Whites DFX

Price: $1000
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.52
Based on 96 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.24
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars3.71
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Whites DFX

Compare to ▼
Fisher F-19 $800
Blisstool LTC64X v3 $1000
Teknetics G2 $750
Whites Spectra VX3 $1200
Minelab Xterra 705 $900
Whites Spectra V3 and V3i $1500

The best so far

September 01, 2009
I have been buying and selling detectors for a couple years now on ebay. I made a test bed with Pull tabs, silver, pop cans, metal, nails, different coins and so on. From shallow to deep. I have tried too many detectors to list. F75, explorer's, gti 2500 and such. I have stuck with the DFX due to it's stability.

Also on 3kHz for coins it will go as deep as my minelab would but more stable. Ended up with a 10x14" DD coil and a sunray probe attached. Run this with DC on and take the time to learn, this machine will not let you down. Super pinpointing and very stable would be my thoughts of this rating very high. Plus the right coil lets it hit dimes in hard clay at 9 inches. Practice makes perfect.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

5610

Hunted out sites still produce with the DFX

August 30, 2009
This is my third White's detector. I began with a Coinmaster, then a Silver Eagle and now I own a DFX. I've gone to sites that have been heavily hunted for years and was told there would be nothing left at all. It took about three weeks of using the machine and reading thoroughly Jeff Foster's book (Digging Deeper With The DFX) to fully understand the machine and the results have been nothing short of amazing. In these hunted out sites, I've pulled out coins dating back to the late 1800's. Even the tiny five cent silvers (they are the size of U.S. half dimes) were dug at depths of up to nine inches. One large cent was deeper than this. Very few of the signals are clean and pure at these depths and that is part of the learning curve. Knowing what to listen for when hunting deep coins. I've hunted sites along with other detectorists who have "better" (higher priced) machines and still pulled up finds that they missed.

I can say that this is one of the best machines I've ever used and I have no intention of switching to another brand in the near future.

I've installed my own programs to use in different sites and have yet to be disappointed.

Once you understand the relationship between the ground balance and the AC and DC sensitivity settings, there is no reason not to find deep, old targets.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

7710

Xlt to dfx

August 04, 2009
I started out with a xlt and found thousands of coins, rings and artifacts over the last several years. I just purchased a whites dfx and noticed more depth and easier detecting. Luck of the Irish with the dfx (gold escudo and several cobb pieces of eight) cape cod vacation 4-12-09. I will be a buyer of whites for the rest of my days.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

2012

Don't believe what everyone says!

June 25, 2009
I have read the digging deeper with the DFX and have spent hours tuning and adjusting to no avail. This machine will NOT go deeper than 5 inches in my part of the world unless its big and iron in content. I have not given up, but if the coil I purchase next doesn't net me any positive results, then I will throw in the towel and have to be content with the 4 inch finds. I read alot of hype about finding this and that coin at 9 inches and fell for it hook line and sinker thinking that I'd put this to work inside of a few days and be finding coins at great depth......it is really not that complicated although it seems overwhelming the first time you skim through the factory manual at all the variables you can change.

This is not a difficult machine to learn so long as you take the time to comprehend what you are reading and have the patience and persistence to repeat steps and learn the effects of your changes if they are evident, not always the case....and frustrating when you can't tell whether you've had any positive results or not.

Long story shorter........don't believe all the hype about dimes at 11 inches.....don't count on it without either some perfect ground conditions and some serious good fortune.

I'm not putting the DFX down, but rather making someone else that may be contemplating a purchase.... as was I a few months ago..... understand that this machine is NOT as magic or SUPERCALIFRAGILISTICEXPIALIDOCIOUS as a lot of people make it sound.

I am overall pleased with it, but very disappointed with a DFX300 that only gets 2 inches deeper than the detector I had in the 70's....

Not for lack of trying, this machine is far from what I expected for depth.

Overall Rating 3 stars

10927

Ibsparky96

June 06, 2009
I have used this for the past year now in many places all over the country and found it to be a most impressive detector. I have used 5 different brends of detectors but none are as programable as this one. If simple is your way then this is not the detector for you but if you like electronic gadgets and like to change programs this is the one. I REALLY don't recomend the beginner mess with the the pro options until they do their homework on this unit. Lots of books for this detector out there. I call it the pandora's box of metal detectors. If one gets into the programing without learning what changes can happen then they will have a useless noise maker.

I have hunted with a variety of detectorist with different machines and I have outdone even the minelabs. I truly believe any brand of machine is only as good as the operator but if one has the time this is a really good tool. I have found coins past 9 inches with stock coil and caches to 2 feet with the spider coil. The only bugs me is this detector does not like EMI(ATT wireless cell phones are the worst). I have some custom programs I have created for this at www.dfxonly.com as well as others.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

3511

Whites dfx

June 05, 2009
This is a great detector (dfx)... I have used the xlt for many years and moved up to the dfx! The biggest difference is the dfx has two freqs...and its not gonna leave anything behind!
The dfx is like the xlt with high power lines but the dfx is a little more unstable when your near high power lines or a big transformer. Other than that there is a hugh learning curve to the xlt or the dfx but the installed programs work great...so it is turn on and go also! I really enjoy my dfx and wouldnt trade it for nothing...

Overall Rating 5 stars!

209

DFX = dissapointment

May 21, 2009
Over a year ago I purchased the newest and greatest detector Whites ever produced!! The DFX was far from great and if that is the best they could do then I feel sorry for them.

My issues:

Machine comes with a useless 9.5 concentric coil

Must purchase aftermarket coils to get best performance

Too many choices for setting up the machine. Countless hours of adjusting required to make DFX perform at a marginal level.

Two freq's available

Iron falsing to no end and EMF makes the DFX useless.

What's the remedy? Buy a Minelab! Problem solved.

Overall Rating 1 star

27118

Still Learning

March 15, 2009
I hunt mainly on high mineralised soil full of raw iron ferrite rocks which generally sorts out the men from the boys when it comes to detectors. I've only owned the DFX for two weeks with the 6x10 and 12" spider coils and on my land which I thought to be hunted out so far i've 4 Hammered's 1 cut half and my first cut quarter & 2 relics yet to be ID.
I cant recall anyone saying about the sensitivity of this machine, its top notch & 6x10 coil is a must for the east of england.
Drawbacks, you have to read the books and learn the machine.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

3613

Go back over previous sites w/ wWhite DFX 300

November 28, 2008
I just upgraded to a Whites DFX 300, from a Garret 2500. I just wanted to say that I have been finding more coins than ever. I did a side by side comparison. THe reult where the DFX registered a dime or penny 9" depth, the Garret didnt even register. It was a 1941 wheat. Proof enough for me!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

768

Eu_citzen's review

July 09, 2008
Pros:
Light weight
Quite many functions(aka flexible)
Discrimination works almost everywhere
Many coils available
Easy to use (if your not to fast trying to get into programming the machine)
You can use multiple frequencies


Cons:
You have to read books to under stand it better
Headphones are not always included
Depth is not alway very good

Note! The DFX is more of a modern coin shooter as disc is super but depth is not always so.

It really depends on what your after... Coins & jewelry the DFX will be a very good choice.

Here's some good info: (I did copy some indeed I wrote much there)
http://www.findmall.com/read.php?31,734662

Overall Rating 5 stars!

3321

Submit your review for Whites DFX

Submit your tip for Whites DFX