknetics G2 $750
Whites Spectra VX3 $1200
Minelab Xterra 705 $900
Whites Spectra V3 and V3i $1500

Great starter machine...with room to grow!

July 31, 2012
The White's DFX is truly a remarkable machine! The detector allows you to start as a greenhorn and use the preset programs built into the unit, each with it's special hunting patterns, and find things. The two frequencies eek out finds in the field that other single signal detectors overlook.

It also provides features, with your growth on how it works, to customize, modify, and save your settings with your gained in-depth understanding of the DFX itself. Other folks have mentioned price, but with what I have found, it has been well worth the money. I have used my extensively and prefer it over my other detectors costing far more. With my trusty DFX and it's 950 coil, the finds just keep coming.. .

Overall Rating 5 stars!

147

It really is the best detector you can buy.

May 13, 2012
Well, I have to say. I originally reviewed this machine and slated it. And now, having learned to use it properly(which really only amounted to an hour of serious work) I would really like to remove my previous review. I have re-read that review and am thoroughly ashamed to have written those words. They are basically the words of a beginner with the DFX. The fact is now, I would not use any other machine - period. It's just a case of getting used to it - that is all. I can categorically state without any doubt whatsoever that the DFX will compete, keep up or even outdo any other machine on the market. And, yes, that does include the e-trac,deus,V3i etc etc etc. I would now give the machine a 6 star rating if I could. It really does have every setting and every tweak available, you just have to use them accordingly. Thank you Whites - and sorry too.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

427

Dfx 300

March 22, 2012
A brilliant machine. Spot on for silver coins. Works deep with the spider coil. And the after service with whites is amazing. Very helpful and have plenty of time for you over the phone. We'll recommend anyone to go for a whites detector.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

159

LOVE IT

March 16, 2012
Its quite simply really. If you are willing to put the time in and really learn this machine you will have an advantage over other machines. I swing mine on the beach in the wet and yes I'll take it over an excal. If your going to go in over your knee time for an EXCAL or a DF.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

97

Dfx depth

March 13, 2012
I hear a lot of people saying that the Dfx will not go deep. I have been using mine for about 7 years now and found out if you turn down your sweep speed to 3-5 and adjust your recovery speed accordingly you will see a big difference in depth. also bump up your pre am gain and ac sensitivity as much as it will let you and I think you will find out just how deep your detector will go. and remember check your ground conditions and set your filters. I have found that 3 filters will do a pretty good job most times. I was out this eve. and was working the flag pole area at a school that has been pounded by detectorist for years and pulled out a 1926 buffalo nickle at over 8 inches deep,my buddy couldnt even get his new fancy 1500 dollar min lab to make even a beep at it. this machine will go deep!! all you have to do is learn it. hope this helped somebody.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

528

YES, IT IS A Gold Machine!

March 11, 2012
Using the Whites DFX in the California Gold country has been truly rewarding. When I first bought my DFX, I had a bit of buyers remorse due to the up front costs(Ouch!). After using it in the field my apprehensions vanished and I found it to be a Gold Machine worth every dollar spent. I removed the factory eclipse 950 and installed the Whites 10" DD coil, purely the best of both worlds. The Whites DFX gives a wealth of information while hunting. The D2 coil provides superb depth and excellent pin-pointing in the severe red California dirt. I am now looking to get a another DFX for my wife to double up on our finds.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

2511

DFX user for years

December 18, 2011
I have been an avid detectorist 15 + years. I simply love the DFX and the BEST fun I have is going where others have already been, Hunted OUT?

I have never failed to find targets where others have been. The DFX is the workhorse and it never fails to amaze me.

Lots of tricks to master the technology, and they work!

I have tried many others. DFX rocks!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

369

DFX may be complicated but....

November 04, 2011
I have owned my DFX a few months now and am enjoying the learning experience. I started with an XLT and some of the features are similar. Of course, the DFX has more features for tweaking. In addition to the learners manual, I bought "Digging deeper with the DFX" by Jeff Foster which helped since I am not an electronics geek.

I am now re-reading the book after a couple months of owning the DFX so that I am better at understanding the features. I have found lots of coins dating 1700's and newer but I am continuing to look for the treasure chest full of jewels and gold. I bought the 6x10 DD coil for the beach because I had too many problems with the '300' coil at the 'trashy' beach. The DFX may be a little complicated for the novice but perhaps not for the more experienced detectorist. Just a matter of experience.

Overall Rating 4 stars

349

DFX is all that!

September 29, 2011
As far as the guy from up state NY I've been detecting for 33 years and have used many models and I have found dimes at 11 inches no problem with the stock coil too. He must not have had the detector adjusted right for his area.
Now I will admit it takes some getting used to but all it takes is practice and getting out there. This detector has found me the price of its self many times over, 14 gold rings two gold coins one 5 dollar gold peace and a 20 gold peace and when I found them it about blew my headphones off my head.
The only detector that even comes close is the high end minelab that will cost you 5000 so you do the math. I have a lot of different detectors and I would never part with my trusty DFX.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

3511

Learning to use dfx

September 06, 2011
I have the dfx now for 5 months, takes a while to get used to all the setting, you have to study them carefully. First, if programming in custom mode, when you get the setting right for the place you are detecting it works very well set the customs wrong and you will have a hard time.
You have to take the time to learn this detector, when you do its brilliant. To start, it's better to use the relic mode until you are ready to experiment. Get some information online on customizing programs, you may need to change a few things. I am still only learning with the dfx, its also very good on the beach, there are lots of useful options with this detector, have found plenty of stuff with it.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

2611

Submit your review for Whites DFX

Submit your tip for Whites DFX