Garrett Ace 250

Price: $250
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.20
Based on 260 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.05
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.50
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Garrett Ace 250

Compare to ▼
Fisher F22 $230
Whites TreasureMaster $299
Minelab GO-FIND 40 $230
Minelab GO-FIND 60 $310
Teknetics Omega 8500 $330
Bounty Hunter Quick Draw Pro $299

Garret ace 250

October 04, 2014
I bought a garret ace 250 and I'm telling you it works great I watched all the videos on how to use it I felt like I knew the detector before I even received it.

I took it behind a jr high scool in northen Illinois and in my first hour of looking I found enough clad change to fill my hand 4 wheat pennies at 6 inches and a 14k wedding band the next day I found so much change I had to take it back to the car twice the whole weekend I found 67 dollars in clad change 1 silver quarter 1935 1 indain head penny and 1 gold chain 1 gold ring but I'm telling you you have to dig the nickels to find gold yes I did find a lot of pull tabs its all good its the challenge of the hunt you never know what is going to pop out of that ground your serching this detector works great I would recommend this metal detector to anyone thanks happy searching.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 7 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
2311

Please get your facts straight

September 18, 2014
I just purchased this 250. I'm new to this. I've taken in out on Cape Cod beaches and have done very well. I would suggest the negative posters here read the manual and spend more than 1/2 using it before posting a neg.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
2212

Ace 250 very poor quality

August 26, 2014
I see many false reviews on the ace 250. There is no reason to church up a turd like the ace 250. Dealer Shills like to post lies to get you swayed into over priced junk. I bought a new ace 250 after reading all the good reviews boy was that a big waste of money. I sold it after a month of use. It has poor I mean poor disk, and cant lock on nothing but ghost signals and a lot of trash.

It was good at finding pennies at 1 to 2 inch mark. There are many cheaper units or (at the same cost units) better than the ace like some others I've used like tesoro U max, bounty hunter 101, fisher 1212x, 1225x and the discovery 3300. In closing do not buy the ace 250 unless you have lost your car plates, boat anchor, or a box of nails. I am done with garrett after using the crappy 250. Yes there is a reason that ebay is flooded with aces people find out like myself that they are JUNK.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 3 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 1 star
Ease of Use 2 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
2366

Good investment for the beginner

July 24, 2014
I was interested in the hobby for some time but was put off by the high prices of detectors, especially here in South Africa with our weak exchange rate..... Anyway, found the Garrett distributor in South Africa and bought the ACE 250 at a price I could afford. I watched all the videos and read up on a lot of tips. With in no time I was finding metal under ground - even a gold wedding band in my back yard!

It is an easy machine to use with great features for the beginner and it will teach you the basics of detecting. Spend time in the right spots and it will pay for itself in a short time. Invariably you will want to upgrade as you get more and more proficient in detecting. The ACE 250 is a value for money starter into the bobby - if you don't like the hobby you can quit without having broken your bank.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 7 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
3217

Ace 250

July 23, 2014
Ace 250 is a great beginner detector.I have used it for 4+ years now. My best story is I went to a school playground and out came a guy with a bounty hunter and I said to him" OH you found everything!" (I was a little bummed). Well I tried the place out anyhow and to my utter surprise I pulled out at about 4 to 5 inches a 22karat necklace and sent it to ARA. I was paid $350.00!!! My Ace has paid for itself many times over with coins, silver and gold.

I have had no problems with my Ace. It can false when bumped but like any detector you learn the machine. Don't believe anyone who says they are junk they just don't like the belltone or maybe the yellow color. True it doesn't have lighting recovery speed like a Fisher but it finds the goods! It has no vdiNumbers but the icons work well.
If you dig nickels you will find gold for sure if its there.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 7 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? I have no clue...
238

Ace 250 toy at best

June 24, 2014
The Ace 250 has no depth, it will hardly hit 3 inches on a quarter if in good soil and then it will false on the id. I can take a bounty hunter 202 and run circles around any ace 250 out there. Ebay is flooded with Ace250s for a reason they are AKA JUNK. Garrett use to make a good detector but has failed with the Ace250.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 3 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
1830

Acer (one year on)

March 15, 2014
I have had the Acer for a year now. I have found gold and a nice Charles 1st half crown and a couple of groats plus plenty of other coinage. I'm selling the Acer now and going for a more upgraded minelab, but the Acer has payed for its self and hopefully once I sell it, the proceeds are going pay for a nice new detector.
The Acer is a great beginners detector, but being on farmland and openland I find I need more in the way of depth now. But after having the Acer a year and finding about £1000 worth of coins, I think it was well worth buying.

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? I have no clue...
219

Acer ok for first detector

January 28, 2014
Well I had the ace 250 a year now had about 10 hammered and God knows how many 17th coppers and gold guinea silver but Acer OK but need to go deeper now and looking for a upgrade, I'm thinking of a minelab so I'm going sell my coins but not been a waste of money payed for itself.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 6 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? I have no clue...
1210

Garret ace 250

December 27, 2013
Well, this is my first Garret. I've known about them for years but have been a White's fan. I own three of them including A Pulse that I dive with. The first time out with it I was glad for the purchase because of how light in weight it is. The process of coin hunting with it was a bit of a learning curve, reading and watching the video really helped. Going on line to U-Tube was a smart move, plenty of tips for this unit. Then taking all the tips into the field, I was able to find about 5 lbs. Of coins in two weeks, everything from clad to well buried wheaties.

The discrim. Is great. I was pulling out nickles around pull tabs. My Whites never did that!! I have been running the sensitivity at the second bar from the left to help with trash and have been finding coins at 6 inches in moist soil. Just how deep will this thing shoot??? Yeah, I could write all day about it's features but suffice to say it's well worth the money. You won't be disappointed once you learn the unit and that will be a short journey.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
1910

Piece of cr@p

July 24, 2013
This thing is horrible, the sounds this thing makes is like fingernails on a chalkboard. It has no depth, if there is iron within a foot you'll miss a coin, this thing is good for newbies only!!

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 3 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 1 star
Ease of Use 1 star
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
2039

Submit your review for Garrett Ace 250

Submit your tip for Garrett Ace 250